We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but cozy rooms, choose a king size bed!”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Ariston Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Papigko
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I have just returned from Papigo, Zagorohoria, where we went (2 couples) for three nights - 4 days, during a Greek Public Holiday (it is much more crowded and expensive during these days). We stayed at the Ariston Hotel. Unfortunately, I didn't make the arrangements myself so we had some problems with our room, which were not the owner's fault. First of all, the rooms are small. Some of them are a bit bigger (e.g. room 8). Make sure to book a room at the second floor because they have a better view and the wooden ceiling is to kill! Secondly, after we went to bed we found out that the room had two separate beds that had been joined together. You can understand that we were constantly lying inbetween the two beds, in the middle. The owner was kind enough to show us the only available room with a king size bed, but it was located at the bottom floor, on the courtyard and we prefered to stay where we were. So make sure to ask specificly for a king size bed when you book. Nevertheless the beds are heavenly (Cocomat), you don't want to get out of bed. The linen and the bath products are of excellent quality. Also, there are fireplaces in all the rooms but they donnot work. Only in the suite, sby can use it. The breakfast was very good. A small variaty of things to choose which were homemade, fresh and tasty. The best thing of course the fresh orange juicean the marmelades. Last but not least, the prices of the rooms at Papigo are relatively high in general. We had seen some extraodinary rooms and apartments which cost over 150 euros. This room cost 110 euros, which was relatively better.
One way or another, the villages of Zagorohoria and especially Papigo are some of the best places to visit in Greece. Nature and villages in a perfect harmony.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank detoxify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

The hotel was nice and the people running the hotel were polite and helpful. However, the owner was not polite. He was unfriendly and rude.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed at the Ariston hotel in August. Our room was large enough for a family of four people, clean and comfortable. The owners were on vacation, and the hotel was run by another family member.
We had a wonderful time, it felt as if we were staying with old friends. Our host, Costa, went out of his way to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. My wife was pregnant, and every time we returned, he rushed to bring her a cold drink!
I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john1971Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

It is a great shame when owners who cannot run hotels are involved in the day to day running, ruining the guest’s experience!!!

On arrival everything seemed nice, the hotel seemed nice, the rooms were nice and the people were extremely polite and welcoming.

First hiccup was the fireplace, we were promised rooms with a fireplace but were not allowed to use it, apparently there was a fire in a village next to ours some weeks before and they were afraid – we thought OK that’s reasonable – although we were expecting at least an apology or explanation instead of a rude “no you cannot use it!”

Next morning we woke up by noises of the people next door – it felt like the walls were paper-thin! We were told that this is why they try to have people who know each other in adjacent rooms to avoid complaints – what an excuse…

We had 3 rooms in different floors and by the second day in two of them the heating and hot water were not working properly (temperature outside -1 to +5 Celsius) – one of our friends had a cold shower and the others used our bathroom – no excuse! After two days of that when the heating was restored we were told that we should have complained earlier…

There was a nice lobby with a fireplace and a room where breakfast was served and one day after dinner we invited some friends for a night cup before going to bed, what a disaster, after being served our drinks we were thrown out and told that we were not allowed to bring guests – we were the only ones in the room at the time and the drinks that we never had were charged to our bill…

After all these problems when checking out, 3 rooms for 4 nights one of our friends who had checked in a day later asked whether he could pay half that day or have some kind of reduction in his bill, he was just curious of the answer which of course was no.

It is a nice place but I wouldn’t recommend it, sometimes people and the way they treat you are more important than any room!

One thing that was great about the hotel was the lady who served our breakfast – good service and perfect attitude; we think that the owners should learn from her!

Stayed: December 2007
6  Thank bon_viveur_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Γιώργος Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikolaos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mpampis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papigko
0.2 mi away
Papaevangelou Hotel
Papaevangelou Hotel
#1 of 3 in Papigko
665 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aristi Mountain Resort and Villas
0.1 mi away
Arkefthos Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aristi's Mansion
Aristi's Mansion
#4 of 4 in Aristi
56 reviews
6.6 mi away
Apeiros Chora Hotel
Apeiros Chora Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kato Pedina
86 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kipi Suites
Kipi Suites
#1 of 1 in Kipoi
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Address: 200 Meters Far From the Village Square, Papigko, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Zagorohoria > Papigko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Papigko
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ariston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing