We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Edge Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Village Inn of Lakefield(Lakefield)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robyn's Motel(Peterborough)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Side Motel(Peterborough)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Peterborough(Peterborough)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh Falls Inn(Burleigh Falls)
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westwind Inn(Buckhorn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
27
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay there againpeterdogsboatsbbqdeckhostspropertycottageblastfishingretreat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a great time at Lake Edge Cottages. The owners bend over backwards to accommodate your needs and are always handy if you needs something. But you don't want for much as it is a tranquil area, yet close to town. Clean, and comfy bedding and all the little extras have been thought of, down to the paper towels! They offer so much.
Beside the nature, my three favourite things were: the POOL!, hiring a pontoon boat ride for a scenic tour and ice cream stop, and most importantly, we could bring along
our fur baby!!! YEP, it's dog friendly. We will be back soon...so much more to explore in the area too. Thanks for a wonderful time, we look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage right on the water. You'll see lovely sunsets and the doggies love it too.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I discovered Lake Edge through a Beagle rescue fundraiser where we received a gift certificate. Our weekend stay was in one of the fully equipped cottages -- complete with kitchen (including utensils, plates, pots, etc.) and BBQ. It gave us everything we needed for our stay. The cottage included a deck with a fenced enclosure for our Beagle to relax off-leash. The deck offered a beautiful west-facing view for us to enjoy the sunset. The bed was comfortable and linens spotless. We used their paddle boat, kayaks, and canoes to enjoy the lake. The sandy beach is only a few steps from the cottage. The lake itself is inviting for swimmers -- though wear sandals or water shoes as it gets rockier the further you go into the lake.

It's a short drive to nearby Lakefield which has grocery, liquor, and beer stores. Lake Edge owners Peter and Pam prepared us well with a detailed welcome email with lots of suggestions for places to visit. Their hospitality made it feel like we were a part of the family.

It was pretty evident that we are not alone in our opinion of Lake Edge. The guest book included accounts from families who stay year after year.

Overall it was a fantastic find. We plan to refer friends and family, especially those with four-legged family members.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toronto_subway_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A family vacation to remember!
We were looking for a family cottage rental that was dog friendly and decided to try Lake Edge Cottages. What a great find. I have very fond childhood memories of a family summer cottage and our stay at Lake Edge brought them flooding back. We all LOVED swimming in the lake (especially our Portuguese Water Dog) and the pool, camp fires, canoeing, trail walks, bunk beds, the hot tub, and just sitting around playing board games, reading and enjoying the amazing view from the deck. The trails around the pond are a sanctuary on their own and perfect for a morning run, or a walk with the dog. The cottage was very comfortable, clean, and well-maintained, and the BBQ was better than what we have at home! Lakefield is a cosy little town, very close by with great shops. Peter and Pam are gracious hosts and made us feel at home. We will be back, in fact I wish I was there right now.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

What a lovely find this was. We were looking for a quiet place that had a hot tub and accepted pets. This was just right. Private hot tub is fairly new and inspected daily by Peter. Bath robes included. Cottages are at the water's edge and are close together, but very quiet even with it being busy and other dogs. Propane fireplace is only source of heat, but manage to keep us very warm. We stayed in cottage #2 which was a bit tight for lounging with 4 people. Bed set ups were nice. Very clean throughout including washroom which functioned well with plenty of hot water. Snowed while there. Took a hike through their trails and were blown away by the beauty. Caretakers are friendly and obviously dedicated to ensuring a great stay. Traveled with two teenagers and would be a special getaway for any couple. Will put this on our "must return list" for a later time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFischer, Owner at Lake Edge Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your 2-night getaway over the Holidays and the hot tub. We hope to see you all back at Lake Edge for some fun, in the sun in 2012 with the dogs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

If you are looking for some quality time with urself look no further, lake edge cottages are perfect for you. The cosy and warm cottages are right at the edge of lake edge, giving you amazing views of sun rise, noon and sun set.

The cottage comes fully equipped with kitchen, so you can cook your meal just the way you like or drive down to near by village for food and supplies.

This is a pet friendly place. So if you are not pet friendly, just FYI :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayPrabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFischer, Owner at Lake Edge Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Thanks for staying at Lake Edge. It was a pleasure having you here. We are glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet. Our slow season begins the end of October and lasts until the Christmas holidays begin. A perfect time to get away from the city and have the place almost to yourself. We hope to see you again.
Your Hosts,
Peter & Pam Fischer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews