We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Edge Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Beachwood Resort(Lakefield)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robyn's Motel(Peterborough)(Great Value!)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carriage Inn Motel(Peterborough)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Peterborough(Peterborough)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
27
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay there againpeterdogsboatsbbqdeckhostspropertycottageblastfishingretreat
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Lake Edge Cottages are located on pristine and peaceful Lake Katchewanooka. Kawartha Region of Ontario, Canada. There are a total of 7 cottages and 1 suite. The cottages are rustic but have been renovated and are pristine clean, well maintained and each cottage holds its own bit of charm. Beds are very comfortable with clean and fresh linen and towels. Each cottage has its own Propane BBQ - ours was in very good condition, propane is included also. Kitchen has all amenities.

The property has a beautiful nature trail that surrounds a peaceful little pond. The trail is well maintained but the natural environment still remains. 5 of the Cottages are located on the Lake Front and two are further back near the nature trail. Resort has a pristine heated pool. We enjoyed our cottage on the lake front, with sunsets in the evening and relaxing in the hammock.. Some of the cottages have private hot tubs.

Pets are treated as guests too! There is a great swimming area for the dogs to swim . Maggie our Australian Cattle dog was exhausted at the end of each day from her hikes, swims, boating, relaxing camp fires and interaction with the other dog guests.

We enjoyed our pontoon excursion with Peter, who was very knowledgeable on the local history and provided us with some interesting stories. Our day on the lake fishing was fun and relaxing, We caught perch and bass. We hiked at the Warsaw Caves, which was a beautiful hike, enjoyed our walks around the property's nature trail and pond, liked that we were 10 minute drive to the lovely little town of Lakefield, which was very convenient for groceries The communal campfire at night was the perfect end to the day. There is a full supply of firewood and kindling. DVDs, board games and books are available in the office to borrow. There is also a horseshoe pit, volleyball and badminton area. Sit on top Kayaks, canoes, paddle boats and row boats are complimentary and are upon availability. Motor boats are available for an additional fee.

Pam and Peter were very friendly dedicated hosts and were eager to ensure that our stay was comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. They provided us with all of the information we needed to things to do and where to dine in the local area.

Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. The week went by too fast. We would highly recommend this well run resort if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing get away.

Room Tip: Cottages are one and two bedroom and each cottage holds its own individual charm. Location varies between lakefront, close to pool or further back near the nature trail.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynandStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFischer, Owner at Lake Edge Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thanks very much for your review and sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were in Cottage #1 for several nights with our two dogs. The cottage was small but very cozy and very well appointed. Although there wasn't much land in front of our cottage, like other cottages, there was plenty of green space very close. This cottage has a cute little floating dock where two Muskoka chairs are set up - perfect for morning coffee and for watching the various wildlife - Great Blue Herons, ducks, turtles, frogs and rabbits throughout the property. There is a small area at the lake edge a walk away from the cottage for swimming and for dogs to enjoy. The lake is quite weedy and rocky so water shoes are a must. The pool area is very clean and the water is the perfect temperature. All-in-all a wonderful stay. It is great to be able to enjoy a getaway with your pets.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YYZ_TOGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFischer, Owner at Lake Edge Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thanks very much for your review. We hope to see you both in the future and wish you all the best. Your dog must have been so happy with all the exploring you did in the lovely Kawarthas. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lake Edge Cottages is a small, intimate, and very well run cottage resort. The cottages are rustic, simple, and not extravagant. They are, however, very well equipped, unbelievably clean, (chain hotels could take note!) and "just right". The property has seven beautifully refurbished older-style small cottages, five at the lake with two (Cottages 6 and 7) behind the main house near the pool. The pool! Ridiculously clean, intimate, and just the right temperature. A pool at a lake? Yes, and it's a very nice touch. There is an Office/Visitor's Centre that has rolls of paper towels, DVD's to borrow, as well as books and other reading materials. It's open 24-hours and things can be borrowed on the honour system.

The property is situated on Katchewanooka Lake on the north-east shore, almost at Young's Point. The lake there has hardly any weeds - unlike the section closer to Lakefield. The shoreline is decent and the docking is decent also. We saw Peter launch and dock a 20-foot Four Winns for a couple that just recently arrived with no problems. There are kayaks, canoes, and other non-motorized boats - all for guests to use at no-charge.

Our cottage (Cottage 6), had a Kohler Wellworth toilet, Moen faucets, and a Weber barbeque. You could say "rustic with quality". Ours had a small flat-screen television with the only input source being a DVD player. Our room also had a neat little clock - with an iPod/iPhone dock. The shower had great pressure and lots of hot water. Our cottage also had a decent 6-person hot-tub that was, well...hot! Zillions of jets and a light made the night-time soaks very nice. The living room and bedroom have ceiling fans that truly work very well. Our cottage floor fan didn't work well at all, but it didn't matter - the ceiling fans do the job.

Blah, blah, blah - any cottage resort could sound like this. I agree, so here comes the part that no other cottage resort has. Firstly, the resort accepts pets. They don't just accept them, they are welcomed. Just as your children would at any other resort. We have stayed at other resorts that accepts our dogs also, but Lake Edge has, well..the "edge" here. Secondly, the resort is owned and operated by Peter and Pam. They are accommodating, thorough, efficient, and pretty darn good hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFischer, Owner at Lake Edge Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thanks for your review Doug. We hope to see you both along with Fraser & Boo back at Lake Edge one of these days. You are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a great time at Lake Edge Cottages. The owners bend over backwards to accommodate your needs and are always handy if you needs something. But you don't want for much as it is a tranquil area, yet close to town. Clean, and comfy bedding and all the little extras have been thought of, down to the paper towels! They offer so much.
Beside the nature, my three favourite things were: the POOL!, hiring a pontoon boat ride for a scenic tour and ice cream stop, and most importantly, we could bring along
our fur baby!!! YEP, it's dog friendly. We will be back soon...so much more to explore in the area too. Thanks for a wonderful time, we look forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage right on the water. You'll see lovely sunsets and the doggies love it too.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I discovered Lake Edge through a Beagle rescue fundraiser where we received a gift certificate. Our weekend stay was in one of the fully equipped cottages -- complete with kitchen (including utensils, plates, pots, etc.) and BBQ. It gave us everything we needed for our stay. The cottage included a deck with a fenced enclosure for our Beagle to relax off-leash. The deck offered a beautiful west-facing view for us to enjoy the sunset. The bed was comfortable and linens spotless. We used their paddle boat, kayaks, and canoes to enjoy the lake. The sandy beach is only a few steps from the cottage. The lake itself is inviting for swimmers -- though wear sandals or water shoes as it gets rockier the further you go into the lake.

It's a short drive to nearby Lakefield which has grocery, liquor, and beer stores. Lake Edge owners Peter and Pam prepared us well with a detailed welcome email with lots of suggestions for places to visit. Their hospitality made it feel like we were a part of the family.

It was pretty evident that we are not alone in our opinion of Lake Edge. The guest book included accounts from families who stay year after year.

Overall it was a fantastic find. We plan to refer friends and family, especially those with four-legged family members.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toronto_subway_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews