We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Thirsty Loon

The Thirsty Loon
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Lakefield
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lakefield, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had an enjoyable evening last night with some friends at The Loon. The menu has a good variety to choose from. Our table chose Fish and Chips--Traditional and Tasty (per my friend) our teenage daughters had Burgers, homemade, topped well and enjoyed by the girls. I chose the chicken breast sandwich sans bun and the presentation was great, lots of fresh toppings. Drinks from the bar were tasty however I do question the serving of martini drinks in mason jars but still very tasty. Two drawbacks......Long hike to the restrooms and the server could have been more friendly and welcoming. It seemed as we were intruding on her space. The Chef personally asked on our way out how we enjoyed our meals which was a nice touch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlsNight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    12
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lakefield's friendly, local bar and grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Plenty of selections on tap and the Margaret Lawrence or Brian Bass burgers to tempt you.

Great place to watch a game, Friday dinner and drinks, or host a party. Live music on Fridays, so go prepared for tunes!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bretton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

sometimes pretty busy which makes for slower service, live music Friday evenings in summer , patio on Main St. overall awesome small town Pub

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tzh99h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lucky They're the Only Pub in Town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Living in the area I can honestly say The Loon is lucky its the only pub in town. The food is either frozen or packaged & cooked by high school kids. The place is usually filthy & under-staffed. We once visited on Wing Night (Thursdays), our server (the manager) informed us they were out of wings 20mins after we had ordered them, which was early on in the night. We ordered the nachos instead & weren't surprised when the wrong order of nachos arrived at our table. We were informed at this point all food would be free. Our correct nachos finally arrived well after our friends had finished they're meals. Upon leaving I approached our server to pay for our drinks. I was rather shocked when she told me very abruptly "I said it was free!" and stormed off.

There are much better resturants to eat at in the town and surrounding area. Save yourself the pain & go elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Jumpr_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great Battered mushrooms. Large in size & delicious batter. We visit once a week to chat with the locals. Great atmosphere!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 318traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thirsty Loon also viewed

 

Been to The Thirsty Loon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing