We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Details”
Review of Pine Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Vista Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Details”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our family just returned from Pine Vista after a week long stay (treetops 7&8). The first thing we noticed when we walked into our units was the overwhelming smell of must. We thought it might possibly be that the unit had been closed up for awhile and would dissipate after a few hours. No such luck... Living room chesterfields, mattresses wreaked. The linen on one of the beds appeared not to have been changed and a bedspread in one of the other rooms had blood on it. An over site possibly but not a good one. We voiced our concerns and the housekeeper returned with fresh linens.
The small area for swimming was weedy and had feces floating in it, not sure if it was animal or human.
It is obvious that the small details are not being looked after,from strings of lights on the gazebo hanging haphazardly to nail pops on outdoor verandas being left to catch small toes on. Major complaint is the rating system, in our estimation based on other 4 star accommodations we have stayed at, this one is totally inaccurate.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsvlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
After reviewing our Trip Advisor comments, I am very pleased to say that 26 out of 29 are positive and rank us 4.5 out of 5.

However, I take every observation seriously, and investigate concerns of every nature. It is unfortunate that the concerns of the above guest did not come to the staff’s attention until 4 days into their stay. The issues have been explored, and I will address them here: First, the smell of must on chesterfields and mattresses. The furniture was all new last month, and we have not had any other complaints about it having an odour. In addition, the staff have since inspected the unit for musty smells, and have not found any. As far as the linen’s, they are all changed in every unit each time guests check out as part of our routine cleaning, and staff are happy to change them more frequently at guests request. The bedspread (comforter) mentioned was removed from circulation immediately, and it was found to have ‘marker’ on it – not blood. Our beach area has some weeds if you swim a little further out. We are located on Stoney Lake which is 12km long and although we cannot control everything that appears in the lake, I feel confident saying that there has never been human feces found at our resort. This is a serious health concern that we would never overlook and goes against our Lake Environmental Committees that protect our water ways. Certainly it is possible that such a large property may have occasional repair needs and if these issues are brought to our attention, we try to address them immediately. We take great pride at Pine Vista. This family Resort has been in business for 65 years, and we welcome our guests like family in our home.
We are a 4 star property and are very proud of our rating. Like as mentioned below in other guests reviews we work very hard with our resort cleanliness and generally guests are impressed and have wonderful summer vacations.

Thank you for the comments. I hope I have assured you that our staff are working hard to make each and every person’s stay a pleasurable, safe and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We recently had a week long stay at Pine Vista Resort. We were returning guests having stayed at this resort twice previously. This year we chose a deluxe accommodation which provided us with an additional washroom and television. As always, we were impressed by the cleanliness of the unit and the resort as a whole. We noticed a number of improvements that had been made from the previous year including a new pool liner and extensive landscaping. Furnishings and equipment are maintained in good repair and replaced regularly. We love staying on Stoney Lake, listening to the birds and frogs and hiking on the trails. Our kids caught some pretty impressive large mouth bass which made them very excited. The teens loved the tubing and the canoe trip - real highlights of the week. The parents enjoyed the sunset cruise of the lake.The staff really go the extra mile to be pleasant and helpful. The owners helped us out by printing an important document that had to be returned promptly. This resort offers something for everyone from seniors to adults to teens to young children. We really appreciate our time there and would recommend this resort to others. We will look forward to returning again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indigofellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time while vacationing with us.. We sure enjoy all the fun with our guests. We have a small carefully choosen staff that really love their job and work hard to make family vacations memorable.
Thanks again.

Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a chance to have our minor hockey team stay at the resort this past weekend and were not disappointed. There was a mix of the main lodge and cottage style units. My son and I stayed with two other dads/sons in a cottage unit and were quite happy with the accomodations. Upon arrival we paid our share and the service was excellent. They are older wooden cottages with all the amenities. The beds and bathrooms were clean. Only issues were the tub which was stained and dirty and the kitchen drying towels were stained upon arrival with spagetti sauce. Towels for the shower and beds were clean. They are full units with kitchens, living room with fireplace, large table for eating/playing cards. The resort is at least 40 minutes from Peterborough. Lakefield is close by with beer store, groceries, restaurants etc. While at the resort the kids took advantage of the games room with free games, sliding hill and we used the party room as well. No complaints but bring extra ping pong balls if there is a group of you. They have movies to rent (should be cheaper than the $4 listed) and if you forget something (shaving cream, etc) they have some. Would love to see what this place is like in the summer as the lake is right there and it looks spectacular. We were definitely not disappointed and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: There is the main 'lodge' with rooms above the check in/party room (rooms are on second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time for writing such a detailed review of our resort. We really appreciate it. We had a ton of fun with both teams that stayed with us last weekend.
The Atom Tournament had 106 teams enter this year which made Peterborough and the surrounding area very busy.
Pine Vista Resort accommodates many teams through the hockey season and families have all commented they love the resort experience.
From all of us; we want to thank you and your team for staying with us while playing in the tournament!
I'm sure it was a great time!
Thanks again.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I just came back from a weekend away at Pine Vista Resort. It was a combination getaway/check it out for the summer with the kids. We were very pleased with everything we came in contact with. We stayed at White Oaks a deluxe accommodation with three bedrooms two baths, but we closed the extra two bedrooms and bath off as we didn't require them this time. First thing we noticed at the "cottage" (more like house) was immaculately clean-bonus! The kitchen was equipped with practically anything you would need-nice casserole dishes, mixing bowls, and plenty of mugs, bowls plates, glasses, etc. This really isn't roughing it, which is alright by me. Air conditioning, lovely wood fireplace that we had going much of Saturday with all the damp and rain (and they provide the wood), barbecue on the wrap around deck, satellite TV, dishwasher.....the list continues. The games room was fine as well, pool table, ping pong, air hockey, table shuffleboard, foosball all in good repair-not perfect, but remember there are children here during the summer as well. We did not avail ourselves to the hotubs indoor or outdoor, but the indoor one has a lovely view over the duck pond-complete with ducks this morning having a bath. My husband was checking out the fishing, which didn't seem bad, as this is his thing as well as the kids. Good mix for the whole family-programs for the kids and tournaments and other things for teens and adults, or enjoy the peace and hiking/biking trails. Well laid out, not too close together, but you're not walking long distances either.
Definitely looking to come back with the kidlets.

Room Tip: The Maples or White Oaks is a little way from the water and other cottages for a quieter place. Pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Hello from Pine Vista Resort! We love your review! We are really happy that you were wonderfully surprised with your accommodation and the resort in general. We agree there is a great mix for the whole family. "White Oaks" is one of larger 3 bedroom superior accommodations and yes having over 1300 sq feet they have a ton of room for everyone.
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with all of us. Hope to see you again soon.
Have a wonderfu up and coming holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Our family stayed in Sunset Haven for the Thanksgiving long weekend. It was our first time staying with Pine Vista Resort. The cottage was quiet and comfortable. It was clean and well stocked with all the things we needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The planned activities were enjoyable. Even though the weather was cool and rainy, we loved this place & will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YippyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such a wonderful review. We are really glad you enjoyed Thanksgiving Weekend with us. Our private cottage "Sunset Haven" has been a very popular choice of accommodation this year. Sunset was booked full this summer with guests enjoying their time at the island. We would love to see you again and many thanks for choosing Pine Vista Resort for your vacation holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I took our two children (5 and 2 years of age) to Pine Vista this summer. It was our first time staying here and what a fantastic first impression!

The grounds are spacious and well taken care of. The cottages are all situated in such a way as to provide privacy. We stayed in the Hilltop, which was clean and very well stocked with everything you'd need - minus the food.

The amenities are fantastic and everything was in very good condition: kayaks, canoes, peddle boats, pool, playground, games room, weight room, indoor and outdoor saunas.

The one thing that sets this resort apart from all other cottages is the kids club. It's fantastic (and totally free!)! For FOUR hours every day kids 4+ are entertained and engaged in tons of very cool activities. Fishing, pool activities, pony rides, beach playtime, tubing, canoeing, archery, and the list goes on. At the end of the week each age group puts on a skit for the parents and awards are given out. I could go on, but needless to say I was very impressed with the program.

It's no wonder that several of the families we met have been coming here for years. We can't wait to make memories here annually. We're already booked for next year!

A sincere thank you to everyone at Pine Vista!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTraveler2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Wow!! Thank you very much for sharing your family holiday experience with everyone. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time while vacationing with us. Our kids club is one part of the resort we are very proud of and to read your nice comments really makes a difference. Thanks again to you and your family, we can’t wait to see you again next year.
Cheers from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Our stay at Pine vista was great. My family went with friends and had a great time. We were there on September long weekend and they had activities for all ages> we have small children with us and they enjoyed their stay. We enjoy the bonfire at night with marshmallow, they have a small trail that children enjoy for it was an adventure for them, we had a boat ride and saw the beautiful cottages around the lake. The staff were great and friendly. They inform guest well. The hot tub works and the whole place is clean. the game room was great as in we enjoyed the equipments. the play area was good. the pool was good and plenty of chairs to sit but wish it's heated and also the washroom by the pool need improvement for me as in I cannot use it unfortunately. The beach area was small but clean and there are lots of lilies in the water but we were there to just enjoy the view and if the children want to swim it will be the pool. Paddle boats free to use and kayaks. The cottage we stayed was a bit worn out but clean, tidy and spacious and the washrooms are clean and spacious. i can use it LOL. BBQ is a bit old but worked and we ask for a new propane tank, no issues and service was fast. We had no issue getting there.
I will recommend this resort to anyone for we had such a pleasant stay and time while we were there and could even go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawartha, Manager at Pine Vista Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Pine Vista Resort. It is really nice to know that you enjoyed your time with family and friends while vacationing with us. It is really important for us to know that our guests feel that they are completely satisfied with their stay. We are always striving to meet everyone’s expectations and overall making sure they are having fun.
Thanks Again. Hope you and your family can join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
11.6 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
102 reviews
19.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
487 reviews
21.9 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
366 reviews
10.8 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
228 reviews
8.7 mi away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Vista Resort

Property: Pine Vista Resort
Address: 932 Gilchrist Bay Rd | Douro-Dummer, Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lakefield
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Vista Resort is an award winning 4 season 4 star rated Housekeeping Resort on Stoney Lake in the Kawarthas. Centrally located under 2 hours from Toronto and 3 hours from Ottawa on the Trent Severn Waterway system. Upscale, fully equipped accommodation and Recreation programs and facilities for all ages. Rated 5 star with Fun For Kids. Enjoy, fishing, water activities, nature hiking and biking. In Winter take part in ice skating, tobogganing, horse drawn sleigh rides and Winter Carnivals. PGA Golf Course within 5 minutes as well as many dining out options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Vista Hotel Ontario
Pine Vista Resort Lakefield, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing