We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Inn - Perfect for a weekend getwaway”
Review of The Irwin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Irwin Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Lakefield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We(4 Adults and 2 kids) stayed at the Irwin Inn for 2 nights at one of their 2 bedroom suite. The suite consisted of a full fledged kitchen , a decent sized living area and 2 bedrooms and fit us perfectly. There was an outdoor hot tub which we couldn't use to the fullest because of an invasion of mosquitoes. The suite was not "on the lake" , but had a view of the lake from the front door(would have preferred one right on the lake , but before you book find out exactly where your suite is located - on the lake vs lake view) . The suite also did not have an AC (they are getting fitted soon we were told) , but we lucked out with some cool weather. We were also promptly given a portable Fan when complained of the need to cool the rooms down.

We had one breakfast and one dinner at the restaurant there. The menu is limited , but the food was delicious. The highlight of the stay was the complimentary Horse rides they had arranged for my Kid. What a blast he had interacting with the Horses in the stable as well as going on the ride.

Overall i would stay we had a pretty satisfactory stay at the Irwin Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager I, General Manager at The Irwin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Nachi,
It was a great pleasure to host your family getaway, and to meet your new little one (she's darling). Unfortunately, the early warm weather did catch us off guard last weekend, and made for a very muggy stay - this combined with the moisture in the was the "perfect storm" for mosquitoes. I'm happy we were able to accommodate your needs with an extra fan, and that you enjoyed dining room as well.
Perhaps your next visit will be in the summer and your son will get to enjoy all of the other great program activities (including pony rides) we include!
Till next time.
Cheers
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

My best friend and I got a deal to stay here for one night in May. Our log style cabin was clean and well organized: kitchen area, leather sofa, nice coffeemaker, Apple TV and DVD player with movies available, woodstove, deck, big jet tub and comfortable bedroom with two beds. Very friendly reception, walked us right to our room. Gorgeous sunset and the loons called all night. Dining room (and other areas) was dated but a five course meal for $35 was very good. Mountain bikes, tennis, badminton, walking trails were available. Horsebackriding and spa services could be arranged for extra. I'm sure in Summer the water activities there would make it great, although I appreciated that it was quiet for us. The buffet breakfast, included for us, was good too. The town of Lakefield is 15 mins away and very quaint for going through, the whole area is beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager I, General Manager at The Irwin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Tammy,

It was great to meet both of you, I truly enjoyed hosting your short visit to the Inn. I'm so happy you enjoyed the simple elegance of a getaway in the off season. I too enjoy the quieter times here at the Inn - but for completely different reasons. I look forward to seeing you both again, and perhaps next visit you might enjoy a relaxing massage or even take advantage of some of the other fantastic facilities.
Till next time....
Cheers

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Irwin Inn for one night in March. We chose it for the private outdoor hot-tub and lake view, which was the highlight for us. We stayed in the Upper West Spa suite, which was huge and would have been perfect for a family. On the main floor there was a big master bedroom on the main floor; a bathroom with a soaker tub and separate shower; and an open-concept living/dining room with small kitchen (full-size fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, double sink). There were lots of windows with a gorgeous view of the lake. Upstairs there was an L-shaped room with double and single beds and another bathroom, which would have been perfect for kids. The bedrooms were decorated nicely in a rustic style and were very clean. We were a bit disappointed with the living/dining area; the oriental carpet needed cleaning and the furnishings/curtains were on the shabby side, and when we pushed the sofa forward to bring it closer to the fireplace (a very nice wood-burning stove fitted inside a stone fireplace), we found a pile of crumbs underneath. Other than that, we found the suite to be very clean. The patio was completely private and the hot tub appeared to be fairly new, and the view from the hot tub was absolutely incredible. There was also a new flat-screen TV with Apple TV and Netflix. A few details were lacking - the shower sprayed water everywhere (my husband said the shower head was clogged and needed a good cleaning) and the lock on the front door had to be jimmied every time we tried to get in. If we had been staying longer we would have addressed this with the friendly staff and I'm sure they would have accommodated. Better attention to detail and some better quality LR/DR furnishings would have turned this review into 5-star.

The Irwin Inn property is breathtaking - we went for a walk on the lake (it was still completely frozen in mid-March), as well as around the trails. We visited the beautiful horses at the stables and wished we were there for longer, so that we could go horseback riding.

The dining room is in an outdated building with low ceilings, but has lots of windows to take advantage of the beautiful view. We were the last to each meal, but would not recommend this - if you arrive later you will not get one of the tables closest to the window, and they had also run out of our preferred dinner entrée (steak). However, the food was absolutely excellent, and the service was great as well.

Overall, we would recommend The Irwin Inn for its incredible property and nice rustic, comfortable (but not luxury) suites, and great food and service.

Room Tip: The spa suite with hot tub absolutely made this trip for us, and the upper lakeside suites have a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager I, General Manager at The Irwin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear MandA2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. We are happy to see you enjoy the rustic luxury of a true Kawartha getaway. I thank you for your comments and your gentle suggestions, since your visit we have already done a full thorough spring cleaning of each unit including steam cleaning the throw carpets. I do hope you will visit us again soon, and enjoy perhaps our beautiful Summer, Fall or winter seasons with us.

Cheers

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by Jennifer and she walked us over to our suite (Lower Middle Lakeside Spa Suite). She gave us a quick tour, showed us the hot tub, showed us how to work the electronics (Blu ray, Apple TV/Netflix, etc) and showed us the wood burning fireplace, unlimited supply of wood and kindling. Their movie selection was pretty decent (although we were sad to find they did not have a copy of Hot Tub Time Machine Lol)

Each night included a five-course dinner (different menu each night) and the food and service was WAY beyond our expectations, we each tried a different dish and they were all cooked to perfection and very scrumptious. Perfect portions, leaving us very satisfied - kudos to Stephan, he is very skilled at his craft. And our server (Debbie I think) was great too, we just wanted to take her home with us! Breakfast was also very satisfying with lots of selection. The dining room overlooked the water and our table was right by the fireplace, so beautiful.

We took a walk to see the horses, they have treats ready for you to go feed them which we thought was pretty neat. They had cross country skis and snow shoes available, although we just chose to walk instead. Unfortunately the snowmobile was not running the weekend we went, a lot of snow had melted and the trails were pure ice. That didn't hinder our trip too much - we still enjoyed the property by foot!

It's such a beautiful property, we had a great view from our balcony, the suite was very clean, and they have the most amazing staff that will accommodate you (by bringing you what you need straight to your room within minutes of you calling).

We left very relaxed and satisfied, we can't wait to return for another great weekend! (Maybe in the summer as it looks like it would be an amazing spot to visit in the summer!!)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager I, General Manager at The Irwin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Jaimck,
We had a great time hosting your "girls" weekend, and it was certainly our pleasure to meet all of you. Despite the weather, I'm happy that you enjoyed the hiking trails and the horses are even happier that you spent some time with them (we've had to put them on diets this week after all the treats they got on the weekend!). Love to have you back in the summer months and perhaps we can take you all on our big comfy couch Tube for some great laughs!
Till your next visit.
Cheers

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We just returned from an overnight stay and can't wait to return. From start to finish the experience was relaxing and exceeded our expectations. Booking the reservation was was effortless as I received fast responses from both email and phone messages. As well, received emails just prior to the stay asking if I had any questions or concerns prior to my arrival. Upon arrival the staff was extremely helpful and enthusiastic. Thorough explanation of how to use all electronic equipment, hot tub, free wifi, etc. The room was fantastic! Spacious and clean. Large plasma equipped with 'Apple TV' including Netflix. Clean fireplace. Unlimited firewood right outside the door was dry and easy to burn. Five-person hot tub was crystal clear and heated to a hot temperature, ready to enjoy. Pull-out couch to cuddle on while watching a movie. Again, excellent communication regarding the timing of dinner and breakfast (which were DELICIOUS. The caesar salad is a must-try). We appreciated the phone calls to arrange the menu and to let us know exactly when it would arrive, and to coordinate the timing of the snowmobile rides. And then the little things...a quick call to the front desk to request a couple soft drinks resulted in delivery to the room within a minute. Large robes, matches, kindling and newspaper for easy lighting of the fire. This was our first of many trips. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and clients.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lower Middle Lakeside Spa Suite and would definitely recommend it. Fireplace, king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schott416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager I, General Manager at The Irwin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Schott416, Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn. We had so much fun hosting your little overnight escape and we were so happy you were able to fit in so much in just 24 hours - from Snowmobiling, to massages and candlelight dinner. Can't wait until your next visit - maybe this summer and we can include a sunset cruise! Till next time...

Cheers
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed at the Irwin Inn March 8-10, 2013. We were in the Lower East Lakeside Spa Suite. We had other family in the larger cottage - Garaden. We opted for "self-catering" so we did not use the dining facilities. We did, however, upon booking the Garaden, request a bbq for use. We were assured that it would be available. Upon arrival we had to re-request this twice before it showed up and when it did, it was absolutely filthy. Disgusting. The only way it could be used was to ensure everything was wrapped in tin foil or in foil trays.

We had selected the "spa" suite mostly because of the hot tub outside on the balcony. Unfortunately, it did not work on the Friday we arrived. It was set up to go, but the jets didn't work. We asked to be moved and were told that wasn't possible. We were told that the hot tub in the suite above us could be made available for our use, but that really wasn't feasible as it would take 4 hours to be made ready. Even if it had been ready, we would have had to go upstairs, use the hot tub and return to our own suite after use???!!! Um, no thank you. The whole point of having your own hot tub on your own balcony is so that it is easily accessible. It was fixed on the Saturday, so we did get use of it for that day.

On the Friday, when we realized that the tub would not be fixed until the next day, my husband thought he had reached an agreement with the owner on compensation for the loss of hot tub use. However, upon checking out, we were charged full for both nights. After further discussion, the owner said that the discount that we were led to believe would occur, was too high! We, reluctantly, agreed to a lesser compensation.

Now, as business owners ourselves, from our point of view, we should never have had to even suggest this compensation occur. Good, pro-active management would have automatically dealt with this and would have conveyed this to us at the time. And we certainly would not have had this surprise when checking out.

The linen on the beds was old and most unpleasant. As were the towels and "spa robes".

I was disappointed in the overall condition of both our suite and the other cottage. Somewhat run down - Garaden far worse than ours. Neither stove/oven worked properly - the thermostats must be off and it took hours to cook lasagna, tortiere and chicken pot pies. One burner on the Garaden stove did not actually have a minimum and maximum capability - if you turned in on to the minimum setting, what you got was red hot! It could not be used.

I burned my hands using the oven mitts provided in the suite as they were so worn they no longer provided proper protection.

We requested trail maps for hiking and they could not be located. So we took the verbal directions to the barn, then explored some on our own. We did venture up the road on foot just to increase our walk distance and found the most friendly residents. Enjoyed talking to them immensely.

The Inn appears to be trying to promote some of the suites as romantic getaways - special, spa experiences. Unfortunately, in order to actually pull that off, you have to be providing that experience.

Suggestions:
- improve/replace both the beddings and the towels - they were thread bare and pathetic
- replace oven mitts and other worn household items
- improve the quality of the "spa" robes - 1/2 length waffle robes don't cut it - floor length, plush terry robes do
- make sure the equipment is in good working order - stoves, small appliances, bbq's, hot tubs, whirlpools etc., BEFORE your guests actually arrive - not knowing that something isn't working is not an acceptable excuse for the Inn image that is being advertised
- have available information about hikes, trails, other activity options - this should be available in every room
- staff should remove outer footwear before entering our suite (especially when it is muddy outside as it was this weekend) - we, as guests live there for the time we reserved and we, as guests, try to keep our environment clean (good for you as owners, good for us as guests), so please, staff and owners, remove muddy rubber boots before walking through the suite
- perhaps consider upgrading the roadway - gravel would work wonder on that mud lane
- declutter the grounds - remove the junk and eyesores - improve the exterior look for the whole place

The Inn has potential for the location it is in, but it needs some serious care from owners serious about making it happen.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HardCurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager I, General Manager at The Irwin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear HardCurves,
First, let me thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience (however, disappointing). We do strive at the Inn to create an memorable experience for all guests, similar to the one describe in the review just previous to yours - unfortunately in your case this just didn't seem to be the case. We apologize once again (as we did throughout your stay) for the inconveniences you experience, however we are happy that we were able to rectify all of the maintenance items during your visit. We hope your group enjoyed their gathering none the less, and we will certainly continue to followup on the items you mentioned.

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We spent last weekend (March 2/3) at Irwin Inn and absolutely loved it. Stony Lake is truly the gem of the Kawarthas and it was at its breathtaking best on this crisp winter weekend. A few hours outside exploring the lake and the Irwin property made for the best sleeps in ages (although the five course dinner and bottle of wine might also have contributed).

Some have commented that it's dated. If your standard is the manufactured "charm" of an Intrawest experience then you might feel that way too. If you are looking for an authentic Kawartha inn experience, though, it would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: The Lakeside cabins are very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graygo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager I, General Manager at The Irwin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Graygo98
Wow! Thank you so much, you truly capture and appreciated the true nature of our business. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy this experience, and appreciated a true "authentic" property who over 65 years has remained to true to themselves.

Till your next visit, cheers
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakefield
14.2 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
106 reviews
12.8 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
241 reviews
10.8 mi away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
34 reviews
7.9 mi away
Marrick's Landing Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Irwin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Irwin Inn

Address: 1390 Irwin Rd | Douro Dummer, Lakefield, Selwyn Township, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Selwyn Township > Lakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lakefield
Price Range: £113 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin Inn is a perfect family Kawartha vacation resort destination and ideal waterfront resort for couples getaways. Amenities include: a 9-hole golf course, full English riding stable & equestrian centre for horseback riding lessons and trail rides, tennis, outdoor pool, sandy beach, and countless fun and interesting activities. Accommodations range from traditional, cozy rooms in the Inn to luxurious lakeside cottages and waterfront suites with private swimming pools or hot tubs."Every once in a while you come across a place where the service is extraordinary, the food is delicious, and the staff are warm & welcoming. Once you find this place you want to return again and again." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Irwin Hotel Lakefield
The Irwin Inn Lakefield, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing