We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place on St Maarten”
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wonderful quiet resort with a real Caribbean feel to it. Not glitzy or showy in any way, but certainly 5* for atmosphere and hill top location. Rooms are well appointed in 2 storey individual buildings and each with a balcony having wonderful views over the lagoon.
Staff are very friendly, courteous and with helpful tips on things to do and see. The onsite bar and restaurant has a small but adequate menu and is well priced.
Although the Summit is well placed with most needed amenities (beach, groceries and restaurants etc.) within walking distance, to saviour St Martin as a whole a car is needed. From the resort it is an easy 15 minute drive to Marigot (the centre of the French side) with its harbour front, market place and old fort.
Phillipsburg (the centre of the Dutch side) is further away and with the traffic can take some time to drive to. It is much more touristy than Marigot and is often very busy as this is where the cruise ships dock.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suref00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear suref00t,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote for the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I think you hit the nail on the head with your description of us as wonderful and quiet with a real Caribbean feel. As one of the first hotels on St. Maarten, and now celebrating our 40th year of welcoming guests to our little slice of paradise, we take great pride in being as authentic as it gets. For those who want "glitzy or showy" we are happy to recommend other hotels on the island but for those who want peaceful relaxation in a beautiful setting - not to mention the best view on the island - there is no better place than the Summit.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Great hotel with a "homey" feel. Property has nicely landscaped walkways, with two-story units, each with one room downstairs and one upstairs. I paid the extra for a Premium Water view, and it was magnificent. Balcony was overlooking the pool and Simpson Bay, and was a perfect spot to enjoy a cup of coffee at sunrise and watch the mountains across the bay. Rooms are clean and well appointed with good quality free wi-fi. Multiple beaches are within walking distance, and there is a nice coffee shop just down the street. The Atlantis casino is also within easy walking distance with several nice restaurants. Actually, one of the best meals I had was at the restaurant on location! The staff is wonderful, and by the end of the week, everyone greeted me by name, which was very nice. Definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Premium water view are the rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgracely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear jgracely,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and top ratings you gave us on TripAdvisor. They are much appreciated. So too are your comments about the "homey" feel one gets staying here. That might be because many of our staff have been with us, quite literally, for decades or it might be because so many guests return year after year to what they think of as their "home away from home" in St. Maarten. Either way, we strive to make guests feel at home and I am very glad you felt that way at the Summit.

Thanks also for your nice comments about Tropical Heaven, our onsite restaurant. I will be sure to pass them along to our chef Tracey. I know she will appreciate them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on a future visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in St. Maarten! The rooms are charming, and have a kitchen with everything you need. You even have your own private balcony overlooking the bay - gorgeous by day and romantic at night. The pool is great, and so is the staff. There is a restaurant on property, and a great bar. Plus, The Summit is near EVERYTHING, close enough to walk into town and the beach. We hope to return soon -- maybe for the next full moon party!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikevmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear mikevmd,

Thank you for your kind words and great review of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that we could deliver another wonderful vacation for you and hope to see you return for many more. The advantage of staying at the Summit, as you noted, is that we're close to everything and yet tucked away and private too. It's the best of both worlds. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit any time at all although I do agree, full moons on the island are an especially fun time to be here.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I won a weeks stay at "The Summit" via "Everything St Maarten" website. Thanks EST!! We enjoyed our stay at the summit. The staff was very friendly and easy to get along with...the Activities Director was OUTSTANDING and made us feel welcome!! We met friends that were staying at The Summit, after there timeshare week, for an extended stay. The Summit was close to all the best beached....Maho Beach, Cupocoy Beach and Baie Rouge Beach which was GREAT!! Because we were at the beach daily.....beach bums during the day! If you want a relaxed quite stay....check out the The Summit Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay have a great view and porches to sit on and enjoy a great view of Simpson Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckHonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Chuck,

First, let me congratulate you on winning your stay at the Summit on Jeff Berger's website, EverythingSXM.com. That was lucky! Second, thank you so much for your kind words about the Summit and the high ratings you gave us. I especially appreciate your comments about our Activities Director, Sasha, who works hard to offer guests a wide range of fun filled activities on the island to help them enjoy their stays. I'm glad you had a chance to stay with us and enjoy the easy access to great beaches and the comfortable, laid back atmosphere we offer at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I just returned home from my second stay at The Summit this year. The views are unbeatable and simply a joy to wake up to every morning - plus it was nice to have our own balcony. The staff was friendly and responsive, the rooms clean, and the beds comfortable. The grounds are quiet and beautiful, and I like that Maho and beaches are just a short drive away. I plan to stay here the next time I visit St. Maarten and would recommend The Summit to anyone looking for a relaxing hotel with island charm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSL484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear KSL 484,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor about the Summit Resort Hotel. I agree that the views from our rooms, especially the Premium Water View rooms overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon, are simply incredible. With more than a 180 degree view, the lagoon in the foreground, gentle hills of St Martin/St Maarten in the background and the island of Anguilla in the distance, I often find that I get lost looking at the view myself! It certainly is a nice way to unwind. Having Maho, Porto Cupecoy and the beaches of the lowlands all within a few minutes drive of the Summit makes us a very convenient location as well. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful island.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Are finishing up our 10 trip to The Summit, and thought it was better than ever. It is one of the older places we've looked at in SXM, but we consider it quaint, charming. and a good value. Almost everything seems to work fine, and the staff very quickly takes care of any anomolies that pop up. All of the staff are friendly and good to deal with.The bar usually closes a little early ( around 10:00 pm ), but they have a great "happy hour" that attracts locals & those from other nearby hotels/resorts.

They don't have a fitness center or room service.

We will be back in the future !

Mike & Pat from NC

Room Tip: There are several different views available, so I'd ask for an explanation of what is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Mike & Pat from NC,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to have you back with us and glad to earn your "better than ever" comment about the hotel. I also really appreciate the work you and Don put into building the Corn Hole game and the picture you posted of yourselves posing with it is great! The game has become very popular down at the bar and is in great demand from guests. Regarding a fitness center, I am happy to report that we are making arrangements with a nearby gym to provide Summit guests with passes to use their facility. It is within an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel and should prove very popular with guests. Thanks again for your great comments and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We were at the Summit for our 17th year from Feb 6-23, 2013. We love the hotel and the fantastic view of Simpson Bay lagoon and part of the French side of the island. It is like going home. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. We enjoy visiting at the pool, bar and restaurant with the other quest and have made many good friends over the years. There was a group that I thought was louder than necessary, but they were on vacation and they were always quiet by 11:00. My husband and a friend built a Corn Bag Toss Game. The maintenance staff loaned a few tools and cut some boards to help. We had a few tournaments by the pool and generally had a wonderful time. The hotel has new TVs and new wireless internet that is free for quests. We can’t wait for next February to go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen48990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Summit. I can't believe it's been 17 years! As you know better than most, the Summit appeals to those who enjoy and appreciate a quiet and peaceful setting, clean comfortable rooms, a warm welcoming staff and simply incredible views. Please let Don know that the game he and Mike built has become an instant hit down at the bar and has been in steady use since you left. Thanks again for all the kind words above. We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
2 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
5.8 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing