We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Great, Low Key Vacation”
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For a Great, Low Key Vacation”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our first time back to St. Maarten in 30 years. The Summit was perfect for a low key, laid back vacation. It has clean rooms, well furnished, and a nicely private. A very accessible pool, restaurant, and bar area. It is a simple drive to many eateries in the Cupecoy, Maho, and Simpson Bay areas, and Marigot and Grand Case are only 20 and 30 minutes away for fine French dining.

Room Tip: Single story cottages are quiet; 2 story units are still private although you get some noise when fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Eric G,

Thank you very much for the very nice review of the Summit that you posted on TripAdvisor. I'm flattered that, after being away from St. Maarten for 30 years, you chose us as the place to stay upon your return. We opened for business 40 years ago and, while we've renovated and upgraded the property many times over the years, we still provide the clean, comfortable, low key and laid back vacation you described in your review. We think our guests get the best of both worlds. On the one hand, we're close to everything from the best beaches to dining to nightlife but, on the other, at the end of the day you can retreat to our quiet little slice of paradise. It's ideal.

Thanks again for the great review and we hope you'll be back to see us much sooner the next time!

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    100
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
164
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing hotel to lay your head after a long day at the beach this is the place. Located away from the hustle this property is so quiet I never want to leave. The rooms are comfortable, the patios or balconies are perfect for morning coffee overlooking the lagoon or an afternoon piña colada. Many small restaurants close by and some of our favorite beaches. If you are looking for updated and modern, this is not the place. If you are looking for peaceful and comfortable this place is perfect. We love this place and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear LizOlsson,

Wow, what a wonderful review you wrote of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much. Your review hit the nail on the head and your choice of title, "Peaceful and Relaxing" couldn't describe the Summit better. We pride ourselves on delivering clean, quiet, comfortable accommodations in a beautiful environment that is close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island. I love that you spent time relaxing on your balcony over morning coffee. That is one of my favorite activities too and it certainly does give your brain a chance to relax and unwind doesn't it?

Thank you again for a great review. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit soon!

Many thanks,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our first time at The Summit Hotel and our 6th visit to St. Maartin. By far, we enjoyed our time more in St. Maartin because of our experience at this lovely, clean, quiet property. We had just returned from a month's sailing and this hotel was just what we needed.

We appreciated the good quality towels, the exceptional housekeeping and the friendliness of the staff.

The room was apartment style and well appointed. The pool area is lovely. This is an older property that has been updated without losing it's "old school" island appeal. We loved the location, behind the medical school and local high school. Felt like we were more in the St. Maartin community than in another hotel or resort. Close to everything...Mullet Beach, good local food hangouts.

We felt exceptionally safe and well cared for on an island that sometimes is more "party" than we'd prefer. Expect lights out early and the sweet sounds of nature drifting through the windows.
(yes, there's A/C if you'd prefer)

Only suggestion we would make would be to upgrade the mattresses...somewhat hard.

Otherwise...we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Had we known, we would have requested a directly on the bay. Ours was one row, back...still had bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisLife2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear ThisLife2Live,

Thank you so much for your great review, and 5 star rating, of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. It means even more to me since you are veteran visitors to St. Maarten but this was your first visit to the Summit. I'm glad we made your experience of our beautiful island even better than before.

When you mention our "old school" island appeal, you are describing exactly what we lovingly refer to as "Old World Caribbean Charm" and it's what we think makes the Summit so special. We've just celebrated our 40th anniversary in St. Maarten and, over all those years, have strived to deliver an experience that includes all the things you mentioned, friendly staff, connection to the community, safe and well cared for, close to nature and so much more. It helps that we're close to the best beaches and dining on the island too!

Again, thank you very much for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on your next visit to St. Maarten.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

this was our second time staying at the summit and we now understand why people continue to come back to this resort year after year. Everyone is so friendly especially housekeeping as you walk by they will always say hello and ask how everything is. the rooms were spacious and always clean!! the view is just breath taking!! but the one person who stood out the most was the bar tender Denece. she was so pleasan,t always smiling and so very helpful. Denece has a gift with in her...she always seems to know what you want and is ALWAYS willing to do anything for you she really made our trip memorable!
Thanks so much to all of the staff they are fantastic!!!
See you next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear theresa s,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about the Summit on TripAdvisor and for all the nice comments you made about our staff! I truly appreciate it. I think the reason our staff is so friendly is because, when you visit the Summit, our staff feels like they are welcoming you to their own home, not just to a hotel where they work. We are fortunate to have some staff who have been with us, quite literally, for decades, going back forty years to when we first opened in 1973. They love the Summit and they want guests to love it too so they go out of their way to please. As for Denece, you are right, she is a gem. Always smiling, always happy to offer advice about the best places to visit on the island and always quick to make you a delicious drink as well. I am so glad this was a repeat visit to the Summit for you and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. to see us. Thank you again for the great review.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The resort is absolutely quality and value for money. The rooms as roomy and tidy and well appointed. The views are amazing and the location perfect. The bedding and towels are brand new. However one criticism is that there pillows are like bricks and they do not have soft ones.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptlpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ptlpip,

Thank you very much for your kind words and the high scores you gave us in your review of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your comment about the pillows. As a result of your feedback, I have just placed an order for a variety of pillows in different sizes and softness levels. I hope to offer you one on your next visit to our hotel. Thanks again for the great review.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We ended up at this hotel through a charity auction and had no idea what we had purchased. Had read the reviews that people tend to go back to this location over and over but were skeptical because we were unsure of its location. We loved it, great service, good view and best of all it just felt private and cozy. Very peaceful spot. AND we are returning in March.

Room Tip: prefer the 2nd level rooms, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashvilletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Nashvilletravels,

I am always delighted when guests "discover" the Summit, the way you did, and find themselves loving it as you did. We participate in charity auctions frequently, simply because we believe in supporting worthwhile causes, and nine times out of ten we make new friends and gain new fans as a result. Thank you so much for posting your review of the Summit on TripAdvisor and I am so glad you loved the private, cozy, peaceful easy feeling we provide. We can't wait to see you again in March.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here over 10 times when on the island for business. Apartment style rooms are big and have a well equipped kitchen. The bathroom is a bit outdated but still very okay. Overall, the small environment of the resort is perfect and the personal approach even better, not like the big chains at Maho beach... Balcony is perfect for a early morning breakfast with sunrise!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OvT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear OvT,

Thank you for posting such a nice review of the Summit on TripAdvisor and for being such a loyal guest as well. Our staff is always happy to see you and we all appreciate your recognition of the personal approach we provide our guests. You will be happy to know that all of our bathrooms are scheduled to be renovated this coming off season. In the meantime, they continue to be "very okay" as you stated. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Summit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
747 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing