We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
FLORIDA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went there during the Dutch Festival over Easter and with car rental so cheap, I would stay nowhere else when I go back. Clair the nighttime receptionist was FANTASTIC along with the grounds and housekeeping staff. I wish I could remember the housekeeper's name. Fresh flowers every afternoon on top a clean room. Clair not only was our remote guide but she seen us at the festival out of hundreds of people and came over and spoke. The location is absolutely perfect. The only other advice I would give is it is worth EVERY penny to upgrade to a premium room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handyman28560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear handyman28560,

Thank you so much for the great review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. I am so glad you had a chance to visit us during Carnival and hope you enjoyed it. Thank you also for your kind words about Claire and the rest of our staff. All of them go out of their way to make sure you feel at home and enjoy your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    100
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
164
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our 27th year staying at the Summit. We own 5 weeks of time share there and never trade it for any other time share. The grounds are very well kept, the service people are the nicest and can't do enough for you. The front desk people are very helpful with anything you need and the General Mgr. is a sweetheart. Every one should spend a week there and you will see why we keep coming back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Nevs (Bob and Jan),

I can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I also can't believe it's been 27 years! How is that even possible? Seriously, when the two of you show up here it feels like family coming home to visit. Thank you for all the kind words about our staff. As you know, they are the people who really make the Summit a special place to visit. Our location, close to the best beaches, shopping and restaurants on the island doesn't hurt either. We can't wait to see you again on your next visit.

Thanks again,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We love to stay at the summit. The people are so kind and friendly . The breathtaking sunrises over the bay. The rooms are always clean and comfortable . We would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a relaxing time in st martins .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Marzfam,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. Your comments hit all the high points. Between a great staff, great view and clean, comfortable rooms, we are an ideal location for those looking for a peaceful place to stay at a reasonable price. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit soon!

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York PA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nestled off the beaten path in Cupecoy Bay lives The Summit, overlooking Simpson Bay. Built in the early 1970's it shows its age. The units are extremely clean and the grounds are well kept. The staff from the desk clerk to the grounds people and the bar tender and warm and friendly, making your stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The building is set in a way that all rooms have a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobY513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear BobY513,

I love the title you gave to your review of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor because "Beautiful Hideaway" is exactly the way that we think of it as well! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the hotel on TripAdvisor and for all your kind words about us. I really appreciate it.

More important than anything, I am grateful for your warm comments about our staff. Many have been with us for, quite literally, decades and all take great pleasure in welcoming guests to the Summit. I think it is one of the things that sets us apart from other hotels in that our staff truly wants guests to be happy here and to feel at home. It is nice when guests like you recognize and appreciate it.

Thanks again for a great review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit int he future.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked this hotel to stay two weeks for our son's wedding in St. Maarten and were EXTREMELY pleased with the place. While slightly weather worn, the room (actually the top story of a two story townhouse on the water) was quiet, clean, and well equipped. We had a full kitchen with all the pots and pans and plates that we needed, and the maid service was daily to bring clean towels and even clean up our kitchen. The price was far below other places on the island and, after staying at a so called "5 star hotel" on the island last time we were here, we will definitely be back to stay at The Summit. It is also close to Maho for shopping, and you can walk to the beach. It has a nice swimming pool and a small restaurant on site. I would recommend this place highly, but I'm almost afraid to do that since it seems to be relatively obscure and we'd like to save it just for ourselves and don't want to have trouble getting a room next time we come!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view, as not all the rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hristine2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Hristine2007,

Wow! Thank you very much for the great review you posted about the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. I am so glad that everything went well for your son's wedding too. Congratulations on that as well!

We're often referred to as "the best kept secret on St Maarten" but, as you might imagine, we would not mind being a bit less of a secret to folks like you who are looking for a clean, quiet, comfortable place to stay while visiting our beautiful island. I doubt that we will ever become too busy though, as some hotels can be sometimes, because it just would not fit our style at all. We've been here, under the same ownership, for 40 years and believe in providing a peaceful, relaxed, quiet setting for our guests and don't ever imagine that changing.

I'm glad you enjoyed the service our staff provided you and felt you got good value for the price you paid too. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on your next visit. Many thanks again for posting such a nice review about us.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed April 26-29 in unit 7. This property consists of a large number of separate buildings, most with two units (one on the ground, one on the second floor) and a few with only one unit, including unit 7 where I stayed. This design certainly reduces the risk of noise from adjacent units, and of course in my unit there was no risk of adjacent unit noise. Some units overlook the bay but most do not.

My room was large and had a kitchen area. There was a retractable sliding "wall" that could be used to separate the bed area from the living/kitchen area.

The air conditioner was very quiet and had a remote control which allowed a specific temperature setting. However, using many of the functions on the remote was not obvious.

My main complaint about my room was the lack of lighting in the living/kitchen area. It needed a good overhead florescent light, especially to light the kitchen area.

The parking lot is free and convenient. However the lot has a tapering shape which becomes narrow at one end so small cars are easier to park than mini-vans.

There is a bar next to the pool. There was not much activity at the pool and the bar was quiet except during some kind of wedding event.

The neighborhood around the hotel consists of apartment buildings and some vacant lots. It seemed safe to me and seems intended for tourists, with few locals living in the immediate area. There are two restaurant/bars within a short walking distance. But Maho is somewhat of a long walk - not really within walking distance.

Room Tip: If you don't want anyone above or below you, get a single-unit building like unit 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear MaxConcrete,

Thank you for your positive review and high ratings of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it.

As you noted, our rooms are larger than typical hotels and are located in individual villa style buildings that are separated by walkways. Our typical room is almost 400 square feet and includes a full kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, microwave, stovetop and more. This summer we will be adding new under-cabinet lighting to the kitchen area so this should be much improved next time you visit us.

In addition to Maho, which is a 5 minute drive in one direction, we are a 5 minute drive in the other direction from Porto Cupecoy and within easy walking distance to the Atlantic Casino complex which boasts great restaurants like Rare, Temptation and La Gondola. I hope you had a chance to visit there as well.

I am very glad you appreciated the quiet nature of our rooms and property and look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to our beautiful island. Thank you again for a great review.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ship Bottom, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were so happy to be back at our favorite place on St. Maarten. The staff there is outstanding! Manager Evans is a pleasure to deal with. And we love Denece at the restaurant. She is handling a party for us and we know it will be great. Everyone always has a smile on their face, especially me. We stayed in 4B this time and couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyL5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear KathyL5581,

Thank you so much for the great review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it and love that you think of us as your favorite place on St. Maarten. That means a lot, especially considering how well you know the island.

Our General Manager Evans, Denece at the restaurant and all the staff take great pride in making guests feel at home at the Summit and I appreciate you mentioning them in your review. We can't wait to have you visit us again for another wonderful vacation.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
748 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing