We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great experience.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Friendly and professional staff, cozy rooms, spectacular view from units and pool, a great place to relax. I can't wait to go back. I would recommend The Summit Hotel to everyone! You will not regret your stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KASamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear KASamuel,

Thank you very much for your kind words and great ratings of the Summit Resort Hotel that you posted on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. Relaxation is the key here at the Summit and clean comfortable rooms in a beautiful setting and with a great view make it easy to unwind and enjoy. Plus, our staff goes out of their way to help guests enjoy their stay with us. Thanks again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    96
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
157
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed this place. Its location was perfect for us, cupecoy beach, mullet bay, maho beach, Blue Mall are very close and The Atlantis Casino as well. We stayed in a room with ocean view and we loved spending time sitting on the terrace while watching to the lagoon. The room was full equipment with a king size bed, TV, Wifi, dining table, couch and a kitchenette which gave us the option to prepare some meals. The room was cleaned everyday even on sunday. The staff was very friendly, we had a problem with our room's wifi and the person at the front desk that night helped us and gave us the password of the wifi next door. The housekeeping lady was very friendly and every morning she chatted a little bit with us. I would like to thank to the hotel owner for his willingness and for having attended to our request of having an ocean view room. Definitely I will stay again at this hotel. We only were sorry because we didnt have the chance to share time at the pool and bar area.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are excellent altough some people may say that they aren't near to the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Luis V,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote about the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. I am also really glad that you liked the room you were in and enjoyed the view from the balcony. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the lagoon while having coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the afternoon is one of my favorite things to do. Next time you'll have to make time to enjoy the pool and bar area too! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have been staying at the Summit about 15 years now. LOVE IT. It is off the beaten path a bit.
Away from the bustle of Maho and Simpson Bay, but yet right down the road if you want to go there! Rooms are consistently clean, and everyone greets you with a smile.

Room Tip: the best rooms are with a view of Simpson Bay. they cost a bit more, but are completely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear beger,

Your review of the Summit on TripAdvisor is right on. Thank you so much for posting it. We are indeed "away from the bustle" as you say, and yet only a 5 minute ride to Porto Cupecoy in one direction or 5 minutes to Maho in the other direction. We are also easy walking distance to the Atlantis Casino complex and all the restaurants there. Offering clean, comfortable rooms and a welcome smile from everyone has been a trademark of ours for many years. We are so glad to have guests like you who return year after year to visit our own little slice of paradise. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went there during the Dutch Festival over Easter and with car rental so cheap, I would stay nowhere else when I go back. Clair the nighttime receptionist was FANTASTIC along with the grounds and housekeeping staff. I wish I could remember the housekeeper's name. Fresh flowers every afternoon on top a clean room. Clair not only was our remote guide but she seen us at the festival out of hundreds of people and came over and spoke. The location is absolutely perfect. The only other advice I would give is it is worth EVERY penny to upgrade to a premium room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handyman28560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear handyman28560,

Thank you so much for the great review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. I am so glad you had a chance to visit us during Carnival and hope you enjoyed it. Thank you also for your kind words about Claire and the rest of our staff. All of them go out of their way to make sure you feel at home and enjoy your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, NJ
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our 27th year staying at the Summit. We own 5 weeks of time share there and never trade it for any other time share. The grounds are very well kept, the service people are the nicest and can't do enough for you. The front desk people are very helpful with anything you need and the General Mgr. is a sweetheart. Every one should spend a week there and you will see why we keep coming back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Nevs (Bob and Jan),

I can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I also can't believe it's been 27 years! How is that even possible? Seriously, when the two of you show up here it feels like family coming home to visit. Thank you for all the kind words about our staff. As you know, they are the people who really make the Summit a special place to visit. Our location, close to the best beaches, shopping and restaurants on the island doesn't hurt either. We can't wait to see you again on your next visit.

Thanks again,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We love to stay at the summit. The people are so kind and friendly . The breathtaking sunrises over the bay. The rooms are always clean and comfortable . We would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a relaxing time in st martins .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Marzfam,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. Your comments hit all the high points. Between a great staff, great view and clean, comfortable rooms, we are an ideal location for those looking for a peaceful place to stay at a reasonable price. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit soon!

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nestled off the beaten path in Cupecoy Bay lives The Summit, overlooking Simpson Bay. Built in the early 1970's it shows its age. The units are extremely clean and the grounds are well kept. The staff from the desk clerk to the grounds people and the bar tender and warm and friendly, making your stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The building is set in a way that all rooms have a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobY513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear BobY513,

I love the title you gave to your review of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor because "Beautiful Hideaway" is exactly the way that we think of it as well! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the hotel on TripAdvisor and for all your kind words about us. I really appreciate it.

More important than anything, I am grateful for your warm comments about our staff. Many have been with us for, quite literally, decades and all take great pleasure in welcoming guests to the Summit. I think it is one of the things that sets us apart from other hotels in that our staff truly wants guests to be happy here and to feel at home. It is nice when guests like you recognize and appreciate it.

Thanks again for a great review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit int he future.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
727 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing