We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Stayed at the Summit one night--- Thank God it was only one night!

The room was adequate and clean, but if you're planning on being in St. Martin for more than one night, go somewhere else...

There was NOTHING at the hotel-- the pool was dirty-- the internet didn't work-- no restaurant/bar... As I said, go somewhere else.

  • Liked — It had a bathroom
  • Disliked — Everything other than the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bigred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
Reviews of this type are always written by guests who book our least expensive room for a single night. Usually they are adding on a night before or after their timeshare week at another resort. We do appreciate the reviewer saying that the room was adequate and clean and pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accomodations that are close to major attractions such as Cupecoy and Mullet beaches, the Atlantis Casino complex and the American University of the Caribbean. It should be noted that the guest visited during the off season when renovations were being done to the property including the construction of a brand new pool deck, bar and restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    96
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
59
159
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

My husband and I spent 10 days at the Summit in August. Although I like the outdoor scenery, the rooms are very poorly maintained. For example, the carpet is very dirty, the sheets do not look clean, there were a few cock roaches. In addition, there was no water to take a shower 3 of the mornings we were there.

On the night before we left, my husband was yelled at by the manager/owner in the middle of the night for feeding the cats by the pool. Apparently, the owners of this property want animal welfare to come in and remove/euthanize the cats that are on the property. The manager's name is Tracy Kilbourne, and he is very rude and antagonistic. He literally screamed at my husband and threatened to have him "removed" from the property.

Cupecoy is a beautiful place. Although the Summit is inexpensive, I would not recommend it to anyone. There are too many other nice places to stay to waste your time there.

  • Liked — Close to Mullet Bay Beach
  • Disliked — Rude Staff; Old, run down rooms; mean to animals
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarapins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
We work closely with animal rights organizations on both the Dutch and French sides of the island to responsibly monitor and control the population of feral cats which are a problem all over the island. Both Animal Welfare (Dutch side) and Les Quatre Pattes/PAWS (French side) have captured, spayed/neutered and found adoptive homes for dozens of cats taken from Summit grounds. These efforts have been paid for by the hotel in an effort to treat these animals in as humane a manner as possible. Both organizations agree that guest feeding of stray cats makes the problem worse and literature from these organizations strongly discourages this practice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2008

Great Hotel. Beautiful view. Great staff. Tons of cats! Really fun. All the rooms are in own little buildings. Like a little community. Great pool. Great food.

  • Liked — The cats
  • Disliked — not heated pool
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

We just returned from a weeks stay at the Summit Resort. It was an extremely relaxing resort complete with pool, grounds, convenient parking, and the casual Kissing Fish bar. Just below the property a brand-new bar "DeepBlue" provides a more up-scale option for a cocktails and apps. Our room (kitchen, full bath and sitting area) was clean and spacious. A large wrap-around veranda provided stellar views of Simpson Bay. The resort provided dinner on most nights. We had the drunk chicken...delicious and the portions were huge! Summit Resort is within walking distance to Cupecoy, and conveniently located to Baie Longue and Baie Rouge. Marigot to the north and the airport to the east, are just a short drive away. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for ritzy accomodations, this is not your spot, but if you are looking for a comfortable, laid-back hotel it may be perfect!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joepyeweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

Just got back from St Maarten yesterday. This is a very nice little hotel. The staff was nice and the kissing fish bar is a good place to hang out for happy hour and eat a meal. The only problems with the hotel were that the water went out twice, the internet was out several times and they forgot my wake up call. But overall, we were pleased.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frankDetorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2008

We stayed at Summit for four nights. Accomodation was great, location good. Our bungalow was freshly recorated and the kitchen was equipped well. Ample free parking too. Resort has a nice pool and the view is great, mornings are really charming.
There is no icecream place around, just one little store walking distance from the resort. Our expectations were met and if we get a chance to go back to St. Maarten, we will stay at Summit Resort again.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank tMinneapolisTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

we stayed here in January 2006 with our 2 year old twins. the hotel was ok......nothing fancy. maid service was great (especially with the messes the twins made!). the bar was nice. if we were to return to St. Maarten, I'd probably look at other hotels before I'd stay here again.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
Thank pwhite1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing