We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cupecoy
1 review
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

I am a student at the AUC medical school and rent one of the hotel rooms year round. The Summit hotel is a great out of the way place that offers a beautiful view of the lagoon as well as amazing food at the Deep Bleu restaurant. The pool is amazing and so are all of the staff. From Giselle at the front counter to Anita behind the bar to all of the housekeeping and maintenance staff, everyone is friendly and willing to help in anyway that they can. Another great thing about this hotel is all of the trees that keep the property cooler on hot days as well as the many birds and cats around. It is like staying in a tropical rain forest and if you keep your windows open, you can wake up to the beautiful chirping of the birds. To anyone that has problems with utilities or water, that is not the fault of the hotel. Sint Maarten regularly has power and water failures. The Summit hotel has a generator that turns on within 2.2 seconds of the power going out and restores full functionality to the rooms. Occasionally (3 times for a couple hours in the past 4 months) the water does go out, but again, it goes out on the entire island and there is nothing the hotel can do about it. Overall, I am very glad that I live here and I recommend this hotel for anyone looking to relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rx_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    94
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
56
151
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

We love going to the Summit. The view is outstanding. The rooms are small studio type rooms with a almost complete kitchen. Pool is fun, and the staff is wonderful. We go there ever year

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShariS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We have been going to the island for 5 years and were lucky enough to find this place. We are planning to go back this year and are looking to stay for a couple of months. I have misplaced the phone #, if someone can help me out and also I would like to get in contact with Bruce (the owner). If I could get his e-mail or phone number to contact him directly it would be greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptkeggerWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night awaiting our time share at the Pelican.
The hotel is very peaceful and quiet with breathtaking views of the Bay. Marge at the front desk was wonderful. We had the entire pool to ourselves that evening. The villa was clean and very roomy. It was just what we both needed after a long day at the airports. The only issue we have is that the restaurant on the premises has closed..thank goodness, there was a tiny bar/ restaurant at the dock....Without a car, there was no place to go and get something to eat.
Overall, the summit was great and we would stay there again..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mottamopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed here for a night late Nov 2008 before checking in the Belair Beach Resort for a week. The hotel is unique, with cottages divided in several parts to make separate rooms/apartments. We had initially planned on traveling 3 adults + 1 child, and this was what we mentioned when booking the night through Expedia.com, and paid the extra adult fee. At the last moment, a family member that was departing that same day back home, had to be added to our group because her flight had been delayed. When checking in, we saw that our room was comfortable enough for all of us: 2 double beds plus a sofa bed. I think this type of unit are their standard rooms.
The room itself is very comfortable although everything seemed a little outdated. But clean, which is what you expect. The bathroom is large and I think it has gone through renovation because it is more stylish. The entrances to our unit was though a balcony door (porch) on ground level. The parking area is large. It is a short walk to the Atlantis Casino, the largest one on the island, and next to a Medical School belonging to a local university. There are nice paths you can take between buildings and it was a nice walk in the morning. The pool was breathtaking: it is on a wooden floor area on a cliff and you have an amazing view of Simpson Bay. The pool is large and very clean, and there was renovations being carried out near the pool area but did not interfere with it being used. There are stairs that take you from the pool to Water Taxis; these boats take you to Philipsburg for shopping and I think other places and are convenient.
Now, a few negative points: one of the things we initially saw on Expedia's room description was a minifridge which our unit had indeed, but did not work. We did not notice it was not working until around 8pm, since we headed to the local beach upon checking in and returned at night. It seemed it only needed a convertor for the plug, but the gentleman in charge of the front desk that day said it could not be fixed and no convertor plugs were available. The minifridge was important for us since we wanted a cool place for our toddler's food, water, etc. There are also few dining options nearby so a car is practically a must at night if you want to eat late. About the cats....if you have read other reviews, other guests have found that the stray cats on the property are wonderful (if you are a cat lover) or a terrible thing (if you are allergic or simply not fond of these creatures). Well, let me tell you that upon cheking in, I was handed a notice explaining up front the situation. It seems that a few stray cats near the property, over the years, have turned into a health concern and they seemed to be trying to control the situation by sterilizing cats so they can no longer have kittens, and urge guests NOT to feed cats no matter what, saying that the hotel feeds them enough but additional food will draw more cats, rats, etc. to the hotel. One of the ladies at the front desk mentioned that they have a lady tourist from The Netherlands that stays there every year, and she loves cats and usually buys them tons of food and is one of the hobbies she has while she's visiting..! I don't particularly care too much for cats (I am more of a dog person), and must say that I think I saw over 20 cats near our unit and I was only there for a night. Each time you walk out your room you'll find a cat strolling by...they are waiting to see if you have leftovers or leave your door open. When checking in, we left our balcony door open a few minutes and soon found 2 cats inside our room while getting our luggage from our car! So I guess if you're careful and do not leave your door open and just ignore them, you'll be fine.
Upon check-out, the first thing I was asked, instead of, "did you find your room comfortable?" or, "did you enjoy your stay?", was, instead, "how many adults were in your room? Did you know we have an additional charge for extra adults..?" I immediately explained that there was, indeed, an extra adult at the last moment, and would not mind paying an additional fee, but also wanted to point out that the minifridge in our unit did not work and no one fixed or replaced it. The lady was nice enough to say she would not charge us for the extra adult, but when on to ask sarcastically if I had mentioned the minifridge not working only because we were about to be charged an extra fee for another adult..!! We did notice that when we checked in the day before, as we headed towards our room, an employee was nearby smiling and saying hello, but I think they are really aware of how many people stay in their units, so be careful, because eve if it is a last-minute thing like our case, or, if instead you are avoiding an extra charge, they will know.
I would recommend this hotel if you have rented a car to drive around to the beaches and dining spots, and if a beautiful view and lovely pool are a must.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lupilove04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

Kind of out of the way & a bit hard to find, but centrally located is the Summit Resort Hotel in Cupecoy. Within walking distance to the busy Mullet Bay beach, the golf course, the Atlantic Casino & the Medical School of the American University of the Caribbean, the Summit is a hidden gem with very affordable rates! Though a bit hard to find, turn right before the Atlantis Casino, & just at the Medical School sign then up the hill it is only seven minutes from the International Airport & eight minutes to the beautiful Baises Rouge on the French side!
The restaurant & bar will be expanded by Michelle & Tracy the current owners of the delightful Deepbleu bar which is a great place to watch the lagoon have a drink & savor their menu. It's also a great place to attempt to practice your French with the effervescent & drop dead gorgeous Anita, behind the bar!! Give the Summit a shout!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pia516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Stayed at the Summit one night--- Thank God it was only one night!

The room was adequate and clean, but if you're planning on being in St. Martin for more than one night, go somewhere else...

There was NOTHING at the hotel-- the pool was dirty-- the internet didn't work-- no restaurant/bar... As I said, go somewhere else.

  • Liked — It had a bathroom
  • Disliked — Everything other than the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bigred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
Reviews of this type are always written by guests who book our least expensive room for a single night. Usually they are adding on a night before or after their timeshare week at another resort. We do appreciate the reviewer saying that the room was adequate and clean and pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accomodations that are close to major attractions such as Cupecoy and Mullet beaches, the Atlantis Casino complex and the American University of the Caribbean. It should be noted that the guest visited during the off season when renovations were being done to the property including the construction of a brand new pool deck, bar and restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing