We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately no frills, but great for a nice place to spend the night”
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definately no frills, but great for a nice place to spend the night”
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Stayed at this "resort" on the Dutch side of St. Maarten and I'll have to say that part of my hesitance to rate it any higher may be impacted by the fact that many things in St. Maarten seem to have never recovered from Hurricane Louis in 1995.

First, signage to the resort is non-existent from the main street, but the directions provided on the website seem adequate. The studio apartment-like rooms have refrigerators, great A/C, room safes, tables with chairs, and a bistro table with two chairs on each covered patio. There is a pool with new lounge chairs with a bar adjacent to the pool overlooking the lagoon toward the French side.

Like other reviewers, there seems to be on going work on the facilities. We saw great improvements to the grounds while we were there (trimming plants, cleaning up palm trees, etc). I rated it as a 'hidden gem' simply because it is - or will be. GREAT location away from the hustle and bustle of the casinos. Great views of the French side overlooking the lagoon. Nice ocean breezes all day and night. Staff is friendly but can be non-approachable at times.

A few things to note about St. Maarten in general: Water pressure on the entire island comes and goes - as does electricity. Accommodations at The Summir Resort were nice if your standards aren't too high. It was great for us since we're hardly ever in the room anyway. The roads on the Dutch side are horrible - much better on the French side.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AtlantaScottyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    100
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
164
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

The new Manager, Evans, is an experienced and highly-educated local woman, who has improved the property & services since taking over 18 months ago. Reviews from earlier years gave us concern about coming to the Summit for our first trip to St. Martin. We exchanged thru RCI for a week, but came a day early and stayed for 4 additional days. Though we had to move after the first 8 days, they provided nice rooms with good lagoon views for our entire stay.

The pool w/ tiki bar overlooking the beautiful large lagoon is the center of attraction and gathering place. It's perfect for meeting fellow guests at breakfast, throughout the day, and for sunset cocktails. We met lots of friendly Canadians!

All rooms are large studios... perfect for 2, and some guests squeezed in more. Kitchenettes were fine for occasional meals. Daily maid service was very good. Views from 2nd-floor units and lower-number units (especially single-digit numbers) were best.

Good beaches are 5 to 10 minutes away. Traffic is awful as you get closer to Philipsburg (especially during the Heineken Regatta when we were there). Restaurants, provisions, food, wine, pharmacy, etc are a 5 minute drive thru the golf course.

My wife & I are experienced world travelers and we appreciate good hotels at reasonable prices... we would definitely return to the Summit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoePompano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockville centre,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Our first time The Summit ( 8th time St M) we usually rent a villa but after reading great things about this resort (Jeff Berger) we decide to try it. We loved it. There was a problem when we checked in ,we were assigned the wrong room and had to move. We were disappointed but Gisele was able to provide us with a nicer ,larger room. The resort is quiet, clean and close to Mullet Bay,Maho and Cupecoy. At this time we plan to go back next year for a longer stay. Deep Blue a casual restaurant on premises provides delicious food for lunch & dinner.
Ellen & Jack, Rockville Centre,NY

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avery84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Stayed at the Summit Resort for the first time the week after Christmas. The room was fine, clean, with a great view of the Simpson Bay Lagoon. The resort is located off the beaches, and is very quiet. The pool is very nice, overlooking the lagoon. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay that is not on the beach, and you don't need any support/services from the resort, this would be a good choice for you. You definitely need a rental car for this resort.

Other than the great maid service, there are few services/little support from the resort. The office did help us set up a sunset cruise. and one of the managers who was just stopping by the office one evening to check on things (wish I had her name...very helpful, efficient, and effective) assisted us with getting logged on to the computer located in the office when the night desk person didn't know how to log on (if you want ANY help at all, DO NOT try to ask the night desk person--found him to be of no help with anything during the stay). Overall, just wasn't the level of service I expect at a resort. The TV remote was not functioning, and the resort was unable to come up with an additional remote the entire week (okay...there were some rainy days where I DID watch TV instead of going to the beach!). The guest services book in the room cited a beach shuttle, but when asked, was told "Oh, we haven't had that for a long time." When paying the final bill, tried to use traveller's checks (don't try to cash them at the desk, by the way), but was told that there would be a $0.25 charge for each traveller's check used. This was the first time I have run into that!

The Deep Blue Bar and Grill, located on the premises, has a good sandwich menu (try the tuna steak sandwich), a daily happy hour, and a friendly staff, along with a super view of the lagoon. Although their web site states they have water taxi service, it was unavailable while I was there due to a lack of qualified personnel to operate the boats.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance, and a little market close by where you can go to get fresh bread and pastries in the morning.

The best thing about the resort: Quiet, and relaxing
The worst thing: The lack of service/support

Again, if you are looking for a quiet place to just relax poolside, or to use as a base from which to explore the island and don't need or want much support from the resort, this would be a good place for you. Otherwise, look elsewhere. Also, would not recommend for anyone with small children. Nothing for them to do other than the pool at the resort.

The reason for marking that I would not recommend to a friend is primarily based on the service. Other than that, the resort was fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odysseus167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupecoy
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I am a student at the AUC medical school and rent one of the hotel rooms year round. The Summit hotel is a great out of the way place that offers a beautiful view of the lagoon as well as amazing food at the Deep Bleu restaurant. The pool is amazing and so are all of the staff. From Giselle at the front counter to Anita behind the bar to all of the housekeeping and maintenance staff, everyone is friendly and willing to help in anyway that they can. Another great thing about this hotel is all of the trees that keep the property cooler on hot days as well as the many birds and cats around. It is like staying in a tropical rain forest and if you keep your windows open, you can wake up to the beautiful chirping of the birds. To anyone that has problems with utilities or water, that is not the fault of the hotel. Sint Maarten regularly has power and water failures. The Summit hotel has a generator that turns on within 2.2 seconds of the power going out and restores full functionality to the rooms. Occasionally (3 times for a couple hours in the past 4 months) the water does go out, but again, it goes out on the entire island and there is nothing the hotel can do about it. Overall, I am very glad that I live here and I recommend this hotel for anyone looking to relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rx_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We love going to the Summit. The view is outstanding. The rooms are small studio type rooms with a almost complete kitchen. Pool is fun, and the staff is wonderful. We go there ever year

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShariS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We have been going to the island for 5 years and were lucky enough to find this place. We are planning to go back this year and are looking to stay for a couple of months. I have misplaced the phone #, if someone can help me out and also I would like to get in contact with Bruce (the owner). If I could get his e-mail or phone number to contact him directly it would be greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptkeggerWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
748 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Property: The Summit Hotel
Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing