We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sapphire Beach(?) Club 7 day stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I just returned from St Martin yesterday, and have been trying to best describe this hotel, as it is not a resort, nor is there much beach except for an hour or two during the lowest morning tide. the rest of the day, not even the bottom steps of the "beach "access is above water. To start, the room we ended up with ( the room we originally booked) had a spectacular ocean view, with amazing sunsets! The renovated room offered a full kitchen and ample room to spread out and relax. The housekeeping staff worked hard to make sure guests were well taken care of, they greeted guests, asked if everything was good in the room, etc. They took pride in their work and it showed. I wish they owned the resort, since the owners, who lived on site, did not share the same enthusiasm towards their hotel guests. Yes, you could generally find one or more of them lingering by the bar/bar restaurant area most of the time, they never went out of their way to interact with guests welcoming them to the Sapphire. Our booking prior to arrival was an ocean view room, at check in we were given a room on the first floor with a view of the largest ficus tree I have ever seen, there was no phone, no TV, and plenty of bugs. I went back to the desk to ask for a new room, I was told I had to speak to someone in reservations downstairs. So on my first day of vacation, I'm in the lower level of a strange hotel, as politely as possible, trying to explain that "Ocean View" and "Ficus Tree" view are not the same, no matter how the hotel classified the room. I was told to come back the next morning at 9:30 am for a possible room change. Went back at 9:30, the very nice woman in reservations, told me to come back at 11am. Went back at 11, after attempting to get the breakfast buffet that was included with our stay, only to be told we needed the tickets not issued to us at checkin, and went room viewing with the reservation lady, as I wanted to see what they were going to offer me (maybe something I paid for?). Our room on the 4th floor offered amazing views as I stated earlier ( It was really the 5th floor, as the lobby is floor 0) and was what I had booked before leaving home.
The market in the basement offers basic amenities, coffee, snacks, alcohol and bottel water. This was a definite plus, as the bar food and drinks were a bit overpriced for what was offered, and the Italian Restaurant food was often over cooked and dried out.
We rented a car from Leo at the car rental booth in the lobby, he offered great service at a competitive price. It made exploring St Martin so much more enjoyable.
Mullet Beach is nearby, and you could walk there if you didn't mind the hike.......best BBQ ribs ever!

Bottom line, if you just need a hotel to sleep, and see the caribbean sunsets, this place will work for you, If you would like hot water for more than 2 of your days here, or you would like running water at all, or if you don't want to go to the subbasement laundry room to ask for washcloths or towels after a day at the beach, or you don't mind hard lumpy pillows from 1982, then you might want to keep resort shopping. Would we visit St Martin again, truth be told, We hated to leave! Would we stay at the Sapphire again......well.....not likely.

Room Tip: 4th floor and above, be persistent in your request. Plan to spend some time and effort to get the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springerhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Rented deluxe studio timeshare. Bldg 1, 3rd floor. Beautiful view of the Caribbean Sea from the balcony. That, fellow travelers is it. Yes, the new owners are on premise, and yes, the bartender Dennis is personable and accommodating. The resort is a short drive from the airport, and from the action in Maho. A car is a necessity, because as my neighbors on the 3rd floor said on the first day: "you have to get out of the room". The building is 21 years old and it shows. Maintenance money from time share owners was obviously not spent on maintaining or cleaning these units. On day 1, I bought a bag of ice because the icemaker and ice were filthy. On day 2, I tipped the maid $20 to procure clean pillows and a clean blanket for the bed which was easily 21 years old, as were the appliances, the balcony hot tub, the 13" old TV with one channel, the bathroom fixtures and the scary elevators...On the 3rd day, I tipped the maid $10 to clean the black mold from the A/C vents and borrowed a can of Lysol to take care of the odors in the room. The maid loved me and there were always (just) enough towels. All week long, there were groups of angry hotel guests at the front desk. The free Wi-Fi is available at the bar, and that became an informal meet and beat the daily room horror stories amongst the very friendly time share renters and owners. Eventually, we would just laugh about all the issues. Until day 6 when our only toilet stopped flushing. Ah well, the view was beautiful.

Room Tip: Bring Lysol & tip the maid early and often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wavewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Pool and bar were the best Dennis the bartender kept us amused with evening programs. Food was good plenty of seating at pool. Lots of nice visitors with time to make friendships. New owners doing many upgrades plenty of parking. I would definitely return. Do not let. Other spoiler reviews turn u away I was pleasantly

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Can be a great visit or can be a horror. Water can never warm up. Sometimes there are no tvs.s. service is often spotty. However pool is great. Views are magnificent. Visit can be great. Location is wonderful as is equidistant to Marigot and Phillipsburg. A good deal for the price

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 515Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

As many others we were concerned and had our timeshare on alert if we needed assistance. We were pleasantly surprised. However, it is a work in progress.
We were in bldg 2 with a beautiful ocean view. This will be the last blg to be renovated. There were some nuisances and no hot water until last day. Staff always addressed any concern right away. The room was very clean.
Bring CASH.
The bar,Italian restaurant,market,salon all only accept cash. Sign for towels early. Request renovated room when possible.
The bar is fun at night with entertainment a few night a week. Dennis takes pride in his bar. Eat at the Italian restaurant at night at least once. Paolo does a fantastic job but only 5 tables so make a reservation if poss. There is no beach left due to mother nature but there's 2 within walking distance.
Bottom line, we will go again. Have some patience and enjoy this beautiful island. Look for Marsha who is a great help with info at resort and locally. The new owners have a great passion to make this you favorite destination but it will take time.
On a side note, we were stuck after flights cancelled to the northeast this week. The owners and the staff did everything to assist with a place to stay for an extra night. Even on a busy winter break week.
Thanks to all of you!
Bruno and Nicole "mille fois merci" !!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank reillybooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading other reviews we were concerned about staying at the Sapphire. But were pleasantly surprised. Our room was newly renovated with all new furniture. The stove and microwave were older, but functional. We did not use thee dishwasher. The unit was located in tower #1 on the 5th floor, and the glass doors going to the balcony provided a spectacular view. The spa tub on the balcony did not work, but when told, the resort sent maintenance to fix it, and when we checked out, they were waiting for parts to repair it. The personnel on staff are very professional, but a little more reserved than other resorts we've visited. They did answer any questions, and did meet our needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main tower, room #153 which is a large studio overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We came to the sapphire hotel for my boyfriend daughters birthday party first we asked for a two bedroom and they said they only had studios we took it we were told it had a jacuzzi so we was like ok good enough when we got here the jacuzzi was not working the toilet was not working the lamps was not working dish washer was not working no hot water in the room the fridge was filthy we had to clean it our selves no flat screen TV we also had to call for that the staff ugh what to say no manner when I called the lady answered the phone like "yeah" she didn't even say good night I leave it slide when I went with the girls to the lobby for towels the front desk agent told me I was only allowed 4 towel even tho we payed the extra 25 dollars when I had 6 girls With me after that we went to the supposedly buffet and the lady told us we cant eat by the pool side because she had ppl that went with out paying it's ridiculous for u to be paying $290 per night and u get such horrible service this is my first and last time here if u know best book another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latinbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.8 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
7.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: £145 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham
Sapphire Beach Club Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing