We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Stevensville
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Much improvement”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Sapphire has a new, very hands-on owner/manager with whom I spoke at length during my recent stay. He has already made a number or changes and improvements in the few months that he has been there and he has let go of some people and hired new ones. Units in building 1 have been refurbished and appliances will be changed. Buildings 2 and 3 will follow. There are two new stores in the lobby and more to come. The restaurant is under new management and a sushi bar/restaurant is being built. Another restaurant is planned. The swimming pool is sparkling clean and the small pools in the villas as well. Staff oversight is tighter. Follow-up on a Wi-Fi access issue was addressed very quickly. Still many things to address and the owner/manager knows it. As an owner of two weeks at the Sapphire I am encouraged by what I saw and I trust that it will soon be as nice as it was as its beginning. I'm returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jean Yves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    164
    118
    121
    167
See reviews for
127
293
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Sapphire Beach Club Resort for a week and it was fabulous. We had a corner suite on the 5th floor... We had a balcony with a jacuzzi off the living room that had the view of the pool and the Caribbean Ocean, another balcony at the kitchen off the side of the building, and also another balcony in the bedroom with a view from the back of the building! All the floors and entire bathroom was made of Italian Marble, the kitchen was great, the bedroom was so comfortable, and the staff there were very prompt with keeping the spacious suite clean;) The AC did not work the greatest, but hey... We were in the Caribbean and definitely did not feel the need to complain with everything else being so wonderful. The bar at the pool makes PHENOMENAL drinks and the entrance to the beach is absolutely breathtaking.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are the best... And the higher floor, the better view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian River, MI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights the last week of Februrary 2014. It was BY FAR the worst experience we have ever had in 37 years of travel. Anyone who doesn't complain about their vacation there must be an owner. Everyone was complaining all over the resort, including owners. It was the topic of discussion every time we got in the elevator.

The air conditioning was not working in our room so it smelled very moldy and musty. We talked to the front desk. Their fix? They sent us a fan. The hallway outside our room had very visible mold all over the vents. I ended up at an emergency room once we got back to the States because of sinus and breathing issues. The maid didn't like the hot and moldy room so she would leave the doors all wide open when she cleaned. When we would arrive back at the room we discovered it because she was still there. We wondered why the room was full of mosquitos every day...that explained it.

The stove had one burner working, the refrigerator did not have a working ice maker. Talked to the front desk. Their solution? They said take a plastic bag to the bar every day and ask for some. The refrigerator leaked a huge puddle of water on the floor daily. We put down towels to soak it up and the maid put down fresh towels on the floor every day.
The toilet didn't flush correctly. Every time we flushed we had to stand and wait until it was done flushing and then flush again. Usually took 6 times. We usually had hot water although sometimes it was just warm.

One day the elevator stopped between floors. People had to climb out. They had a second elevator and eventually fixed the first one but then people were afraid to use it.

There was no can opener, no blender, no toaster, no dish towels or pot holders. The outlets in the bathroom did not work.

We complained every day to the front desk (along with many other people). We asked to be changed to a different room because of health issues with the mold. They kept telling us they were full (NOT) and if they had a cancellation they would let us move. Of course that never happened. I can't remember how many times we were at the front desk asking for something. When we checked out I mentioned how unhappy I was and that I was going to write a review. Then they had the nerve to ask us if we had complained to them while we were there! Very incompetent and uncaring staff.

The positives: Dennis did a great job at the bar (although we thought the drinks were expensive and small). Nice new towels and the maid did a good job. Pool was clean but not many umbrellas.

They have started renovating areas but who cares if there is a new liquor store and a new boutique in the lobby? Rooms are more important.

Would we stay there again? Not if it were the last resort available in the world. Thankfully we had rented a car so we could get away. Not a good place to stay if you don't rent a car. RCI told us they were withdrawing the resort from their directory and they did seem to for awhile but it appears it's back now. Maybe the resort lied to them and told them they had fixed the problems. To give RCI credit, they did make it right with us because they've had so many complaints. We had read a lot of reviews before we left and they were not good. But we're not fancy people and are usually happy with anything. We thought "how bad can it really be?" Unfortunately the bad reviews were all correct. Do yourself a favor and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lkmewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cupecoy Bay hotels

Queens, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Please don't stay here! This hotel was the worst, the rooms, and I say ROOMS because on our arrival within the first 3 hours we were in two rooms, the first room had an air condition unit that didn't work, so they moved us to another room, and guess what that didn't work either. The rooms were not clean, the beds were terrible! The only nice thing that I can say it the pool bar was nice and had decent food. Other than that, DO NOT STAY HERE! It really needs updating, new air conditioning and new bedding. The staff was not very attentive and did not really go out of their way to try and help or accommodate us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After reading the terrible reviews of this hotel, I had serious reservations about even staying there and called RCI to see if I should try to change my vacation. Having just returned yesterday from a wonderful one-week stay, I'm glad we stuck with the original plan but understand why so many are disappointed. Our room had the most dramatic views I've seen in any resort. We were in building 3, on the sixth floor and on the extreme west side, (Rm 360). That meant we had a huge suite, with two full baths and three decks overlooking water: the Atlantic on the south and west and Simpson Bay on the north. The southern deck had a jacuzzi that provided respite after long days of shopping and sightseeing. The nearest beach was a short walk down a cliffside path. The resort is only two blocks away from the newly opened Cote dAzur (Blue Mall) (and the French border) to the west and about three blocks away from the Mullet Bay shopping area. Admittedly, the resort itself is really showing wear; it's clear the management is biding time and keeping repairs to a minimum. Our clothes drier (in the room) had a bit of loose metal on the drum that snagged and burned a few pieces of clothing, but management took care of it. The resort restaurant offered minimal offerings, but with so many good restaurants nearby, that was not an issue. The little store in the basement offered staples at reasonable prices. The pool is acceptable but few people used it, again not an issue for us since the beaches are what the attraction is in St. Maarten. Unlike so many other reviewers, however, we found the staff was helpful and friendly; our rooms were cleaned daily; towels were plentiful; bugs were absent; the A/C worked perfectly, and the stay was very, very pleasant.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the views. The rooms on the west side have three views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the42bard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

As we arrived, we were informed by the taxi driver that it used to be five star. But due to poor management, it had 2 star ppl and 3 star accommodations. We were allowed to check in early and the suite was beautiful....but the jacuzzi had left the interior floor wet as the jets caused it to bubble over from the deck into the living room. The view was gorgeous and the large "whirlpool" bathtub did not have a stopper or whirlpool and there was no shower curtain, leaving us with extremely dangerous wet marble floors. The toilet would only flush after the fourth try. Oh and the store and restaurant onsite only accept cash but alas there is no atm on site. Nor did any nearby work. Smh

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This time share continues to disintegrate with maintenance non existent in the rooms, and only performed on selective common areas where visibility is highest. I was scalded there with hot water coming out of the tap at the boiling point and needed medical attention(at my costs), one out of three toilets worked, air conditioning lacked controllers or functionality, the cable TV broke on day two and never got fixed. All these issues were reported continually and nothing got repaired, Nothing! And I own three weeks of timeshare there, in different units, that I bought 9 years ago for amounts in the tens of thousands of dollars. The timeshare changes owners and managers, they dumped the Wyndham name, they collect over $2000 dollars in maintenance fees a year and nothing gets repaired. They advertise luxurious hot tubs in each unit, but you get cold dirty tanks of unusable water with oily sheens floating on top. They talk about these exotic linens and you get nasty bedding and pillows you wouldn't provide to a prisoner. The tiled floors are so stained and nasty you are afraid to go around shoeless, and if you do your feet actually literally turn black. If you want to know why watch the maid one day. The barely push around a damp mop from a bucket of water that moves from room to room without change. You will never be offended by the smell of cleaning product, as I don't believe they use any. The only bright spot is the desk staff, who are the victims in this, as they have to be the front line defense for a barrage of angry tenants coming to them to complain of the broken items in all the units, and then face them again when nothing is repaired. Sharon, Santana, Jose and Gustavo do a great job being abused continually for all the disrepair and squalor that people are forced to live in. Many people try to play it off to "An Island Experience", but broken, dirty, dangerous and non working are not acceptable. Shame on you Sapphire Beach Club. You have turned a nice resort on a beautiful island into a hole. To anyone thinking of going or buying there, my words of advice. Don't do it! I can send you pictures of the filth and broken items.

Room Tip: Go to a different resort if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reynolro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.2 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Property: Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham
Sapphire Beach Club Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing