We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected but lacking in so many ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

From some of the reviews here, we feared our stay. This place is somewhat tired, and we could accept some but not all. Air conditioning is all but non-existant. Thank God for ceiling fans.

A restaurant that doesn't accept credit cards.

Wi-fi that costs $49/week and gives the worst service anywhere. Additionally, you need to login/logout with each device, as only one device can be used at a time.

Internet stations for flight checkin/boarding passes available in the basement at $10/hour.

No first aid kit even available at the front desk to attend to a cut gotten by slipping on steps leading to their beach. Add to that a desk clerk who seemed indifferent to my fall.

A plus was daily maid service. Timeshares don't always do that. However, one beach towel per person is permitted despite the fact this place can't be 1/4 filled.

Location makes for easy access to everything

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank decdentom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived yesterday and were skeptical after reading the reviews. Well, the reviews were right and it was even worse than some said. There was garbage everywhere, the hotel had a horrific odor - even my 9 year old said he hoped we were staying there. We paid for a 3 bedroom, which apparently they don't have because they put us in 3 separate rooms down the hall from each other. We have 3 kids under the age of 10 so staying apart doesn't work. The property was unkept and no one was helpful. We left and went to another resort which is great. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyguyRamseyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I just got back Saturday (June 21, 2014) and as long term owners of one of their villas, I have to admit that there are a lot of new and exciting changes at Sapphire Beach Club. First, the restaurant has not only some of the best Italian cuisine on the island, the chef is very pleasant and his staff are great and very accommodating.

The New Managers, Bruno and Nicole are wonderful and they are making things happen at Sapphire. There are new stores, a Casino that will be ready in November, they are currently building an outdoor Sushi Bar that will be fantastic. Future plans include a French Restaurant with a fish tank like floor where you will see some of the most amazing and beautiful sea creatures.

The maintenance crew and the clean up staff have definitely improved their overall services.

I have been an owner at Sapphire for almost twenty years and I have seen it at is's best and at it's lowest. I am proud to say that because of Bruno and Nicole, Sapphire will once again be the five star resort it was.

Joe Vida and Maria

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JoeVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon the second week of June. Before we left we read many other reviews and had many reservations about staying at the Sapphire. We stayed in building 2 on the seventh floor. The room was much larger than we expected since we used a timeshare of a friend. We had a Jacuzzi outside of our bedroom and a large bathtub in the main bath. We had another balcony outside of the living/sitting room area. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and the pool area was directly below us. We though this might not be the ideal situation, but the first night ridded us of all those fears when the live musician started playing island music which could be heard. The staff was very friendly, especially in the evenings. The front desk attendant in the evening, Santana was extremely friendly and always made it a point to greet us every time we walked into the resort. The bar by the pool was nice and the drinks very strong but tasty! They serve food in all day, but in the evening the food was delicious. After 6PM Italian food was served and it was even better than the rest of the food! The pool was extremely nice in that it was always clean (cleaned every day) and there is a nice center feature that includes a small waterfall.

Now to the room. Like I said before it was much better than we prepared ourselves for! the only issue that we (well I) had was that the water was not very hot most times and the pressure was sort of low. I like my water blistering hot and very pressurized! Other than that the daily maid service was great since they changed towels every day and changed the bed sheets in the middle of the week. We actually had to shut the A/C off for a day or two because it was so cold in the room from all 3 A/C units running. The weather was a sunny 90 every day too! The kitchen was a full kitchen that offered everything you needed if you wanted to cook a nice dinner for two. A safe was in the room too, this made the room feel even more safe for your valuables.

The resort was very easy to find, even though parking was a little tight since they don't have many parking spaces.

Overall, The resort was in good shape and may be getting better by the week from what earlier reviews advised. A good resort for the price paid for it. I would go back to the island in a heartbeat and I would stay at the resort in a heartbeat as well.

Room Tip: Try to stay in building 1 or even building 2 from experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bowie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Sapphire has a new, very hands-on owner/manager with whom I spoke at length during my recent stay. He has already made a number or changes and improvements in the few months that he has been there and he has let go of some people and hired new ones. Units in building 1 have been refurbished and appliances will be changed. Buildings 2 and 3 will follow. There are two new stores in the lobby and more to come. The restaurant is under new management and a sushi bar/restaurant is being built. Another restaurant is planned. The swimming pool is sparkling clean and the small pools in the villas as well. Staff oversight is tighter. Follow-up on a Wi-Fi access issue was addressed very quickly. Still many things to address and the owner/manager knows it. As an owner of two weeks at the Sapphire I am encouraged by what I saw and I trust that it will soon be as nice as it was as its beginning. I'm returning next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jean Yves M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Sapphire Beach Club Resort for a week and it was fabulous. We had a corner suite on the 5th floor... We had a balcony with a jacuzzi off the living room that had the view of the pool and the Caribbean Ocean, another balcony at the kitchen off the side of the building, and also another balcony in the bedroom with a view from the back of the building! All the floors and entire bathroom was made of Italian Marble, the kitchen was great, the bedroom was so comfortable, and the staff there were very prompt with keeping the spacious suite clean;) The AC did not work the greatest, but hey... We were in the Caribbean and definitely did not feel the need to complain with everything else being so wonderful. The bar at the pool makes PHENOMENAL drinks and the entrance to the beach is absolutely breathtaking.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are the best... And the higher floor, the better view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights the last week of Februrary 2014. It was BY FAR the worst experience we have ever had in 37 years of travel. Anyone who doesn't complain about their vacation there must be an owner. Everyone was complaining all over the resort, including owners. It was the topic of discussion every time we got in the elevator.

The air conditioning was not working in our room so it smelled very moldy and musty. We talked to the front desk. Their fix? They sent us a fan. The hallway outside our room had very visible mold all over the vents. I ended up at an emergency room once we got back to the States because of sinus and breathing issues. The maid didn't like the hot and moldy room so she would leave the doors all wide open when she cleaned. When we would arrive back at the room we discovered it because she was still there. We wondered why the room was full of mosquitos every day...that explained it.

The stove had one burner working, the refrigerator did not have a working ice maker. Talked to the front desk. Their solution? They said take a plastic bag to the bar every day and ask for some. The refrigerator leaked a huge puddle of water on the floor daily. We put down towels to soak it up and the maid put down fresh towels on the floor every day.
The toilet didn't flush correctly. Every time we flushed we had to stand and wait until it was done flushing and then flush again. Usually took 6 times. We usually had hot water although sometimes it was just warm.

One day the elevator stopped between floors. People had to climb out. They had a second elevator and eventually fixed the first one but then people were afraid to use it.

There was no can opener, no blender, no toaster, no dish towels or pot holders. The outlets in the bathroom did not work.

We complained every day to the front desk (along with many other people). We asked to be changed to a different room because of health issues with the mold. They kept telling us they were full (NOT) and if they had a cancellation they would let us move. Of course that never happened. I can't remember how many times we were at the front desk asking for something. When we checked out I mentioned how unhappy I was and that I was going to write a review. Then they had the nerve to ask us if we had complained to them while we were there! Very incompetent and uncaring staff.

The positives: Dennis did a great job at the bar (although we thought the drinks were expensive and small). Nice new towels and the maid did a good job. Pool was clean but not many umbrellas.

They have started renovating areas but who cares if there is a new liquor store and a new boutique in the lobby? Rooms are more important.

Would we stay there again? Not if it were the last resort available in the world. Thankfully we had rented a car so we could get away. Not a good place to stay if you don't rent a car. RCI told us they were withdrawing the resort from their directory and they did seem to for awhile but it appears it's back now. Maybe the resort lied to them and told them they had fixed the problems. To give RCI credit, they did make it right with us because they've had so many complaints. We had read a lot of reviews before we left and they were not good. But we're not fancy people and are usually happy with anything. We thought "how bad can it really be?" Unfortunately the bad reviews were all correct. Do yourself a favor and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lkmewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
222 reviews
7.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: £146 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham
Sapphire Beach Club Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing