We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the money not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
baltimore
Level Contributor
411 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“For the money not worth it”
Reviewed 14 February 2005

We stayed at the Sapphire Beach Club on 2/4/05 for one night. We were in room 62 on the 6th floor. Beautiful view of the water, but the problems we encountered did not make up for the view. The mattress on the bed was thin and uncomfortable. The a/c units loud/noisey, no shower curtin in the bathroom, which put water everywhere. Only got hot or cold water in the shower not warm. Ended up taking a cold shower as the hot burned you. Commode would not flush the toliet paper down. The hot tub on the deck was DIRTY. For the money they want to stay in these rooms, it is not a hotel I would return to. The location is out of the way and you have to drive to everything.

Helpful?
3 Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    153
    115
    120
    168
See reviews for
122
279
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bahama, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2005

We spent 5 nights at the Wyndham in January, and it was absolutely amazing. After a "budget trip" to Europe last March, this was a very refreshing "American hotel." The room was very large, and the view was unbelieveable. My only gripe about this hotel was that the only beach access we could walk to to tiny, tiny. The cliffs are incredible, but not perfect for beach bums.

Helpful?
16 Thank KJTECU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 February 2005

We spent the last week of January at Sapphire Beach. It was an absolutely great week. The staff, especially at the front desk, were delightful. The room was clean and the views were fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 January 2005

Stayed at this hotel for a few days in winter break. It looked great on the web but I got scared after reading these reviews, they were mostly correct. The floor we stayed in smelled of urine, there were leaks everywhere and the AC did not work. Management was called, sent up repairmen who were very friendly, but the problem was we constanty needed them. Trying to get towels was a joke as the lady allowed one per person. The security was a joke as the guard was offering ppl rides. Overall STAY AWAY go somewhere and experence a vacation.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cupecoy Bay hotels

Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2005

This cozy hotel is real caribbean style. Simple, unassuming yet comfortable. The rooms are large many with 2 bedrooms and 3 balcony's, the one that overlooks the ocean has it's own private jacuzzi. The master bedroom has a large bathroom with a jacuzzi oversized tub that has terrific power. They have a poolside bar restaurant that serves breakfast lunch & dinner. Great grocery store on premises. Small but adequate gym. Beauty salon and spa. Conviently located near French border. Walk to Casino, restaurant & small shops. Music by pool and activities director offers exercise classes in the morning in the pool. The best bafternoon bingo. Don't expect 5 star service. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return. By the way the beach is not the best feature of this resort.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2004

My husband and I just returned from a vacation at the "Sapphire" (as the natives call it). I traditionally come to "The Advisor" to gather information about the hotel and the place I intend to vacation. Let me say that I was particularly swayed towards the Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort (WSBR) by the description on Expedia. Although, I did not receive the room I wanted with a Jacuzzi on the balcony overlooking the Caribbean Ocean. The room my husband and I were given was nice. It was on one of the upper floors, overlooking Simpson Bay, and had room enough to sleep six comfortably. Like a pouty child I was tempted to go to another hotel since I did not get my room with a view and a "Jacuzzi." Upon checking out the other accomodations nearby my husband and I felt that we would be "trading down," so we stayed at the WSBR. Let me say that "a little" of what all the reviews have written is true. I will not dwell on the "negatives." but will say that Eunice at the front desk at the WSBR is a "true professional." Thanks Eunice.
Although, the beach at the WSBR was almost "non-existent" there are plenty of beaches nearby to enjoy.

Helpful?
4 Thank OntheGoCyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 December 2004

This property continues to suffer from management that could careless about the property. I would never stay here but my partner has invested in a Villa timeshare so it great for free.That about what its worth. This timeshare seem to lack enough money to keeps the rooms up to date. Broken doors,broken TV, fridge that dosen't get cold, broken airconditioning that doesn't work, yes they will send the repairman as many times as you are willing to keep calling. But come on at least they can keep it clean and free of the overwhelming mildrew smell, ever here of pine-sol,ammonia and bleach. Believe me they haven't at this place. . The staff is rude and clueless and the activity desk lady , Rhonda, is a big ripoff. Book activities direct yourself as she doesn't save you any money. Don't give her the $20.00 deposit because then you are charged full fare when you arrive at your activity. The hotel say they only rent space to her.! Right!Get away early and experience this beautiful Island and its Great food and beaches.The French side is outstanding and they people are lovely. If you just want a place to shower this would be the place. The Beach is not safe unless you are a very good swimmer, and don't even think about letting your kids in the water at their beach. I dare you to try to get a cup of coffee in the morning at the pool bar and a beach towel, this place is a joke.Talk about a tough place to get some service, try getting a drink from their bartenter.Someone should tell him that they can't make money if he doesn't serve anybody.
Please tell me why the Wyndham is envolved in this property. I haven't seen any improvement in this property since they have taken over.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.9 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
7.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.4 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Property: Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham
Sapphire Beach Club Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing