We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jewel in St. Martin”
Review of Aux Quatre Vents - CLOSED

Aux Quatre Vents
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Jewel in St. Martin”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have now had the pleasure of eating at Aux Quatre Vents two years in a row in June visits to St. Martin and are very happy that the excellent level of service and the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff which so impressed us on our first trip are really the standard at this jewel of a restaurant. The fresh catch of the day is a melt in your mouth treat and is presented most tastefully. We were warmly remembered and welcomed back this June by everyone after a year since our last previous visit, which meant a lot to us! Our waiter even remembered our favorite wine choice from the year before! This is one of the two best restaurants on the island and we look forward to our next visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ambiance and great food”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Pleasant Surprise! My wife and I drove passed the Porto Cupecoy Marina every day to eat in other locations including Orient Beach, Simpson Bay, and Marigot. We decided to give Aux Quatre Vents a try...our only disappointment is that we didn't stop in at the beginning of our trip instead of the last.

We sat down for dinner around 8:30 pm and didn't leave until 11:15pm. There was air conditioned seating available inside, but we chose to sit on the terrace with a view of the marina and sailboats. The ambiance was very relaxed, cool, and French. The overall feeling is very European including the relaxed operations hours....we didn't leave until after closing hours, but felt no pressure to leave.

We began by ordering Malbec by the glass. My dinner order included Rib-eye with mushroom sauce, scalloped potatoes and vegetables. My wife ordered Mahi mahi with a cream creole sauce. We both had a couple glasses of quality Malbec. Our dinners were cooked to perfection.

I apologize to anyone reading this, but I cannot remember the name of our dessert. It is not showing on their menu, but was highly recommended as a daily special. The dessert was not a disappointment...it included a pastry, vanilla ice cream, chocolate sauce and very sweet crunchy component.

After dessert, our waiter offered coffee and we accepted. He also offered a homemade drink creation that can only be described at Rum with luxurious chocolate and banana. It came to us in a blue liqueur bottle and was served slightly cooled in double-shot glasses. I would love to remember the name of this drink and it's contents, but I'm sorry to say...just like the dessert I cannot remember the drink...only the wonderful flavors.

The bill for three hours of great food, drink and memories totaled $102. I was shocked and pleased at the value at this restaurant.

We will return to Aux Quatre Vents on our next visit to St Martin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smithdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where's the Beef? Why French people are so skinny.”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We ate at this French restaurant as part of our night time Celine Pub Crawl via sailboat on Simpson Bay. 5th year doing this wonderful activity, This restaurant was our second stop after wonderful plentiful appetizers at Skip Jack, The environment was nice was nice . A preset menu choice of fish, beef or chicken was also nice. I chose the beef and wife had fish, Each of our dinners had side portions of either rice or mashed potato and pureed squash. Taste was excellent. Portion size was very small of the beef. Maybe 1-2 oz Wife's mahi mahi portion was the size of a large machiated goldfish only thinner and dry, She did not even bother eating the one inch left after the first bite, In prior years on this excursion in other restaurants we had normal or generous portions. Now I see why the French people are so thin and Americans are so fat. Michelle Obama, take note. Overall great time and would recommend the Celine as the most hospitable and accomodating host for boating on this island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice experience in St. Maarten”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We celebrated our friends' anniversary at Aux Quatre Vents (The Four Winds) while vacationing in St Martin with 10 of our best friends. Our waiter was very polished and his French accent made for such a true French island experience. He filleted the salt crusted sea bass at our table and it was quite the handiwork! He brought the live lobsters out to show us which would be selected and that was fun! I am not a seafood lover so I ordered the vegetarian pasta which was very flavorful and creamy. The atmosphere was upscale and elegant, the food was good; our lobster lovers were not overly impressed by the Caribbean clawless lobsters. Food a little pricey but was expected to be so due to the area it is in. Overall great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“expensive, but well worth it”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great view and location in Porto Cupecoy, Aux Quatre Vents is a wonderful option for fine dining or casual bar ambiance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aux Quatre Vents also viewed

Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing