We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Friendly”
Review of The Ocean Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Club
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quiet and Friendly”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Ocean Club is tucked away on the beach at Cupecoy. While there is development all around, it remains an isolated sanctuary. Amenities are simple, but the help is friendly and the atmosphere is family-like. The pool is generally quiet, and other parts of Cupecoy Beach, Blue Mall, Fig Restaurant, and Porto Cupecoy are a few minutes away. One small pleasure: many free washing machines throughout mean you can always have a fresh bathing suit, clothes, etc with no hassle.

Room Tip: Try to get a poolside villa, but the "tower," (4 floors) has an elevator and almost every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We (two adults and two children, 11 and 7) stayed at this property for a week in March 2013.

We did read about the murder there last year, but it appears to have been a targeted attack over a dispute rather than a random attack on tourists. The security appeared adequate and we never felt unsafe during our stay there.

As the title indicates, this is an older property. The elevator in the main building is old and slow. The room also showed signs of wear but was kept clean.

The location is fine if you have a car, otherwise it's not really close to anything other than Cupecoy Bay. If you do intend on exploring the island and you're staying more than a few days you'd probably want to have a car available.

The "beach" adjoining the property has a deck with a nice view from the Cupecoy cliffs, but is not really usable in a traditional beach sense.

The pool area is nice with easy access to the bar/restaurant. The bar and grill is small but fine, with good drink specials daily. The food is simple and solid bar fare.

On Wednesday nights the Jimmy Buffett/all you can eat rib night is hosted there. It is a very good deal food-wise given general food costs on the island, and the ribs compare favorably to restaurants I've been to on the island. A Jimmy Buffett concert video is projected on the screen for viewing.

Overall, this is a quiet low-keyed home base if that suits your lodging needs lodging on SXM. It did for us and we enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: Room 302 is a studio efficiency with a deck facing the ocean. It is also away from the street and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Not for the young at heart. Very old crowd. You need to hire a car as there is very little in walking distance. Supermarket at Porto Cupecoy (10 minute walk) and a selection of ludicrously overpriced mock pseudo Americanised French restaurants also at the marina. Ignore the nonsense over the murder, it wasn't a random tourist couple murdered, it was a business dispute and he culprits were caught. Security is rock solid, not that anything ever happens. The bar is good craic and the owner Ken adds a bit of youth to the proceedings. Avoid the bar on Wednesday evenings unless you like the atmosphere of sitting in the lounge of an old folks home watching week in, week out repeats of a Jimmy Buffet gig on Anguilla. Dreadful. Food good though, especially breakfast. Service very slow in afternoons as the barmaid also cooks, so she does her best, but can't be in two places at once. Glad we saw it for ourselves, but it'll be our first and last visit. Check the list of rules and fines out first. And found in room? Fined. Dishwasher not emptied on checkout? Fined. The list goes on. It's a very anti smoking hotel. None allowed in rooms or another fine.

Room Tip: 207 where we were was right on the road. Lot of noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank postcode70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Just came back from 2 weeks in St. Maarten. Our first week was at Ocean Club Villas. It was our first time at this location. Must admit that I was a bit nervous since we heard about the murder, but figured that security must have been improved as a result. And, we were correct! At night, there was a guard walking the premises with a german shepard. Gate closed, parking pass needed to get in.
Staff? VERY friendly! I had several questions before going down and Noreen at the front desk responded quickly and politely. When we met her in person, she and her other "staffmates" were very friendly. Petra and Rachel and Jason at the bar/grill were delightful. Petra went out of her way to accommodate us during happy hour and for meals. All were very pleasant and outgoing.
We had a two bedroom and had guests with us. Lots of room...bedrooms and baths were large and comfy. Both had new t.v.s as did the family room. Quiet week...not a very noisy crowd (which made us happy). Pool was nice. No real beach but small area to watch the sunsets while enjoying a cocktail. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celeste m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed two weeks at Ocean Club June 16-July 2, and we loved it. They have updated the furniture,flat screen TV, new deck furniture, new cabanas at the pool (old umbrellas are gone), painted everything. Bananas are growing in the garden. We've stayed here before and liked it, then. Even better now. The Club is very close to many beaches, Mullet Bay is our favorite, and the Crazy airport where we spent 5 or 6 hours watching the BIG planes land and take off about 2 inches above our heads and blow everyone into the bay. It is a KICK! There is a new "Gormet Marche" grocery and liquor market two minutes away at Cupecoy Center, very nice, had everything at reasonable prices! Ken's bar was open with Breakfast every morning, $8, and special BBQ nights that were the best. He plans to stay open most of the year now. This is a big plus!
I would say EXCELLENT, but you would not believe me and it is not first class fancy. Eco and family friendly, comfortable, very clean, great pool, short walk to Cupecoy Beach (small, great view) and over to "Dany's Beach Bar", a truck full of ice cold drinks and lunch on request.
I used the "Shop and Drop" service which was great. Didn't have to go shopping for groc for days and she put everything away in the kitchen for me. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We loved the efficiency apt at the pool. The two bedrooms were very nice too. Covered parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryTerye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONNECTICUT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just got back from The Ocean Club. Two weeks just wasn't enough to spend in St. Maarten. I was pleasantly surprised at some of the renovations. New mattresses was a big one! Flat screen tv with the same terrible channels available. But who watches that much tv when you have the beautiful weather!! As always, Ken was himself at the bar/restaurant. Great person!! Great food!! The beach was washed away one evening, so you can't walk along the rocks anymore. Still beautiful sunsets!! Just a relaxing place to be if you're looking for a quiet place without all the bells and whistles. Clean and comfortable. Can't wait to get back next year!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed a week with another couple, friends of some 30 years, in Villa #10.

The villa was fine. It wasn't the Four Seasons but it was clean and comfortable. The pool was clean but, like a few other spots here and there, needed a touch up. Nothing major but I'd be lying if I said it was up to typical American hotel standards. This is the norm of what I've found at other island, secondary, accommodations. No big deal but if you must have completely pristine details you will find things that "bug" you.

The location is great, however. We spent most of our time going around the island so having a great room was very secondary. While we were on the property, we had a porch right next to the the pool and we could walk ten steps and just jump in when we felt like it. The beach off the property is reached easily, down a set of stairs. It is pretty location, great at sunsets but it is similar to most of the beaches we visited on St. Maarten. They tend to be fairly steep and though the waves weren't huge you'd have to be pretty cautious with any child under 13 or so. For an adult, the beach is fine, you can wade out and float around very safely and comfortably. Yes, occasionally there are nude bathers on this stretch but it was rare to see many people at all around (in November at least). There's what looks like a golf course down the road.....fun for hackers I'm sure but I doubt any serious golfer would find it amusing or interesting (I believe its the only course on the island). Leave the sticks at home.

Oddly, the BEST part of staying here was the bar/cafe Ken runs. Ken is a "character" in the best sense of the word. His food was great, his prices were outstanding but his interaction with the guests was as much fun as anything else. He's "relaxed" to say the least but he does a great job. We'd have breakfast there and then explore the island. Sometimes we came back for dinner (a simple menu done well) but we almost always had a drink there and shared some great laughs with Ken and the other guests. I couldn't recommend Ken or his services higher.

In all, if you aren't the most discriminating type and you are just out to relax, see some of St. Maarten and hang out with friends, you could do a lot worse than stay at The Ocean Club. In fact if you are going with old friends who just want to relax, you couldn't find a better place.

Room Tip: The Villas seemed, by the guests, to be the better accomadations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jag36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
0.0 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
The Towers at Mullet Bay
The Towers at Mullet Bay
#1 of 1 in Mullet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Club

Property: The Ocean Club
Address: Lowlands 146 | Cupecoy Beach, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Ocean Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
The Ocean Club St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing