We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice resort to have a timeshare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Club
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice resort to have a timeshare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I became time share owners five years and have stayed at this resort for the past five years. The location is great and the staff tries their very best to accommodate their guests. We stay the last two weeks of February and look forward to seeing the many friends that we have made and those who meet up with us from home. The resort has a bar and restaurant that serves nice meals and offers specials on a daily basis. The resort is on the water and it has a very nice swimming pool surrounded by palm and banana trees. It's a great place to get away during the cold winter months of the northeast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EWS157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Using this as an exchange from Interval Int'l, a 1 bedroom request, we got the short end. The 3rd floor in the tower that smells of latex paint, the housekeeping is lacking (the remains of previous tenants abound). Instructions state we must pay for additional toilet paper....I have never seen this! Also, no hair dryers. Website doesn't say they're included, but really? Our room is tiny, but not bad. Blue Mall across the street. Down filled duvet too hot, air too cold....yikes. Hard to coordinate.
In summary; only pay for bargain lodgings. I'm 53 and the youngest here. Quick, easy access to Cupecoy Beach. Have low expectations. Staff are extremely pleasant. The Green Monkey, on site eatery, very nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ORRNROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cupecoy Bay hotels

Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We did not stay at the Ocean Club but dined a number of times at the restaurant associated with this establishment. Let's just say that on an island dotted with mostly expensive or over-priced eateries, it was good to come across a relaxed and pleasant establishment that provided good home cooked meals at very reasonable rates. Sue and Sal, the wonderful and congenial proprietors, have upped the ante from the previous owners with delicious specials on most nights of the week, as well as providing good breakfasts and lunches. You'd be hard pressed to find a decent breakfast (with coffee) in the area for less than $20 but at the Ocean Club Bar & Grill you can have the full egg/bacon/toast/coffee outlay for $8. Similarly, their pasta night (on Mondays, I think) and their rib night (Wednesdays) are delicious as well. The restaurant is airy and open and looks onto a lush courtyard that makes for a very pleasant experience. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IsaacBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Would have liked to give Ocean Club above average but average it is. There is certainly not a thing to complain about. Rooms are clean but a bit dated. Decor is average cheap. There is still a nice beach and the pool is clean and quiet. The on-site bar/restaurant is great and with the new market in Puerto Cupecoy it is a short walk for groceries. Plenty of parking. For our liking, the Ocean Club Apartments are a better bet as you can see the ocean from there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GAretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The resort was fantastic the rooms was great, the location was perfect. The rooms were well furnished and had all the necessary utensils and facilities. The availability of the washing machines and tumble dryers on each floor was great. However the resort is tired, the bedding is tired, the towels are tired, the outside is tired.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ptlpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A beautiful, quiet little place with a great little bar and grill poolside. Wonderful views, nice friendly staff with easy access to Maho or St Martin. Good value for money and definitely a nice place for a relaxing visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a ground floor unit.....the spiral staircase to the upper levels is narrow and a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visted this resort about 10-11 years ago and then again last week. The first time we went the place was very fresh. Lots of activities going on. Helpful people at every turn. This time it was very drab. The units are run down and very bare bones on essentials. The bar/restaurant were empty, when they were even open. The drinks and food very expensive unless you visit during the 5-630pm happy hour they have. The room tax of 50.00 was expected but on top of that we had a 90.00 electric fee as well. Don't mind because I know it is expensive but then they ask you to turn the air off when you are gone on top of that. It took about 3 hours for the air unit to even cool the room down when we got there initially. The resort info left on the coffee table was page after page of threatening extra charges for sand in the room, missing towels etc.. I know that can cause additional costs to the resort but it was a bit much. Sorry that our return trip was not as good as the first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emptynester103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
0.0 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Club

Property: The Ocean Club
Address: Lowlands 146 | Cupecoy Beach, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Ocean Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
The Ocean Club St. Maarten-St. Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing