We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Italian on the island!”

Basilico International
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We have re-introduced a full menu for the high season. We offer pizzas from wood fired brick oven prepared by pizzaiolo from Italy, variety of pastas, salads, antipasti, soups, fresh fish and meat Italian dishes created and prepared by our Italian chefs. Please come and enjoy an evening and our delicious real Italian food!
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Italian on the island!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We came across this place, when we visited the sports lounge opposite and decided to give it a try the following day. Although i have no Italian roots, being from NYC i know good Italian food when i taste it! This place is great! They were busy, but Alex -the manager- still manged to find us a great table outside! We shared the the buffalo mozzarella for starter, then my wife took the risotto with scallops and asparagus while i took their signature beef fillet (it has goat cheese, bacon, onions, and sweet chili sauce on it). For dessert we had white chocolate mousse and tiramisu, which come in a small jar. Nice touch!
Everything was really tasty, decent portions. The service was polite and accurate and we were even offered shots of limoncello at the end of our dinner.
Unfortunately it was our last night, but would definitely be back on our next trip!
Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    35
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I dined at Basilico on perhaps one of the rainiest evenings in SXM ever!! My husband had filet mignon which was well cooked. We also shared one of the best Caesar salads ever!! I had a veal dish, which was somewhat mushy, but the sauce was good. We ordered bruschetta, which I did not care for. Dessert was tiramisu served in a canning jar, which was strange. It was good but nothing special. Perhaps being from NJ where there is an Italian restaurant on every corner makes me a bit of a perfectionist but I would try this restaurant again!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real home cooked italian meals at it's best.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Basilico international is not just your regular Italian restaurant, eating there makes you feel like you're eating in Italy. This is the place to eat the real deal. The food reminded me of my nonna's cooking and that is tough to replicate. If your in the mood for Italian cuisine don't waste your time and go straight to basilico's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Place, best food on island”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled into this place and it truly was the best food we had on the island. The pasta was homemade and the steak was better than some of the best Argentinian steak houses.

Helpful?
1 Thank JnBcpl4cpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great Fresh Food, good value, great staff, with an excellent wine list - what more can you ask for..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 360Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilico International also viewed

Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Basilico International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing