We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Beautiful, what a great place to vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach
Reviewed 30 January 2011

What a great place to vacation. I was looking for a relaxing vacation for my immediate family and some extended family members. I hit the jackpot staying at the Royal Penthouse in The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach. We all had such a great experience. The Royal Penthouse was absolutely beautiful with fantastic views and spacious accommodations. We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony every morning and cocktails every evening watching the sunset. There are fantastic restaurants and a casino located just across the street, so there is no need to labor in the kitchen. You can enjoy the spa, do laps in the lap pool, enjoy the outdoor pool or spend time on a beach that feels like you're in your back yard.
The Cliff is located just 10 minutes from the airport which makes it so convenient. The complex is beautifully manicured and maintained. The security for the building gives you great peace of mind. The staff is very friendly and accommodating to anything you might need.
This was a vacation that will always be remembered as unbelievable and I have plenty of beautiful pictures to prove it. When I go back to St. Maarten there is no question where I will be staying, The Royal Penthouse at The Cliff, it does not get any better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larrylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I have seen lots of beautiful spots, but this one was our FAVORITE!!! We loved EVERYTHING about the Cliff. Our unit was extremely spacious and just as pictured! It was luxurious to say the least; huge and private. The views and property are STUNNING!!!! Extremely private and secluded, but also enough people around that if you wanted to socialize you could (but...no one's gonna bug you). We ate at the Cafe inside the cliff on several occasions and loved every item that we tasted! The Mahi Mahi is caught locally, and I had the red snapper, we had several salads, the Kobe was to DIE for, and the list goes on and on... Gabby, the concierge was very helpful to us and arranged for us to take an amazing Day Sail with "Lambada" where we visited a deserted island called Prickly Pear to snorkle and Anguilla, and lunch and unlimited drinks were provided! It was a BLAST! Nadia the Cliff security at the desk was also extremely friendly and helpful for anything we needed. My visit to the dior spa was splendid, and the list goes on and on.... The two pools are incredible and the places to sun and sand are not to be beat! We loved our LUXURY vacation! The water was amazing. The sunsets, the stars, ahhhh.

AND the location of the Cliff is PERFECT!!! SO many choices of things to do, lots of places you can explore on foot, and many others with a short taxi ride. Also this area is currently being developed so we expect the opportunities to continue to grow.

We SIMPLY can not WAIT for our next visit to the Cliff!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelyandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We traveled to St. Maarten with another couple and spent 8 days at The Cliff at Cupecoy. It is a lovely property. We stayed in a very spacious two bedroom, two and a half bath condominium. It was nicely furnished -- albeit the sofa was a bit worn. The air conditioning wasn't working properly when we arrived and for several days in part of the unit. Maintenance was slow to fix it. The shower in the second bedroom where we stayed was pretty "whimpy" and the water wasn't hot enough. We had problems in the kitchen with the coffee maker and toaster. The newspaper wasn't delivered every day as promised. The dryer vent had detached from the outlet used to vent heat and humidity and we had to report it. That said, the view from the balcony was wonderful. It was great sitting out there in the morning, drinking coffee, and watching the waves roll in. It was very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the beach just down the stairs. The Dior Spa was out of this world -- the best services ever! The food in the cafe was enjoyable -- great service and view. Security was excellent. Gabby, the concierege, was helpful and worked with us to plan a snorkling day trip. All in all, very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyC5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

CONS: We stayed in the penthouse and the first thing I must pention is that my friends were VERY bothered by the mold in the air units. We were aware of this since he works for an air handling company. They also had the windows closed up and air on the entire time in their bedroom and we had ours open (we are from FL and like the fresh air). So if you need to have air I do not recommend this unit. Not enough cooking supplies, 2 towels per bathroom per stay, no soap, no shampoo, no laundry soap, no hair dryers and basically just poorly appointed. Small to no beach depending on the waves. Since it was very wavy when we were there the last day was the only day to use the beach. Pool large but not heated outside. VEY unconfortable bed, and 2 for $5 pillows. I always travel with one blanket and two pillows so not a problem for us. The water in the shower would stop working while you were in the shower.

Pros: two hot tubs on the first floor, EXCELLENT view and lounge chairs on the HUGE patio. Very nice French guy showed us to our unit. Great fitness center

We will stay back at princess heights next time. Less expensive with no mold. The people were nice but it did not make up for the other issues we had.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wn987554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed at The Cliff on St Maarten for 4 nights prior to spending a week on St Kitts. It made the St Kitts week much more relaxing since we didn’t have to fly all day to get there. The Cliff is a very private (gated parking) condo and is right on Cupecoy Bay. The unit we rented was 2 bedrooms and 2 ½ bathes. The extra ½ bath was really nice to have. The kitchen was well equipped with up-to-date appliances. The beds were comfortable. The only thing that we didn’t like was that it was dark in the living and dining area. In fact, I’m not sure how well you could see your food if you ate at the dining room table. But then, you eat most meals out. The spacious porch had a fantastic view that overlooked the outdoor pool, the beach and the island of Saba. You also have a view of the planes approaching the airport in Phillipsburg. The beach at the Cliff is very narrow and you can’t get to it at high tide. The grounds are small, but beautifully manicured. There are tennis courts, an indoor lap pool and a nicely equipped workout room. The Cliff is about a 10 minute drive from the airport and within walking distance to the Atlantis Casino and several restaurants. We rented a car, because the island we wanted to do a lot of looking around the island during our visit.
One night we had sunset drinks on the beach at Calmos and ate dinner at the LoLos in Grand Case. One afternoon, our friends went sailing on a 12-meter yacht while we strolled the boardwalk and had a wonderful lunch at one of the oldest hotels on St. Maarten, The Pasanggrahan Royal Guest House. We ate bell pepper stuffed with chicken salad and a tomato stuffed with tuna salad, both presented on a bed of lettuce pepper rings and other greenery. The food service and ambience were wonderful, in spite of two cruise ships being in town. Most of our other meals were prepared in the condo or caught on the run.
Gabby, the Cliff's concierge had good suggestions on where to go to eat, sightsee and shop. One of the fun and really touristy things to do on St Maarten is to go to the Sunset Beach Bar at the end of the runway at Princess Juliana airport for a close-up view of the planes landing and taking off. It is awesome!
The Cliff is definitely worth staying at again, especially since Princess Juliana airport is so easy to get to from the States and provides a nice stopover to the other islands, making the trip easier on you. We rented it through VRBO.com.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PapaJerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My husband and I have been coming to St. Martin for the past nine years, usually renting villas for the season. We fell in love with The Cliff two years ago when we started renting a two bedroom 2 1/2 bath apartment through The Cliff's Vacation Rental Office (www.cliffsxm.com) for those who want to check it out. As art lovers, we initially came to The Cliff to see a particular artist's works that were hanging in the lobby. A "WOW!!!!!!" panorama greeted us. We casually inquired about an apartment, never thinking we would want to stay in a high rise building, as opposed to a villa. A trip up one of the elevators opening to only two apartments on each floor - no long corridors and the privacy of a single family home - changed our minds. Beautiful apartments, indoor and outdoor pools, a great gym (big feature for me), sauna and steam rooms, a Dior spa, its own narrow but incredibly clean and beautiful quiet beach sealed the deal.

The staff here is fabulous. Even a minor question or issue brings them running to help. Security is excellent. My husband travels and I am alone sometimes. I never worry and wouldn't hesitate to come by myself when he is away. The icing on the cake is the location on the Dutch / French line. A left out of the building easily gets you to the French side of the island avoiding traffic back-ups in Simpson Bay. We worked with Cherise Bowman ([--]) to rent our apartment.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlwaysaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Our stay was from Feb. 21, 2009 through Feb. 28, 2009. This is quite possibly the nicest place we have ever vacationed in the Caribbean or anywhere! Clean, secure, gorgeous views, great location. We rented the condo through VRBO.com (#140098). I honestly cannot think of anything but praise for this property. My wife and the other couple who traveled with us would agree 100%.
Regarding St. Maarten/St. Martin in general, you definitely need to rent a car to see the sights. That said, the roads are horrible. Watch out for speed bumps; some of them are poorly marked. Motorcycle riders have a death wish, weaving in and out of traffic. You really have to be an attentive driver here.
Scuba diving is below average here, so I can't recommend it. However, we all would recommend a catamaran ride on the "Scoobi Too" to the small island of Prickly Pear. It's a day-long trip that is a bit spendy, but worth it. Open bar for the 1.5 hour trip out there, and the 1.5 hour trip back. Once you get to Prickly Pear you have an opportunity to snorkel. Not much to see snorkeling. They serve you a very good lunch while you're there. The beach there is nice.
As for restaurants, by far the most memorable restaurant was right across the street from The Cliff in the Atlantis World Casino. The name of the restaurant was "T-Bone Steakhouse". Although they call themselves a steakhouse they offer seafood, chicken, and other things. Beef is likely the most expensive food on the island. Rather than go into detail, I can tell you that this place is incredible. Food is delicious, presentation is fantastic, and service was top notch. It's sad to say that since the world economy has been in a downturn it has affected business at places like this. We were the only four customers there. Olivier is the gentleman who served us that evening. He and the staff were absolutely amazing.
I could go on and on, but you get the idea. The Cliff was first class all the way, as was most of the rest of our vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DLandDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
1.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
321 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
#2 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach

Address: Rhine 84, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: £265 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a Caribbean beach on St Maarten, the Cliff at Cupecoy Beach has luxury condominium suites with ocean views, full amenities and privacy and features the first Full-Service Christian Dior® Health Spa. A much better alternative to a St. Maarten Hotel room, it's like renting your own St. Maarten vacation villa on the beach, but with total security. Each vacation rental condo is elegantly and comfortably furnished for a great Caribbean Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff At Cupecoy Beach Hotel Cupecoy Bay
The Cliff At Cupecoy Beach St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing