We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine at its Best Again!!!”
Review of Rainbow Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Beach Club
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have been visiting St. Maarten for every year now for 6 years and this is the second time that we have stayed at Rainbow Beach Club. It is a perfect location for a family to stay because of proximity to the Airport, great restaurants, beautiful beaches, incredible shopping, and the French Side.
Rainbow Beach Club is gated with security which we really appreciate and is extremely easy to get in and out of. The staff is kind with great knowledge of things to do around town and can help getting a taxi service for you if needed, even though we do recommend renting a vehicle as the island is gorgeous and well worth just taking a ride around as much as possible.
The condo that we stayed in was breathtaking. From the moment you get up in the morning until the moment you go to bed, you have a wonderful ocean view with a nice breeze coming in off the water, and abundant sunshine. It is clean and furnished perfectly, with everything you need to cook meals, which helps when you have two little kids.
Outside the grounds are kept very well and the two pools are perfect, not to mention you are swimming on basically a cliff overlooking the ocean!!
If you are looking for a great place to stay as a family or as a couple, this place is awesome. we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We always choose to take the ocean front.....it is well worth it, with the beautiful unobstructed vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowCupecoy, Owner at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay again. Hope to see you again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rainbow Beach Club in April 2012 with friends whose family owns a condominium. The Club met all of our needs and was a quiet and peaceful place to stay during our trip to Sint Maarten.

The Club is located within minutes of the airport and many restaurants and shops. It is a short drive to Baie Rouge and Marigot by car and under an hour to Philipsburg.

The Club itself is located right on the ocean and has its own private beach [and cave] with a spiral staircase leading down to it. Yes, two of the small pools were not filled during our stay, but the main pool was always in perfect condition, and we were never in the position to share it with other guests. The grounds were clean and beautifully decorated with flowers, and the views of the sunset by the beach and pool were stunning each evening.

The Club was gated and guarded by 24 hour security, so we had no safety concerns. Parking was free. I would have liked to have access to wifi, but plenty of places offered it in town.

Overall, it was the perfect home base to explore the island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank you for writing your review. All three pools are now filled. All the units here are privately owned, so some come with internet and/or cable and some don't. This would be something you could check on prior to your next visit. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to the island soon...thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We rented a penthouse unit in the third week of March. At no time before arrival were we informed of the supposed fued going on between owners and the managament company.Upon arrival the alledged owner informed us of this fued while pointing out the two closed pools.We were than taken to our unit, where followed a ridiculously long list of do`s and don`ts. Kitchen was nice,bedrooms leave a little to be desired. One TV in the whole place.Views were great from the roof balcony, but the furniture was rusty, the hot tub has seen better days, the cover was falling apart and you had to throw the electrical main everytime you wanted to use it. Our second day there the air conditioning broke down, We spent a day and a half in 85 degree temperatures. The owner- manager did have it fixed.Fortunately we had a great bunch of people and laughed it off as another adventure. But at no time were we offered any type of compensation for any of the resorts failings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay. As in your case, 2 pools closed, AC breaking down, not pleased with the furnishings. We had a very unusual circumstance at Rainbow Beach Club, in that the developer wrote the condo documents in such a way that he voted himself in as the manager for life. You can imagine the conflict that this would create.

In the last several months, subsequently, the homeowners association went to court to have the right to hire a management company of their choice; of which the HOA won a decisive victory. In the beginning of the transition, there was a great deal of conflict. The owners had no advance notice of what was going to take place by the previous manager/developer; which included the emptying of the 2 pools.

Since the late fall of 2012 the new management company has had gained complete control of the facility, including pool maintenance, security, trash removal, landscaping, etc. You can see by recent reviews that the issues prior to that time frame have been completely resolved. The new management company has done nothing short of a fantastic job in bringing Rainbow Beach Club back to it’s full potential.

When securing a rental property, make sure you ask for as many pictures as possible and lists all contents (bed sizes, number of TV’s, VCR’s, docking stations, etc.) & amenities. The condos here are privately owned so these items will vary from unit to unit.
The owner should have offered some sort of compensation for your troubles.

We hope you will reconsider Rainbow Beach Club when visiting St. Maarten in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We are staying at Rainbow Beach Club for one week. One week before leaving I received and email from the owner of the condo who told me that the pools had been drained. Apparently there is a fued between the owners and the management company. The owner of the condo provided references and suggestions for other places. After talking with my travel partners, we opted for a discount on the unit (offered from the owner) because we were already in '"vacation mode" and didn't want the stress of finding another place. I asked the owner if, aside from the pool, we would face other hostilities. We were assured that was the only issue. We were given all the documents and instructions for the condo before we left. The owner stressed that we should say we are GUESTS OF xxxxx.-do not say we are renting. This made me a little suspicious as we were ensured there would be no hositility from the management. We checked in Saturday. I did as the owner instructed me and said that we were guests of his. Obviously this is a red flag for the rental company that is on the property. I stood for 30 minutes while the guy at the desk told me he had no reservation for us. He flipped through the same papers for 20 minutes only to keep telling me that he had nothing. Then he suggested that I call the owner. i said, "No, you call the owner." He said he doesn't have a phone?? Then he asked another guy that worked there if he had anything. So he flipped though another set of papers about ten times. He was not letting us in and he had no intentions of resolving it. Finally I blurted out that we had paid and we wanted in. Suddenly, he pulls out a piece of paper for me to fill out. I am still trying to protect the owner so, I didn't fill in the amount paid. This guy points to the ''amount paid'' question and tells me to fill it in. I told him that we were guests. He proceeds to start yelling at me berating me that I had told him I'd paid and that I have to fill it in. I was in complete shock. I was being abused because of an issue between and onsite rental company and condo owners. I just threw in a number and he opened the gate. He didn't care about security or rules or reservations. All he wanted to know is how much we had been charged to rent. The only was to describe it was verbal abuse. He was horrible and completely ruined the beginning of our vacation. We didn't trust staying here and didn't trust how we would be treated each time we left the complex-you need to pass the front desk each time you can and go for the gate to open. We will NEVER stay at Rainbow Beach Club again. It is a disaster. You are on your own if you rent here. The elevators and the building look so run down because no-one is taking care of it. The pools are empty, they have stopped taking care of the lawns/gardens, and the front '"concierge"' is run by an angry guy that abused guests. We ran into a very helpful young girl that told us basically everyone had left the complex because the situation was just too frustrating for them. Too bad for the owners but, no reason for guests to be abused. I believe the owner of the condo stayed at knew this and chose to put his guests in the middle of this dispute rather than be up front and honest about it. Good Luck to anyone that stays here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay. As in your case, difficulty getting onto the property, rude guards, not happy with the property. We had a very unusual circumstance at Rainbow Beach Club, in that the developer wrote the condo documents in such a way that he voted himself in as the manager for life. You can imagine the conflict that this would create. And yes, at the time, he was not letting owners rent on their own.

In the last several months, subsequently, the homeowners association went to court to have the right to hire a management company of their choice and rent their condos on their own without paying the developer a 25% fee; of which the HOA won a decisive victory. In the beginning of the transition, there was a great deal of conflict. The owners had no advance notice of what was going to take place by the previous manager/developer; which included the emptying of pools, lack of maintenance & landscaping.

Since the late fall of 2012 the new management company has had gained complete control of the facility, including pool maintenance, security, trash removal, upkeep of grounds/landscaping, etc. You can see by recent reviews that the issues prior to that time frame have been completely resolved. The new management company has done nothing short of a fantastic job in bringing Rainbow Beach Club back to it’s full potential.

Again, we’re sorry you had to deal with such problems during your vacation and hope you will reconsider Rainbow Beach Club when visiting St. Maarten in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Lights in the hallways and elevator were turned off for 3 days. Very unsafe and dark. Apparently the owners and the management are at war, not my fault, I rented this condo in good faith and was treated badly. Was advertised as a full kitchen with 3 pans in it. Yes it's a full kitchen but you can't cook in it. Received a ridiculously small compensation for being treated badly by the owner, will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Piddlebutt107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay. As in your case, lights off in the hallways, elevator turned off, kitchen not equipped. We had a very unusual circumstance at Rainbow Beach Club, in that the developer wrote the condo documents in such a way that he voted himself in as the manager for life. You can imagine the conflict that this would create.

In the last several months, subsequently, the homeowners association went to court to have the right to hire a management company of their choice; of which the HOA won a decisive victory. In the beginning of the transition, there was a great deal of conflict. The owners had no advance notice of what was going to take place by the previous manager/developer; which included the turning off of lights in hallways and turning off elevators.

Since the late fall of 2012 the new management company has had gained complete control of the facility, including pool maintenance, hallway lighting, elevators, security, trash removal, upkeep of grounds, etc. You can see by recent reviews that the issues prior to that time frame have been completely resolved. The new management company has done nothing short of a fantastic job in bringing Rainbow Beach Club back to it’s full potential.

There are several beautiful rental units here at Rainbow; all privately owned. What is provided within the unit will vary from condo to condo and should be spelled out on their rental listing. We hope you will reconsider Rainbow Beach Club when visiting St. Maarten in the future. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Where else on St Maarten can you get a greater deal then this? I stayed at this hotel on a business trip (August 2009) with two other persons. We got an amazing deal for the 5 days we had there. We had a 2 bedroom accommodation near to the pool nearer to the beach. The furnishing were all state of the art: granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, soft comfy beds, lots of closet space, clean environment and peace and quiet. Free and secure parking and 24 hour security. Paradise!!!!
Strategically located near to a small grocery/deli on the other side of the street, breakfast and lunch can be had at a price that wont break your pockets. Had a really great time. For the "romantics" there is a small cave on the beach below. A great value for the price.
PS: When you see the advertised prices, you may think you cant afford, but call the place and you will be surprised at the deals you will get, especially in the off season. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay...hope you can come back and visit again. The condos here at Rainbow are privately owned (it is not a hotel) and there are many beautiful units available for rent at very reasonable rates; some are listed on VRBO.com . Thank you for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Excellent two bedroom and beautiful grounds. Near all-good restaurants, casino, beach. Spiral staircase down to beach is a long climb,but the pools are great. Security at the front gate can be tough , but they are there 24/7. The kitchen was clean and well equiped, stainless and granite. Will return next year

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1bobsolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay. The spiral staircase is a little long but it worth it once you get down to the private beach and crystal clear water. Have you been back since your last visit? There are many beautiful oceanfront condos available for rent by owners; some on VRBO. Hope you make it back soon and thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
7.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
#2 of 2 in Cupecoy Bay
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach
The Cliff at Cupecoy Beach
#1 of 4 in Cupecoy Bay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Beach Club

Address: Lot #149 | Dutch Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: £113 - £831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World Class Rainbow Beach Club Resort is a bold achievement in architectural design. Built on a massive coral incline directly above its secluded beaches. This resort presents spectacular oceanfront residential accommodations with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea complimented by towering mountains, salt water lagoons, and lush, tropical foliage known only to St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Rainbow Beach Hotel
Rainbow Beach Club St Martin / St Maarten/Cupecoy Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing