We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton Gifford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honeysuckle Cottage
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Having read previous reviews, we were expecting a high quality experience - and we were not to be disappointed!

From the moment we arrived, Due & Darius made us feel especially welcome. Nothing was too much trouble from the welcoming pot of tea and recommendation of a taxi company to that superb breakfast. They showed a genuine interest in our reason for this visit (attending an evening wedding reception at Beechfield House at Beanacre). Our bedroom was comfortable with a shower room across the landing whilst our daughter enjoyed a larger bedroom with an en suite. To summarise, this 'faultless' B & B is thoroughly recommended!

For lunch, we went to the Pear Tree at nearby Whitley, one of the Marco Pierre White chain - their £15 offer for 2 courses was good value, albeit because we only arrived a 2.30, their service proved a little slow.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you Michael P for your generous comments. Sue and I are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage and it was a real delight to have you as our guests. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Honeysuckle Cottage for a two night break in September 2012 and it was just like home from home.
Sue and Darius made us so welcome with a nice pot of tea and a piece of cake.
We had the twin room with the separate sitting/bedroom and an awesome power shower.
Breakfast was first rate and evening meals were just a short walk across the Common to the Bell pub.
Thank you for a great short break, we will be back. Ian & Lis

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you very much to you both for your very kind comments. Sue and I are always pleased that our guests are comfortable and feel at home at our cottage, this is what we are about. We hope to see you again and perhaps the geraniums will be better next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I should have done this before now & I apologise to Sue & Darius for not doing so. My husband & myself had 4 blissful nights in the week of the September heatwave 2011. All that can be said about the hosts,accomodation,food, that everything is perfect. We had the twin room with a sitting room /bedroom next door & a wonderful shower .we wished we had booked longer but couldn't stay on as they were fully booked.We felt we had known them for years as we had such a warm welcome. There are many personal touches to the rooms & Sue's Mum's craft work was amazing. The view across the common was just peacefull & we enjoyed the evening walk to & fro the pub,where we had some excellent meals. It is a really interesting area to explore & the cottage is an excellent base. We are hoping to go again in September. We have stayed in many bed&breakfasts around England & Scotland but this has to be top of the list in every way. Best wishes to you both. Sue&Tony Barlow. Brixham.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
What a lovely review, thank you both for your very kind and generous comments. Sue and I remember your visit and didn't we have a lot of laughs. We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again. Sue's Mum will be well chuffed about your comment on her craft work! Take care. Sue & Darius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and left wishing we'd had time to stay longer. The house exudes old world charm without being fussy; clean and comfortable rooms; spotless bathroom facilities; excellent and plentiful breakfasts; and Sue and Darius are welcoming and helpful hosts. We are now considering excuses for making a future booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you John_L for you kind comments and we are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. It is always a delight to welcome guests like yourselves and do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in this B & B as we liked it so much when we stayed here last year. This is a small B & B with 2 rooms in an extremely peaceful setting on a private road bordering a large common. Everything was just as good as we had remembered. Sue and Darius are delightful hosts. The breakfasts are very good with fresh fruit and orange juice and cooked breakfasts to order. Everything is spotless. Although a bit off the beaten track you are not far from NT properties such as Avebury,Laycock or Dyrham Park and the towns of Bath and Bradford on Avon are also close by. Honeysuckle Cottage is very reasonably priced and is by far the best B and B we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both available rooms and were happy with each of them. If you want maximum privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnergeticSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you to you both for your lovely reviews and it was our pleasure to welcome you again to Honeysuckle Cottage. We are so pleased you had a good time and we are sorry we failed to organise some good weather for you!! It is always great to hear that we are doing it right and thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed at Sue and Darius lovely B and B for a family wedding in April, comfortable bed, yummy breakfast and lovely hosts, you will not find better than this, do not pass this one by. My brother is the local vicar, so will be visiting this B and B for sure...Sue and Darius, I look forward to your hospitality again soon. Best wishes, Giles and Toni Harry

Room Tip: Erm, nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Hello Giles and Toni. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I stayed at Honeysuckle cottage for 3 nights at the end of November 2011 with my 2 youngest children.

Sue and Darius were amazingly kind, generous and friendly, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The breakfasts were out of this world, the rooms were delightful and comfortable, and The Swan pub on the common is a great place to relax with a beer. Monday night is quiz night, and not to be missed! : )

I may well have to return to the area several times during 2012, and will try to make sure that there's space for me at Honeysuckle cottage. Thank you so much for helping to make our visit to the UK a wonderful experience.

John Lewis

Room Tip: They're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnybeegoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 25 December 2011
Thank you Johann it was a pleasure having you and your lovely children at our home. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Honeysuckle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Cottage

Property: Honeysuckle Cottage
Address: 95 The Common, Broughton Gifford, Melksham SN12 8ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Broughton Gifford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton Gifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Cottage Home built in the 18th Century offering B&B accommodation in pastoral surroundings near Bradford-on-Avon and 10 miles from Bath. Twin and Double rooms offered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing