We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home yet again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton Gifford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honeysuckle Cottage
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from Home yet again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I have just had another couple of excellent days at Honeysuckle Cottage.
Sue and Darius were yet again very welcoming and made us feel at home.
This is the third time we have stayed with them and certainly will not be the last.
Thanks to Sue for the excellent breakfasts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but we stayed in the flat for the first time and found this excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you Ian for the wonderful review and of course we are always delighted to welcome you both to our home. We are particularly delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the flat. This certainly gives added privacy and space. Sue and I stayed in it for a few weeks when our bedroom was being renovated and loved it! The geraniums are beginning to bud and hopefully we will have a display like the picture above! Take care, Sue and Darius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mörfelden-Walldorf, Deutschland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Wonderful, cosy B&B, in a very old cottage, of course modernised, and the nicest hosts you could ever imagine! We enjoyed every single minute of our three days stay and would like to recommend the house to any other guest. Very good breakfast, as well as afternoon-tea after the day-trips we did. Wonderful rooms, clean and well equipped shower-room (we stayed in twin-room, and we had a second room for our own use as a lounge, plus the shower-room, which was across the small corridor, but exclusively to be used by us, so it's kind of an en-suite).
Ir's not easy to find, though, in particular with a foreign GPS-system... but we finally managed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSchneiderCoutandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for the lovely accolade. We are so pleased you found us (with a little difficulty) and enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. We were delighted to meet you both and found your trip in England fascinating with all the adventures you undertook especially the Jane Austen costume. Really enjoying your photographs on Facebook. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was simply the best B & B experience we have encountered. Previous reviews say it all and all I can add is that the high standards continue to be maintained.The highlights for me was the hospitality shown by Sue and Darius, the quiet location and a wonderful breakfast, which included local produce and lovely home made jams.Thank you Sue and Darius, we will return !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lespaul100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you to you both for such a great accolade. We were delighted that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. We do hope it all went well with your last day in Bath. Look forward to seeing you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My daughter and I recently had 4 nights at Honeysuckle and left feeling more like friends than paying guests. Sue and Darius were so helpful and friendly, the old cottage is charming and our room was cozy and comfortable. A short stroll over The Common leads to the local pub, The Bell, with good food and a chance to mix with the locals. While the village is quiet, there are many lovely walks across the fields to various points of interest, Bath is a 20 minute drive and locations such as Stone Henge, Bradford on Avon and Trevizes are easily accessible by car. Honeysuckle is highly recommended as a base for exploring this part of England.

Room Tip: We had the twin upstairs overlooking The Common with its own sitting room, very pleasant, however I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and it was a delight to have you and your daughter stay with us at Honeysuckle Cottage. We are pleased that you got home safely and hope the rest of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at Honeysuckle Cottage. What wonderful hospitality! We stayed in the double room which was very roomy and clean, with a awesome power shower, and with great views of the common, and had a lovely comfy bed. The breakfast was superb, and Sue catered very well for my gluten-free diet, even down to tea and cakes in the garden in the afternoons. We needed to set off back home early to get our daughter to an hospital appointment, and here again Sue and Darius were there to make sure we had an early breakfast and could be on our way.
Lovely bed and breakfast, lovely people, and we shall certainly stay there again if we are down that area again.
Linda and Mike Carter, Sheffield

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
What a lovely review, thank you very much Linda and Mike. Sue and I do hope all went well when you returned home. We do hope to see you again and pleased you were comfortable and relaxed at Honeysuckle Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I think Sue & Darius had best sit down before they read this a it is long overdue. !!!!!! Better late etc etc.
We had another wonderful stay at Honeysuckle toward the end of last year.
Sue & Darius are the perfect hosts & it is with out a doubt the best B&B out of many we have stayed at over yhe years & are hoping to stay again later this year.
We like the twin room as the siiting room is a bonus & so useful as I use it as my dressing room. !!!! The view over the common from both rooms is lovely on a bright morning.
Sue's breakfasts are delicious & any combination is available. We love the fresh fruit.
Thank you both once again.
Hope to see you soon.
(I have had to say we stayed in July but it was September & that wasn't an option in the drop down.) I have taken long enough as it is. !!

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Best wishes.
Sue & Tony Barlow.

Room Tip: I am sure both rooms are perfect. Couldn't be a quieter location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
What a lovely review, thank you very much Sue. I wish there was a way for us to return the compliment by giving our guests an accolade and if there was, you and Tony would get 5 stars every time. It is a delight having you stay with us and it always is very pleasing that our guests feel welcome and are comfortable. We look forward to seeing you both again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I have just spent another excellent two days at Honeysuckle cottage prior to visiting our Grandson in Taunton.
We were made very welcome yet again and took full advantage of the excellent breakfasts cooked by Sue.
Also enjoyed our evening meals and a pint in the 'Bell on the Common'.
By the way Darius, we managed to get a couple of dark red trailing geraniums from the Garden Centre on our way to Taunton.
Thank you once again for a lovely two days.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusMehta, Owner at Honeysuckle Cottage, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you Ian P for your generous review. Sue and I were delighted to see you again and so please that you were comfortable and enjoyed Sue's breakfast. One day I might get a treat!! So pleased you found the garden centre my plants look very strong and just need the sun to bring the flowers out. Thank you for the geranium cutting and I am really looking forward to seeing the bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Honeysuckle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Cottage

Property: Honeysuckle Cottage
Address: 95 The Common, Broughton Gifford, Melksham SN12 8ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Broughton Gifford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton Gifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Cottage Home built in the 18th Century offering B&B accommodation in pastoral surroundings near Bradford-on-Avon and 10 miles from Bath. Twin and Double rooms offered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing