We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely country escape”
other travellers have booked this property
The stylish living area has plenty of comfortable furnishings, a wood burning stove & exposed beams.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stylish living area has plenty of comfortable furnishings, a wood burning stove & exposed beams.
The Reading Room boasts a separate dining area. A wood burning stove to warm those winter nights.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The stylish living area has plenty of comfortable furnishings, a wood burning stove & exposed beams.
The Reading Room boasts a separate dining area.
A wood burning stove to warm those winter nights.
Galley style kitchen with granite work surfaces and all the mod cons
Washing m/c, tumble dryer, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, cooker, toaster, microwave & coffee m/c.
The bedroom is on a mezzanine level and features a King size Hypnos bed with Eygptian cotton linen.
The bathroom is finished in natural stone and has Molton Brown hand wash, hand cream and shower gel.
The bathroom features a natural stone sink and has complimentary Molton Brown hand wash and cream.
A selection of 6 loose leaf teas for you to try during your stay along with Lavazza coffee.
Plenty of reading material
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broughton Gifford, Melksham, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fi K
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely country escape”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had such a lovely weekend in this beautiful cottage. Equipped with everything we needed for cosy nights in, the pub down the road was also the perfect place for a relaxing dinner on Saturday night and a welcome rugby watching spot on the Sunday. The cottage is really well laid out and we were welcomed with local eggs, milk, bread, sausages, bacon and a host of other goodies in the cupboards. It was a wet and windy weekend but we felt so relaxed - close to Bath for the spa and lots of nice walks nearby. Jodanna and Alex were great hosts and couldn't have done more for us - thank you for looking after us! We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bacon! Amazing!
Liked least: The coffee machine was on the blink, but Alex kindly offered us the perfectly made coffees in his pub!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Broughts1...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury to which we will undoubtedly return.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I were venturing down to Somerset over this weekend to celebrate my father's 70th birthday and wanted somewhere on the way to stop for a night. We had frequented The Fox (the pub which owns The Reading Room) once before for a Sunday lunch, which was quite simply one of the best we had ever had, and so when we found out they now had a place to stay as well then we jumped at the opportunity to go.

Arriving in the afternoon we popped into the pub to pick up the key and were met by the incredibly helpful and friendly general manager, Paul. He jumped up and offered to show us directly to the place, apologising all along for the busy state of the pub - there was a village Olympics going on apparently - but as far as we were concerned it was great to see the pub being busy and everyone from the village enjoying the atmosphere.

The Reading Room was only about 100 yards down the road standing alone like the small chapel that it was previously was. Paul opened the door to us as we parked the car and on walking in our breath was taken away. The old chapel had been beautifully and tastefully renovated into a one-bedroom self-catering haven; a well-equipped ally kitchen led out to a small decking area; while the enormous high space of the entrance lounge welcomed you into its bosom with beautiful furnishings and a stunning floor to ceiling stainless steel chimney for the lovely corner wood burner.

Going up the small winding stairs leads you to a beautiful mezzanine bedroom that looks out across the atrium space to an ornate light fitting that appears to have been specifically made for the room and it suits perfectly its surroundings. The bathroom is as well presented as the rest of the building with a lovely walk-in shower and bath products provided.

In the kitchen they had provided milk, orange juice, locally produced sausages and bacon and a beautiful loaf of Thoughtful Bread Company loaf of bread that was superb. Fresh eggs from The Fox's smallholding were also provided along with six different loose leaf teas, coffee pods and cafetiere coffee, breakfast cereals and all sorts of accompaniments. Everything you could want for a self-catering holiday and then some.

It was simply splendid and even though we were only staying one night I think we had already decided that we will be back again in the future. We had a meal later in the evening at the pub that was absolutely fabulous and again we were treated fantastically well by Paul and his team. Great food, wonderful atmosphere with all the locals, and great service - what more could you want - well that was when Paul and Finn helped us to find a nice drink to take back to The Reading Room with us for a late night-cap.

Overall just a fantastic night's stay, a beautiful night's sleep and a wonderful cooked breakfast before we left fully expecting to be back again very soon and say hello to Paul and his excellent staff.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlaT
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked a night here as we wanted to dine at the Fox (less than 100 yards down the road) and our only disappointment is that we were only staying for one night. The Reading Room is so comfortable and welcoming, you want to snuggle into the leather sofa and stay forever.

It's the attention to detail that makes it special - the array of speciality teas in the kitchen to sip with breakfast of locally sourced sausages and fresh bread; the basket of logs and newspaper curls all ready to go into the log-burner, the fridge thoughtfully stocked with mixers, wines and larger; along with the elegant touches such as clusters of tea lights in the lounge and the beautiful furniture in the mezzanine bedroom.

On a practical level, WiFi is good, parking more than adequate, the bedroom is set back from the road so very quite and the are a full range of facilities available such as washing machine/dryer, iron etc.

If you want peace and quiet in a hideaway of cosy luxury, but to also be in easy reach of a great pub and other facilities, this is the place. I was almost loathe to right a good review as this place is so special, we want to keep it to ourselves, but to not share such a lovely find would indeed be selfish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Leaving :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambiance and standards of pub and accommodation were spot on.
Liked least: DVD player!!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danielle...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect get away in a lovely village”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Reading Room is gorgeous, beautifully furnished and very comfortable in a sympathetically converted old building. The bed is so comfortable, the shower powerful and the kitchen has all you need to self cater. There is also plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space which is often lacking in holiday cottages. The owners leave all you need for a proper English Breakfast in the fridge for you and deliver logs for the lovely wood burning stove that kicks out plenty of heat. Just down the road is the Fox Inn, where we spent an evening and has fabulous food and a brilliant atmosphere. Broughton Gifford itself is a pretty village with a big common and is handy for Bath, Longleat and lots of other places of interest. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful building.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing