We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Cheetah Conservation Fund
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique opportunity to experience conservation in action! CCF is the global leader in cheetah research, conservation and education. Its Centre, 44 kms east of Otjiwarongo, is open to the public all year round (8 am-5pm) except Christmas. CCF works to keep cheetahs in the wild and educate the public. However, it provides sanctuary to injured or orphaned cheetahs, many of which cannot be released back in to the wild. Learn about the cheetah's plight, watch them being fed or exercised at high speeds, meet some of our scientists. Our Model Farm teaches farmers how to co-exist with predators. Visitors can meet some of CCF's Livestock Guarding Dogs and their flocks of sheep and goats. You can also try our home-made goat-milk cheese, ice cream or fudge at the Cheetah Cafe. Limited luxury accommodations and camping are available.
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A wonderful place to visit. Try to get there for the cheetah run. It's fantastic to see these great cats in action.
Everyone is very friendly and obviously have a real love of cheetahs.

Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Cheetah Conservation Fund
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We left from Frans Indongo Lodge at about 6:30am and arrived at the Cheetah Conservation Fund at about 2hrs later. The last part of the ride have very interesting scenery. The Cheetah Conservation Fund has immaculate grounds and buildings. The museum tour with our wonderful guide after seeing the Cheetahs was very interesting and covered a lot of aspects of the cheetah itself and other factors that area around the cheetah such as people, other animals etc. The most interesting fact that the guide brought up was that the cheetahs were not being killed for skins as most people think, they are being shot by the farmers because the cheetah kills their goats which the farmer get a large amount of money for their goats. So the Fund is giving the farmers a dog that will protect the goats and keep the cheetahs alive. But the highlight of the tour was to go out in an enclosure with the cheetahs who are being exercised to keep them fit like they would in the wild. The guides for this were very good at explaining what we should do and not do. There were 7 of us on the tour. We all had to stand close to each other because to the cheetah, we looked like a herd! The cheetah had to catch a rag that was on a wire moving very fast since the cheetahs can go up to50mph, if I remember correctly. When the cheetah gets a rag, they get a piece of meat. I stood next to the man who gave them the meat. The cheetah took it and went a few feet from us and ate his reward. You just can't explain the feeling to be so close to the cheetahs. We also ate at the facility. The coffee was great, the home made goats cheese and everyone was very helpful. Nice restrooms also. I can't say enough about this facility.

3  Thank HKflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind words. I have forwarded it to my colleagues who will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope you will have an opportunity to come back,!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The guides are scientists - they know everything and are kind and patient. Our kids learned such a lot. We didn't see cheetah in the wild in Southern Africa on our trip so this place is a good insurance. It is a wonderful project which deserves full support.

2  Thank ripplevale_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The cheetahs were amazing! They are so lithe and sleek. What great cats even though they are more like dogs in nature.

The reason I rated this as average is the concept they are trying to portray doesn't exactly seem to ring true to form. Granted they are caring for 42 cheetahs on these premises and if you look at the cost of keeping them here it seems rather extravagant since there is little to no chance of them being re-introduced into the wild.

After speaking with local farmers there is not a positive reaction to how things actually happen between CCF and them. After seeing, first hand here, and hearing other local information, it causes one to second guess some of the motives behind this grand looking place.

It causes many of us to have a bad taste left in our mouths and that has NOTHING to do with the cheetahs and their natures.

1  Thank CarefulChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Careful Choices,

Thank you so much for your honest review. Although CCF is not a sanctuary, we do care for cheetahs that cannot go back into the wild as they became orphans at a very young age, or were injured and unable to survive on their own. These non-releasable cheetahs, and those that have a potential to live in the wild, are both cared in the same way, with plenty of space, specialized nutrition and professional veterinary care. Yes, it is costly, not only because Namibia has guidelines regarding wild animals in captivity, but also because we believe our resident cheetahs deserve to be healthy and happy.

We also appreciate your comment about the farmers. This only makes more pressing the need for us to expand our farmers' training and reach those who have not taken our courses. Those who have and are using our non-lethal predator control methods are experiencing at least 80% decrease in livestock losses to predators.

We have so much more work to do, and it is important for us when people notice it. We truly appreciate your input.

All the best,
Cheetah Conservation Fund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great insight into cheetahs and their plight. Interesting and well informed staff. One of the best lunches we had in Namibia! They keep goats and the little cheese dishes are to die for! Gift shop disappointingly expensive and all seemed to have been made in zimbabwe

1  Thank Fiona807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Fiona, thank you so much for your very important feedback and for your kind words. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit, and hope you will come to visit again, and tell your friends to do the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheetah Conservation Fund also viewed

Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
 
Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
 

Been to Cheetah Conservation Fund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing