We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
239
20
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
20
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishamazon riverpink dolphinslocal villageother guestsflora and faunalocal guideno electricityjungle experienceno hot waterfood was greathis knowledgefast boatpygmy marmosetspeacock bassmosquito nettingpersonal guide
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We travel a lot, but our recent 4 day/ 3 night trip to Otorongo was one of the best experiences we have had. The key was definitely a great staff and guide. Our guide, Carlos, met us in Iquitos and tailored our activities to our interests beautifully, including letting me practice some Spanish as we helped him with some nuances for his already excellent English. His knowledge and passion for the Amazon was evident, including a lot of insights into real life of the communities that were in the area. We did a great forest and hill walk that ended at a nearby community and on another day, boated to a smaller and more remote village, where we shared lunch with a local family. We loved the fact that these were more genuine interactions and not a tourist-mill. Our boat driver/captain, Christopher was from a local village and always smiling and helpful finding hidden wildlife, which included sloths, Pygmy marmosets, pink/grey dolphins, Caymans, and more bird species than you can count.The lodge is delightfully rustic but comfortable. We were lucky to have the spacious family lodge which is private and just beyond the main lodge building. (The honeymoon lodge is even more secluded beyond, but was booked) The family lodge has 4 beds (3 singles and a double), so as a couple, it was more than enough space, very clean, and virtually bug free, which is a feat in the middle of the jungle. The bed also had new and spacious mosquito net as double protection, but not sure we really needed it. Plus couch, table and porch with drying line (you will sweat in the jungle!). The bathroom was good, and cool showers very refreshing. They provide a small drinking water dispenser and avoided using any plastic (which we and the river appreciate) We loved it. The food was always good, although I could have enjoyed a bit more spice, so maybe next time would bring a bottle of hot sauce.

We stayed a night in Iquitos on both ends which made the transitions from airport to off-the-gird Amazon low stress and allowed us to leave some stuff at our hotel before heading down river on the 3-hour speed boat ride to the lodge. Iquitos is a cool place for travelers, with unique "Island" culture, decaying colonial architectural legacy and Asian city vibe with all the 3-wheel moto-taxis being about 98% of traffic. We managed to visit the Belen market in about an hour our last morning, and found it hectic, very interesting, and safe enough to enjoy with usual urban caution.

Room Tip: Family Cabin is spacious and private
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richtraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

if you are looking for a personal , autantic ,and comfortable expirience in the amazone this is the place for you . edi our guide was the most knoldgeable guide we had and we just had so.much fun learning how.to.cock the local dishes with the chef , swimming in the amazon , bird watching , seeing the dart frogs and the monkeys , attending a pista in oren and just staying onthe hammock , we highky reccomend this amazing place

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite is great for coupels !
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaorC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

I’m sure there are lodges in the Amazon which are more high end, but I’m sure none are as fun, as welcoming, and as authentic as Otorongo. The staff are from local villages or Iquitos, so you know you are putting money into the local economy, and they know the area and where to spot animals. Everything we went out to see, we saw. Caimans, frogs, monkeys, sloths, Pygmy marmosets, so many birds! What I wasn’t expecting was how lovely it was to eat group meals with the other guests. Canadians, Americans, Chileans - we had a great time getting to know everyone and hearing about their days. Highly recommend. We stayed in the family house although we are only a couple, the set up was great for a family group, or friends who don’t mind sharing a big room. Take 3 shirts, you sweat a lot in the jungle. And deet. They provide rubber boots for jungle walking. Have fun, we did.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clbink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

My husband and I finished off our 3 week trip to Peru by spending 5 days at Otorongo Lodge and we had such a fantastic time! We rented the honeymoon house which was just perfect and nice to have a bit of extra space. Our guide Carlos was amazing! He met us at the airport and took care of us for our entire time. He was a wealth of information genuinely loved his job and wanted to make sure we had a great time. Our trail guide Tyo was always spotting animals that we never would have found on our own. Manolo cooked up some amazing meals every day and dinner usually included local food. Otelea did a great job keeping the whole lodge clean (and our laundry). I loved the jungle walks, we saw so much wildlife! And swimming in the Amazon river while pink dolphins hunted for fish all around us was definitely a unique experience. Our day of piranha fishing and visiting a small, local village was a very authentic experience to the Amazon. At our request, Carlos was even able to borrow a tradition dug out canoe for my husband and I to try (we are avid canoers back home). I highly recommend Otorongo if your looking for an authentic, hands on, Amazon jungle experience!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillAnne248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We changed our plans to stay here on the spur of the moment, after friends recommended this lodge. It was a great decision, and without doubt the best part of our two months of travelling through Peru and Bolivia. Our guide Eddie and the driver were an incredible team: really committed to showing us their backyard, and see loads of the Amazon fauna we did- several species of boa constrictor, of monkey and marmots, sloths, all manner of birds, an electric eel and river dolphins, to name but a few. The guides even caught a baby caiman during our night expedition (and released it shortly after)!! I realise that it's not going to be a cheap part of anyone's trip, but if you have the time and can make your budget work, I would recommend staying here for at least four days (we planned on five, and extended to six because we liked it so much, for a discounted rate) because to really settle in to life here. It's likely a once in a lifetime trip, so dive right in and forget about hot water (there's not much of it in the rest of Peru anyway) or wifi for a few days- I'm almost certain nobody will regret their time here!

Many thanks,
Maxi and Richard (two very satisfied guests)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank richyrichrichyrich94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews