We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pacuare Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Rancho Naturalista(Turrialba)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cerro Alto Lodge(Turrialba)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
532
34
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
34
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno electricityour honeymoonlinda vista suitecanopy tourwhite water raftingzip liningoutdoor showercosta ricathe riversan josebird watchingtop notchonce in a lifetimefood was amazingprivate poolriver view suiteamazing place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2006

A trip down the Pacuare will likely be the highlight of your trip to Costa Rica. Be Absolutely sure to do the 3 day (2 night)package for $359 per person. The Pacuare is rated as one of the top 5 rivers in the WORLD!
The day trip of nearly 18 miles is just too much and the one night 2 day trip allows no "Down" time (Something that you'll really need in Costa Rica!) Be sure to do the 4-5hr hike to see the indigenous peoples on top of the ridge. Carol and Chucks river and hiking guide was Curt Studz. This person was top notch! Oh, the food and accomodations were 4 out 5 stars as well!
CHECK OUT OUR PICTURES ON THE RIVER AND WATERFALL!!!

Stayed: March 2006
3  Thank aroundonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Herndon, VA
211
Reviewed 27 August 2005

This is a great place. We had the honeymoon suite even though it wasn't our honeymoon and that was definitely worth the extra money. You get your own private suspension bridge to a tree platform. You do have to walk about 5 minutes up a hill to get to the suite, but worth it.
No electricity, but they provide candles and flashlights. The staff was excellent. We stayed one night after rafting, but met some others who stayed an extra day and hikes to waterfalls and relaxed. We did the canopy tour which was thrilling. It is more of a ride than a tour, but we loved it and it felt safe. The Aventuras Naturales raft trip was also top notch. My husband is a former raft-guide and agreed that the professionalism was outstanding.
The food at the lodge was also great. We saw toucans and several other birds on the property. But the butterflies were particularly beautiful. The big blue morphos.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norwalk, Connecticut
217
Reviewed 13 April 2005

Luxury camping is the best way to describe this experience. The bungalows have beds with linens, indoor plumbing, but no hot water or electricity. The location right on the river, the beautiful landscaping, and layout were amazing. The staff was very friendly and the food was the best we had the entire vacation. They feed you well and often.

If you are looking for a fun rafting trip, check out the Pacuare Lodge.

Although you have the option to arrive by ground, I recommend that you raft both days. We are not avid rafters and Day 1 is a pretty relaxed trip.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews