We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Vacation at Riko Hale”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of RIKO HALE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wainiha, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clairelaf...
Port Townsend, Washington
2 reviews
“Wonderful Vacation at Riko Hale”
Reviewed 10 May 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The house was conveniently located to the beach - just across the road - and we loved the lanai and the spacious yet private yard with fruit and hibiscus trees. The kitchen was pefect for our needs and we appreciated the outside shower to the extent that we didnt' even use the indoor one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind review-we love to hear from our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay- Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vandreas
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the Seclusion”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Three of us stayed for 10 days at Riko Hale and loved it. There is no air-conditioning but the ceiling and portable fans made it very comfortable. We felt very safe opening up the windows and doors for the evening breeze. You are surrounded by neighbors but secluded by trees and bushes. We never saw our neighbors. The beds were very comfortable and the linens soft. Plenty of towels for bath and beach. The kitchen has everything you need to cook a meal along with an outdoor grill (don't forget charcoal). This is an older home and has it's little quirks but none of them are a problem. For the price, this place is a gem.

Although it is rustic, what we loved most was the outdoor shower. We never used the shower in the house. There is something about looking up at the sky and swaying palms that adds a true tropical feel.

Check the guidebook at the house. There is a beach within walking distance of the house (5 minutes!) and Tunnels beach is just down the road. Great area for snorkeling or just swimming.

There is a Costco in Lihue close to the airport. We stocked up there on major items and used the local grocery store in Hanalei. Hanalei is about 15 minutes from Riko Hale.

The property management at Napali Coast Properties were always available and helpful when I had questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The outdoor shower.
Liked least: AC would be great when it gets over 82.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Mahalo for the nice review-we love hearing from happy guests!
Na Pali Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetW496
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable, great location”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I rented this little house because we wanted a place near Tunnels beach. We were not disappointed.
It's got two bedrooms, one with twin beds and one with a very comfortable king-sized bed. It's light and airy, with many windows that open to let in the breeze, great cross-ventilation, ceiling fans in all rooms, and three floor-standing oscillating fans. These things kept us quite comfortable. There are plenty of extra towels, blankets, etc. The furnishings are not fancy but comfortable, and the kitchen has everything you need. We especially like the screened-in lanai, which is like a second living room. It has all the advantages of being outside with none of the disadvantages. We appreciated the second bathroom outside, which includes shower, toilet and sink. The yard is surrounded by tall plants. You occasionally hear the neighbors but don't see them. It was about a 20 min. walk down the highway to Tunnels. beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Aloha and thank you fo your kind review-we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this unique property-it's a diamond in the rough for sure-we hope that you can come for another visit soon! Na Pali Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaiianm...
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights. When we arrived on Friday night there was no electricity in either of the 2 bedrooms. We had flashlight as there was not one there nor were there candles. Was for nelly fixed on Sat mid morning
Also no wine glasses, coffee grinder , TV is so small hard to see from anywhere in living room & no instructions or info on how to worker channels.. twin beds are very hard.
loved the location but needs upgrades which Indoubtbwill happen as is for sale.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Aloha to our guests-thank you for your comments-we appreciate the feedback as we do not stay in these properties. We do get power outages from time to time in the islands as you know-and supply flashlights-so we will be making sure one is there for the next guests. We did supply replacement wineglasses (they do get broken or missing as some guests take them with them when they leave) when you asked-we did not have a coffee grinder available but have since replaced one in the cottage-we do supply operating instructions for the electronics in our guest books. We will mention the TV and twin beds to the owners-Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna D
Santa Clara, California
1 review
“Perfect location for Tunnels beach”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Nice cottage in beautiful garden with pommelo and avocado treas. 5 mis walk to nearest beach, 10-15 mins to Tunnels. Not directly next to the road, very quiet.
Great features: Huge lanai, outside grill, outside bathroom and W&D. Has all you need for a perfect holiday, if you don't want to drive the car to the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing