We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maia's Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ogtong Cave Resort(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Bernard Beach Resort(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kota Beach Resort(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Amihan Beach Cabanas(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin's Beach Resort(Bantayan Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
15
17
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
17
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We'd never been to Bantayan before (or the Phillipines) so it was all a bit of a pot luck thing. We chose Maia's mostly from the decent reviews and the pool (we have 3 young kids) All i can say it was great. The staff (Maia and husband) et al were very friendly and accommodating and treated you like family. Food was good and extremely well priced.
It was just a very laid back place to stay and I would recommend for couples and families (altho a squeeze if youve got 2-3 young ones)
It has lovely gardens and the pool is nice. The beach IS swimmable but it works on high/medium tide - as this happens twice in 24 hours theres always plenty of time in the day to swim and snorkel (i saw my first ever sea snake cpl hundred meters out in the bay) and the water is lovely and clean.
We stayed 5-6 days here and then another 5 (at a much more upmarket place on the sandy beach) on the other, more populated side, of the island-- and our kids wanted to go back to Maias!
One of the nice things is the village kids used to wait outside on the rocks for our kids to come and play (theres a picture there) as it was a bit of a novelty. I think some of their parents had jobs at Maias There was no begging or anything- tourism hasnt hit the place hard yet -. So there was a bit of local contact if you wanted it- or you could be left alone if thats what you wanted-- really nice,

If youre looking for a bit of action and night life- forget it (unless you want to join the village parties they throw (once a fortnight(?) next door !) If you want to chill with family or as a couple- highly recommended.

Room Tip: Theyre all cheap if youre not a backpacker so go for the Beach front huts- theres no 'family' ones but theyll accommodate by chucking mattresses in or whatever you need. Its pretty laid back.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Arriving at Bantayan Island on the ferry is lovely. The little Santa Fe town and resorts dotted among the coconut palms make for an idillic setting, but then you get picked up and whisked miles away from civilisation onto a part of the coast that is isolated. We found ourselves immediately pining to go back and explore the little town and restaurants.
Our beachfront cabana was basic and picture perfect. One of just six. There are no facilities in the room (hot water, fridge. kettle, tv etc)

Why they make them all out of fake concrete logs is really weird...they seem to love painted fake concrete timber. The room for the price was OK, but you can't leave your shoes outside "because the dogs take them".

The pool wasn't at all appealing to swim or hang around. While the tide was out swimming is impossible, so we hired a motorbike for the day (350pesos/A$10) and took off exploring the island's beaches, restaurants and other resorts. We loved the setting and food of Le Petite Bonheur in Santa Fe, and went back there two nights in a row (4 course meal for 299p/$A7.50). Each day we found ourselves relaxing at Marlins Beach Resort on the beach drinking cocktails and Red Horse beers. We regretted not staying at Marlin's.

You would think that with a six room resort, the owner would at least introduce himself, but we struggled with the very basic english of the staff. It's a clean little place, but you get cabin fever stuck out there away from town.

Room Tip: ask for the beach front cabana for 175 p more
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beanbagdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Since we were travelling with children who also wanted a pool to swim in aside from the beach, we decided to stay in Maia's Beach Resort as they were one of the few resorts in the island that had their own pool. The stay was a pleasant one, the owners were nice, they have reasonable prices that comes with free breakfast and cost to pick you up from the port to their resort is already included in the room rates.

However there were still several disadvantages in staying here:

1. No TV inside their rooms. They have an entertainment room and TV though in their restaurant. I guess this is not such a disadvantage since you won't want to just watch TV in your vacation.
2. The beach is not good for swimming.
3. The place is 9km away from Sta. Fe proper where the market is and all the other bars. So if you are expecting to drink in a bar during the night, then do not stay here. The place is more for families with small kids and honeymooners.
4. Also, since it is 9 kms away, there are almost no transportation going to Sta. Fe so you will be forced to rent their van and driver to get you around which costs around P250.00
5. There is no hot water in the rooms

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leighnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

A warm hospitable atmosphere. Nice clean garden and very good food. A viewing place for movies from the collection of DVDs is provided. Maia is very accommodating and made sure we are attended well. The staff were always at hand when we needed something.

We always choose to stay there for nearly a week and had time to go around with the rented motorbike each time we are there. We like to be there again.

If it is low tide, the swimming pool is the next choice.

Room Tip: There are two cottages at the beach side. These are the best choice.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MijnlieverdFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights/6 days. It was like a home away from home. So comfortable! Maia is extremely friendly. As for the staff, they were perfect. The driver drove us to Bantayan town to pick up some fresh seafood/meat , drove us around town to find supplies for grilling ( the beach has a grill available to guest ) and while we were cooking the sun went down and the guy from the restaurant brought us a lantern to use without us even asking! The food at the restaurant was delicious and affordable. The land is very beautiful with flowers, palm trees , white sand and coral as far as the eye can see. Much better landscaping compared to the other resorts we looked at. The staff cleans the ground non-stop. It seems that every moment of the day you can catch them sweeping and cleaning the beach area. No wifi available at the cottages however they have a connection available at the restaurant. This resort is not stuck in the middle of the busy town like most of the others , it's a 5 minute drive down a curvey dirt road, which for us, added to the appeal. They have a motor bike for rent if you like to go out on your own, or the driver is always willing to give you a lift to town ( you pay for the gas of course).

We really enjoyed our stay at Maia's and will be going back again.

Room Tip: all the cottages have air con and are comfy . ask for a cottage facing the beach, the view from the front porch area is amazing and you have a great view of the beautiful sunrises on the island.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teddy_KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews