We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

An excellent experience in San Ignacio ,far away from maddening Punta del Este. Good taste everywhere,calm, space and charming and helpful personnel. One little negative, should have a more varied wine list not so expensive!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 408Laurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    13
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
48
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We visited the hotel in December 2012 as a couple and are looking to return again this year, as do most of the guests that are lucky enough to experience Estancia Vik. Having read great write ups about Jose Ignacio but particularly Estancia Vik and its sister hotel Playa Vik (more on that later) we booked a 4 day stay. Quite simply it just wasnt long enough and next time we will book for longer! There is so much to do and see, and because the staff do their utmost to make you feel at home and the food is pitched at the perfect level of being delicious and healthy, a short break just doesn't do the place justice. A trip to Playa Vik is worthwhile to eat at their delicious restaurant (great sushi), and to enjoy the seaside sunset. For us though the real draw of Estancia Vik was to have a go at horseback riding as we were complete beginners. Agustin the General Manager of the hotel who oversees riding was careful to find us safe reliable horses to enjoy the beautiful views the property offers, and by the end of our stay we were able to gallop at a steady pace..an exhilarating experience. All in all all the staff at Estancia Vik make your stay memorable, Christina and Jose at the stables, Vicky on the front desk, the chef, the waiters and the sweet housekeepers.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay that little extra for a Master Suite as they are phenomenal. However all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachribbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have just returned from our fourth visit to Estancia Vik and just never want to leave (nor do most of the charming guests we have met there and have forged great friendships with). We consider ourselves to be an extremely well travelled family having stayed in a number of the best hotels in the world and with most of the well known chains. Estancia Vik takes the hotel experience to a whole different level. It manages to combine all the essential ingredients of a luxury hotel such as comfortable beds, high quality linens, impeccable housekeeping, delicious food and wine and stylish and original decor with personable and tailored service. Included within the room rate are numerous activities whether it be birdwatching, cycling, canoeing or riding. We were drawn to the riding and have had some of our best moments riding through the thousands of acres of farmland with the knowledgeable and charming Agustin (the GM and a great horse guide), catching glimpses of more types of wild birds than we can remember, numerous nandu (like emu), armadillo, skunk and even an otter let alone the beautiful fat and shiny cattle that you will no doubt be enjoying on the barbeque at some stage of your holiday. All of the staff have always been so friendly and welcoming, willing to help with every small request at any time of day or night and our kids have loved them all. As usual we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have fabulous views and bathrooms as we have now been lucky enough to experience mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5horses_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at the Estancia Vik for a few nights and wanted to share our experiences.

Pluses:

The Rooms and Facilities – Estancia Vik is an amazing facility. Each guest room (there are only 12) was decorated by a Uruguayan Artist, and each of the common rooms (Game Room, Reading Room, etc.). also has a design theme. It’s like staying in an art gallery. In addition, the rooms were very large, immaculately clean, and comfortable. The bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever experienced, and we had a large stone soaking tub in the bathroom plus a rainfall shower. Also, we did not take advantage of this, but as Guest at Estancia Vik, you can also visit and use the services of Playa Vik, which is a separate hotel on the beach in Jose Ignacio. Many activities including horseback riding are included in the room rate. There are other activities you can arrange in advance at an additional cost. The drinks in the mini-bar are included as well.

The Views – The views from the estancia are wonderful. I’d suggest a room on the side of the building opposite the main entrance so that you look out over the lagoon and river. Take a look at the night sky too – with the remote location there is very little light pollution so you can see a lot of stars. Cows and horses are frequently visible from the rooms along with the occasional Nandu (a small type of ostrich).

Uruguayan BBQ night – If you’re there on one of the BBQ nights, go for it, in spite of my later comments on the cost of the restaurant – definitely worthwhile.

Neutrals/Negatives:

Location – The location of Estancia Vik contributes to the beautiful views mentioned above. It also means that you’re a long way from the town of Jose Ignacio, beaches…pretty much anything. It’s not too bad if you have a rental car, which we’d recommend, but I saw some other reviews where people were mentioning walking or biking to town. Theoretically you could do that…but just be aware it will take a long time. To give you an idea, just walking the driveway from the Estancia out to the road and back would be a good hike for most people. Also, if you are coming from Jose Ignacio to the Estancia, there is fairly large sign at the driveway. If you’re coming from the north, the sign is much smaller and it’s easy to miss it.

Style of Staff Service and Attentiveness – We debated on marking this as a neutral or a plus… making it neutral as it seems like something that some people will like and others won’t like. The general vibe you experience here is not what you might expect at a typical luxury hotel. Instead of “Guest at a hotel” you feel like you’re a guest (along with 5-10 other people) at the private home of wealthy friends. If that’s what you’re after, you’ll appreciate the atmosphere. If you’re going there envisioning “Four Seasons” type service, you may be disappointed. This is not to say the staff weren’t helpful or polite, they were – just keep in mind the vibe is definitely more “staying with friends” than “staying at a hotel.”

Price – If you’re doing this for a few nights’ splurge or are well off, you probably won’t care about the prices. If not, be advised that for Uruguay, Estancia Vik is expensive as a hotel and very expensive as a restaurant. We did feel that the room cost was justified by the great facility/rooms…but given the great restaurants in the Jose Ignacio Area, we did not feel the hotel’s restaurant was a worth the cost. You can do the top restaurants in the area (La Huella, Marismos, etc.) for less than you’d pay at Vik.

Mosquitos – There were a lot of mosquitos. More than we encountered anywhere else in Uruguay. Since the doors on a lot of the common rooms are left open, they get inside (The guest rooms are fairly safe as long as you keep the door screens shut). The staff offers repellent cream but it was only marginally effective. Bring along something strong… like Deep Woods Off…if you don’t want to get swarmed.

Wine selection – In spite of a beautiful and relatively large wine cellar, the actual number of wines on offer was pretty small.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the main entrance have views over the river/lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allthatjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Although the place was excellent, their service was inappropriate.

Especially the receptionist was unworthy of her position.
Her unkind attitude made me uncomfortable.
Usually most hotels welcoming their guest when they arrived however she was not interested in welcoming us and she treated us like a stranger. Using a phone and computer when their guest arrived is not suitable behavior for "7stars" accommodation.
And her bad manner lasted when I made a reservation for a horse riding;
She said she will call back but she didn't. So I had to call her again or ask in person.

Second, the food
- 3 courses dinner was U$90(per person, excluding tax) but the taste fell short of my expectations. It was no different than casual restaurants in downtown.
- the Breakfast was also not that good.
- Also their wine 'VIK'(U$130 per bottle) is not recomendable. Considering the quality of that wine, it is overpriced.


Except for those I was satisfied.
But I don't want to visit there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dugudung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

From the moment we arrived at Estancia VIK, we felt immediately at home. The staff is wonderfully attentive and accommodating (and just about everyone speaks fluent English), the property is absolutely gorgeous, the food was phenomenal, rooms are enormous and beautifully decorated (ours had a fire place and a terrace overlooking the property), not a single negative word to say. A great trip for a couple, though we went just two friends on vacation. A great trip for a family-- SO much to do with no additional costs: biking, horseback riding (ride with Augustin! you'll learn even more about the property and have a wonderful time), kayaking... As an added bonus, you have access to the Playa Vik hotel and the beach, and the staff is happy to give you rides back and forth. We couldn't have wished for anything more.... except maybe one more night!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong here-- each room has a wonderful view of the Estancia and is uniquely designed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRS621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

When you return to a place for the second time, you may looking into things with a more critical eye, especially at corporate level.
However, Estancía José Vic Ignacio is and remains a jewel and truly shines in its glance from a geographical point of view, accommodation-wise, but surely and mostly because great people make every effort to make your stay unforgettable.
We are grateful for another successful event and can't mention often enough how outstanding this place (still) is.
Thank you, Agustin and the whole team - you are our stars!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstelleEsteeCamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
0.2 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
98 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio

Property: Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Address: Camino Eugenio Saiz Martinez Km 8, Jose Ignacio 32232, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estancia’s private living space is separated into two wings, each containing six bedroom Suites. Of the six suites in each wing, there are four 500 square foot Suites on the ground level and two 900 square foot Master Suites on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Vik Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing