We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country house 5min drive from the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Miradores de Laguna Garzon
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming country house 5min drive from the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

This lovely country house offers charming room and a warm reception from the owners. The nature that surrounds it is enchanting and you are 5 min drive from the beach. Jose de Ignacio and it's surroundings is a unforgettable place to visit for those who enjoy nature and peace.
The only regret we have is not having been able to stay longer...

Room Tip: The room with the view on the swimming pool is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Not your parent's Howard Johnson, Miradores is a beautiful private home that allows you to stay as a welcome guest. Indoor and outdoor facilities are comfortable and laid-back. It's like visiting a favorite relative, where they treat you very nicely, and the surroundings are super.

This is for those seeking a non-corporate great place to stay. It is in a rural setting a mile from the beach with incredible views of the stars. A great way to visit Jose Ignacio without being right in the several block grid area. Lovely!.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clue84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This a small hotel with a great location near Jose Ignacio, close to beach and laguna.
Horse and bycicle rides can be arranged.
I felt like a child again, reading and relaxing with no pressures.
I think is a great place to stay if you want to explore that area of Uruguay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabymassiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel is just beautiful - the decor is amazing with the hosts very friendly. They also have a cat, dog, sheep, horse and a pony which our toddler loved! The pool was small but nice though we didn't use it as April in Jose Ignacio was a chilly 20deg! The hotel is 5mins away from the village of Jose ignacio by car. Would love to return here someday.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

If you want a coastal experience in Uruguay, which has access to both beach and country, is sophisticated but not pretentious, and allows for privacy, hosted by a couple of the most interesting people you'd ever want to talk to , Miradores de Laguna Garzon is your place.
Andrea and Pablo have created an exquisite country retreat with swimming pool, bicycles and delicious meals. You can choose to do nothing and luxuriate or venture into nearby José Ignacio, a chic coastal village where you'll find great shops, fashionable bars and fine dining.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlissSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Could not have found a more relaxing location in which to conclude our month stay in South America. Andy has done an outstanding job decorating the estancia and offers a wonderful breakfast complete with freshly baked croissants. That alone would have made the experience memorable. However, it was the warmth and caring approach Andy takes with each guest, whether it be making dinner reservations or offering advice on which beach to experience. She makes you really feel like a dear friend rather than a guest in her very comfortable home.

It should be noted that our visit in early December was well before the ‘high season’ and as such there were very few restaurants open for dinner in the sleepy town of Jose Ignacio. This resulted in our having to eat three times in one property which was open. It was not until the final night that we arranged for Andy to prepare our dinner which was the best of the stay. We should have made our dinner request earlier!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Miradores got all the vibe Uruguay got to share. A quiet, charming small estancia in the middle of the countryside, with all the comfort you need and still so close to the village of Jose ignacio and its great restaurants. I have been to Uruguay many times and staying at miradores was by far the most memorable stay. Andy and Pablo are running this bed and breakfast with such kindness and attention to details. Andy has been very helpful along the stay recommending great restaurants as well as organising horse riding on the beach. Breakfasts were generous and I recommend particularly to sit down in the sofa near the pool watching cows, horses and their pet sheep when the sun goes down. So romantic!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
2.5 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.5 mi away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Paradiso
Hotel Posada Paradiso
#6 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miradores de Laguna Garzon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miradores de Laguna Garzon

Property: Miradores de Laguna Garzon
Address: Ruta 10, Km. 188 5, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miradores de Laguna Garzon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Garzón Lodge was designed with floating rooms to create an intimate relation between man and nature. A place of calm and contemplation where the environment is admired and protected.With a limited capacity of only 12 rooms and personalized services, it is remote enough to maintain a quiet and private environment. It is also not far to enjoy the nightlife of Jose Ignacio, La Barra and Punta del Este. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Miradores de Laguna Garzon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing