We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Nearby Hotels
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Suaya(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lomas de San Vicente(Punta del Este)(Great Value!)
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$440
US$293
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Paradiso(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laguna Garzon Lodge(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbol Casa Loft(Jose Ignacio)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
87
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaya vikinfinity poolart filledla huellaone of a kindfabulous artgreat holidayamazing hotelvery special placefirst ratethe main houseother guestshigh seasonsabrinapropertiessuitearchitecture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just got back from a week at Playa Vik with 2 other couples. I have never experienced service like that in my life! Augustine, the general manager, anticipated our every desire and had experiences like horseback riding at the sister property(the Estancia) and Kiteboarding arranged for us. The design of the Playa Vik is out of this world, as is the entire area of Jose Ignacio. It is just a beautiful part of the world. Classy , yet laid back.
Mike D.

Room Tip: they are all excellent
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I had the most incredible say at Playa Vik. The location is stunning beyond words - the hotel itself is a beautifully designed and perched on a spot that's right on the beach with a prime view of the sunset. You can't beat it. The staff is excellent, the service is amazing, the food is delicious-- the entire stay was so idyllic. You really can't ask for a more all-around incredible experience. The location, the service, everything! This hotel is absolutely top notch, and one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at- maybe the best ever. I will definitely be returning for another memorable stay.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are equally incredible!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Nuria welcomed us with a big smile and keys in her hand as if she knew exactly the time we were supposed to arrive. She showed us into Valentina Suite and left us speechless. The 180 degree view of the ocean, the huge white bathroom-masterfully painted by a well known Uruguayan artist- the generous walk in closets-enormous-all made us feel that this place was lived before it was even envisioned. If you take a look at the roofs, they are all gardens and flowers open in the sunshine during the day. They save water, they use solar panels. And they employ and train beautiful staff who will make you feel at home. We did not want to leave. Michelle, Núria, Nicolas, Sabrina, Agustin, THANK YOU all for such a wonderful stay and Mr & Mrs. Vik, congratulations on such a wonderful house!

Room Tip: Each room is different, we also saw the houses with 2 and 3 rooms, all very well done!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiscoverMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Playa Vik is unique in the world. An architectural masterpiece with stunning modern furnishings and art; set on a charming beach in a locale that must have been what the Hamptons, St. Tropez and St. Barths were like before they were discovered; and with a staff as pleasant and accommodating as any we've encountered in years of travel. Our suite was perched over the beach, with floor to ceiling windows on two sides, a luxurious platform bed with top-of-the-line Frette linens, an art deco desk, a huge bathroom with hand-carved maple tub and sinks and a free-form rain-shower area, and an enormous walk-in closet that could have handled our entire wardrobe, not just what we brought on the trip. Our three days there were the most relaxing of any holiday we've had, with the manager Augustine and his English speaking staff making us feel very special. The delicious buffet breakfast (with Nespresso machine, homemade bakery items, a waffle maker and eggs to order) started each day. The small but well-equipped gym with windows to the lawn allowed for good work-outs. And about the wonderful staff: From arranging and even accompanying us on a horse ride at the gorgeous sister property, Estancia Vik, to arranging for meals at very special local restaurants, to providing bikes for a coastal ride by miles of beaches, and much more, we have never had better attention at a resort and certainly never had such personal attention. Moments after our arrival, a platter of local cheeses arrived with drinks, along with an offer to unpack our luggage for us. Even housekeeping was better than most, sensing when we were out of the room to do service and turndown, so the room always was in beautiful shape. We especially appreciated the stated effort to introduce us to Uruguayan culture and food, so that our visit was not just a generic beach resort stay. Cannot recommend Playa Vik more highly based on our experience.

Room Tip: The suites in the main building -- called "the Sculpture" are perched over the beach while the larger accommodations with multiple bedrooms are set back from the beach some.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Elevated 100 feet above the beach, Playa Vik perches its guests in pure luxury with a 270 degree command of a rare, pristine part of the Atlantic coast. I watched the fisherman rig their boats and depart to sea every morning as I arose in our fabulous suite. Playa Vik has an elevated level of hospitality – the super-friendly staff believe in the property and are proud to be apart of a resort driven to an elevated level of service, which is revealed in their happiness, warmth and family-oriented approach to service. Thanks to all the staff for adopting us into the Playa Vik family.

The chef is top-notch and always accommodated our 11-month old son with fine dining equal to our meals, which were clean, light, fresh and delicious. The best part of the experience is sunset dining – in the spacious and simply elegant dining area we felt elevated to the level of the distant horizon as the sun falls amidst an expansive view of the Atlantic. Then the celestial lights in the pool come on to mirror the heavens. Ahhhhh - an elevated Eden it is!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobalDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews