We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, amazing architecture and grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service, amazing architecture and grounds”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Playa Vik "rescued" us from a disastrous villa booking in February. The rooms were beautiful in a very unique way, having been painted with murals by famous local artists. The food was plentiful and excellent, and the grounds and architecture were like nothing we had ever seen - in a very good way.

The service was very special - the staff really looked after our kids and did their best to make our unexpected visit as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Jose Ignacio, a small beach village in Uruguay, is a great place to go for a break from busy Buenos Aires or anyplace for that matter. This rustic beach town’s population swells in summer months mostly with the rich and famous of Latin America. But perhaps the best time to go to Jose Ignacio is in March and April when the crowds dwindle and the weather is still beautiful with cool nights. I recently spent 4 days at Playa Vik, an ocean front property that also has a sister property called Estancia Vik, about 8 kilometers away. We spent a day on the beach and the next day we went horse back riding and kayaking in the lagoon at the estancia – the best of both worlds.

The beach at Jose Ignacio is filled with families playing paddle ball and surfers of all ages taking advantage of decent sized waves. This is a great beach for beginner surfers. The town of Jose Ignacio is best described as rustic chic. The most popular place is La Huella, it is the quintessential “see and been seen” restaurant. It is on the beach and the outdoor tables have the sand at your feet. The food is great and the restaurant is packed all day long. Make reservations if you don’t want to wait. But waiting is part of the fun. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Casa Mar - ocean front- amazing sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The Playa Vik Is fabulously different ! Every room is individual in its original art work and design . The layout naturally focuses on the beautiful sandy bay view ( including the central building which houses the restaurant and 3 of the 12 - or 17 if divided out -rooms ) , as well as the photogenic black granite infinity pool . It's very modern in design and ambience and as with so many hotels in the area is extremely well represented by excellent staff who were friendly and highly efficient . We did think that the wine list was firstly very limited and secondly , through a rather cynically loaded pricing strategy , rather geared into persuading one to try the owners own vineyard brew from Chile ie the cheapest bottle on the list was a steal at $140 ! However that aside , the food was all very good . ' Pickie ' points are that the rooms did not have any explanatory literature , room service menus or pricing ( care ) however the Internet service was great .
Overall this is a fabulous ( romantic ) experience , in a quieter , artistic more bucolic surround however to quote the bard you will " need a few bob in your pocket "

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank G s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you want to experience a hotel where you feel you've lucked out and been invited to the most gorgeous home for the weekend where the staff and hostess will do anything to make you happy PLAYA VIK should be your choice. Situated on a perfect beach near Punta Del Este without the Miami Beach feeling, this work of art structure is filled with fabulous art, the most perfect staff and fellow guests from all over the world. Each suite is designed by different South American artists. A cantilevered pool hangs over the beach which is inhabited by sensational homes of the rich and famous of South America. Very quiet and peaceful, almost isolated, Jose Ignacio is home to the chic beach shack resto La Huella provides great people watching and social activity. Season is very short but we went just prior to that in November and LOVED the experience. Reminded us of the Hamptons in winter in the 70's. empty and gorgeous $$$$$$$ but worth it for a special treat

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janieB1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashu0284
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Playa Vik and absolutely loved it. By day you can enjoy sunbathing by the modern, infinity edged pool (which is most likely what you'll be doing as the pool is not heated) and in the evening your eyes will be diverted to the gorgeous sunset views out over the ocean as the property is situated to face the setting sun and at night you'll be stargazing in the night sky and in the pool. A stunning light installation embedded in the bottom of the black granite pool by James Turrell depicts the very same constellation of stars. Check out #playavik on Instagram to see all the photos (there are tons) and know that those don't even do this place justice.

The staff was very accommodating and helped us make reservations at various restaurants (La Huella, Olada, La Susana, etc). They also helped us schedule a couples massage in our room which was amazing (and surprisingly not too pricey at $100 per hour). We stayed in the Valentina suite - a MUST if you stay at Playa Vik. The room has a view of the pool, beach and of course the sunsets. The front window opens (very James Bond) so when the weather is nice, you can catch the sunset in the privacy of your own room while getting the same view as anyone down by the pool and still get the breeze. The Valentina Suite is in the main structure and has a HUGE walk in closet. The bathroom is also very big and has a cool design (and huge tub).

During our stay we went horseback riding at their sister hotel, Estancia Vik. The estancia is more of a ranch style hotel and has a pool table, BBQ (parilla - just call to ask when these BBQs are being done - unfortunately we missed this opportunity but hear they're wonderful) and a pool. If you stay at either hotel you get access to both which is great if you want a change of pace at any point during your stay.

I've stayed at some beautiful places (Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur, Four Seasons in Budapest, etc) and this really tops the list. Truly a breathtaking hotel in a wonderful town. It's the perfect balance to the laid back vibe of the rest of Jose Ignacio while still getting pampered. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Valentina Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tashu0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

For quite some time we wanted to visit José Ignacio and stay at the Playa Vik. Finally we made it and it's worth every dime. We love the place. Outstanding design & location, extremely nice and attentive service - and one of the most beautiful pools of the world. Best place to stay at José Ignacio. Would we come back? Anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Playa Vik is a small (11 room) but beautiful hotel located in the charming and very trendy fishing village of Jose Ignacio. The main , art filled "Structure" contains two huge suites overlooking the infinity pool and ocean as well as public areas on the floor below. The remaining rooms are in other contemporary design buildings, all done in a very tasteful fashion. The young staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food is good but not great, especially given that there are a number of very good restaurants in the vicinity, several located in the village which is a short walk distance away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
0.9 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
17.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa VIK Jose Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa VIK Jose Ignacio

Property: Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Address: Los Cisnes y Los Horneros, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jose Ignacio
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa VIK Jose Ignacio 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa VIK Jose Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Vik Jose Ignacio Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing