We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irresponsibility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Last year, my daughter gave us, as our 30th anniversary present, a weekend at the floating Hotel “Laguna Garzón” in Maldonado, Uruguay.

Unfortunately, we were not able to make use of her present even after two tries for the following reasons:

First try: After having confirmed our check in date and about an hour before beginning our trip from Montevideo to Maldonado, I received a call informing us that they could not receive us because the level of the water was too high and some rooms were not available. Thanks God, we were at home yet, but, they could let us know in advance, right? What could happen if we were in our way to the hotel?

Our agenda for that weekend was ruined.

In return, they offered us to stay in their other hotel but I was not what we wanted, so finally they offered us to book us for the same hotel in high season (even though our reservation was for low season). We accepted and booked for the next month.

Second try: The day before our trip, I called them to confirm our reservation. After a few tries, I finally could contact them. The next day after we arrived at the hotel (about 160 km from Montevideo) we found that there was no electricity, there were no other customers and the hotel staff was leaving because they obviously couldn’t work without electricity.

As a result, we had to return to Montevideo, cancel the reservation and request a refund. Honestly, the whole situation was really upsetting.

The following days and despite having made multiple telephone calls and having sent several emails asking for the refund, we never received an answer. After several months, my daughter had to make a claim directly to her credit card, which is still pending.

Overall, I consider that the service and attention of owners and managers of Laguna Garzón Hotel, in this case, was inconsiderate and irresponsible.

Finally, not only I do not recommend it for the poor attention received, but also because the second time we went, we actually had access to one of the rooms which wasn’t clean and ready to be occupied and the attention of the staff was inappropriate .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Nelsonwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Best holidays ever. Total rest and enjoyment.
Very comfortable log cabins floating over the lake, greatest view and peaceful natural environment. Just bring your book, beachwear and relax :)
Ideal for lovers of water sports as well as fishing, or just for relaxation.
Only a few miles away from Punta del Este.
Rodrigo and Ana are the hosts for the hotel and are very helpful and friendly.
WE LOVED IT

Room Tip: all cabins are great, maybe the ones locates further away from the bar are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

It begins with a phone call. You talk with Maria or Andrea (Andy)... and you immediately know it's going to be THE place. A really very nice place, very cosy and confortable rooms with a marvellous view, half a minute away from the waves of the Ocean and a clean white sandy shore. The team is really very nice and helpfull, making your stay zen and easy; the welcome is very friendly, smart, warm and classy. Any question? Here they are with a solution. The restaurant is in the same trend, with perfect service, really good cuisine and remarkable wines.
We highly recommend a visit. And for sure: we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louveterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Garzón Lagoon is not only the place to stay through this beautiful lodge but also to go far the east crossing the lake and seeing all the new developments for a permanent investment you can find in this paradise!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank MIKECHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Me and my wife contact a flight agency and they told us and reccommend us this new hotel, with a touch of polinesyan style which is perfect. We loved our stay, the room was tidy, quiet, perfect for relax, and the service was great. The hotel has a lovely restaurant with a very nice breakfast, full of options, and great meals. If you wanna take some drinks on the afternoon, you will enjoy espectacular sunsets. Thanks for a great saty, we will go again for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mango123424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pancho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
3.1 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
239 reviews
5.0 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
93 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
5.5 mi away
Miradores de Laguna Garzon
Miradores de Laguna Garzon
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Garzon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Garzon Lodge

Address: Ruta 10 Km 190, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Price Range: £148 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laguna Garzon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laguna Garzon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing