We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, Attentive Staff, But no upgrade.”
Review of La Posada del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada del Faro
Ranked #2 of 8 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, Attentive Staff, But no upgrade.”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Posada for 3 nights in April, which are the autumn months in Uruguay. We had the entire hotel all to ourselves for the first evening. Punta del Este was very very quiet this time of year and as such there weren't many dining options available to us; most establishments were closed mid-week (we ate many a chivito). Our host at Posada did his best however to help us find places that were open and although we were the only people there, someone was always at the front desk. Breakfasts were stupendous; we ate fresh fruit and eggs by the pool overlooking the ocean just a stone's throw from the beach. I loathe the term barefoot chic, but love enjoying the atmosphere of a barefoot chic establishment :) This hotel is the best example of it I have ever seen. They knew when to serve us and when to leave us alone.

The only problem I had was that although there was only one other couple staying on the premises we were put two doors down on the same floor as them. Although we made friends with our vacation cohorts and had a lovely time, the quietness made us feel like we had to whisper and tip-toe around our room. It would've been nice if they had put a bit more distance between us...They could've upgraded us! All and all it was great. Loved the bon fire they built us, the attention they paid us, the privacy they gave us, the LOCATION cannot be beat but it fell short of spectacular on that one point. We would definitely definitely return during busier months

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cage434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    23
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
camberley
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We spent 2 nights at La Posada del Faro and enjoyed it immensely. The location was superb and the hotel well appointed with a personal service. In all it was a sensational place, which deserves more publicity.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Light years away from the 70’s high rises and flashiness of Punta del Este, yet only about a quick half hour by car, is Posada del Faro. This place has laid-back charm written all over it. It’s like you get to go hang out at your friend’s posh beach house. While it may not be the most fancy or luxurious hotel in the Jose Ignacio/Punta area, it certainly may be one of the most charming and cozy. The first thing that has to be said for it is location. If you come to Uruguay for the beach, this place is amazing. Right out the front door is a great stretch of beach on the calm side of the peninsula. If you can, get one of the upper level rooms and you will have an incredible ocean view. One thing that I loved about the rooms were the fireplaces, which came all set up with wood and pinecone starters, so with the flick of a match, anyone could have a fire going in no time. The staff is totally relaxed, and lets you have your included breakfast at any hour of the day, so if you party hard the night before, you can get up at 2pm if you want and call for your breakfast in bed.
There’s a ton of stuff to do in the Jose Ignacio area, such as surfing, kite surfing, horseback riding, and the hotel has nice Trek bikes that you can use for free. If you feel like lounging at the pool, the hotel library has tons of books, and piles and piles of magazines. In the summer the place will be packed out, so book way in advance.
For me winter was a great time to go…Jose Ignacio was dead, and I had amazing waves and the beaches literally all to myself, which was priceless. The place isn’t exactly the cheapest hotel you can find, but if you are worried about saving a few dollars, you probably should stay away from the Punta del Este area in general. All in all, I had a great time at this place, relaxed profoundly, and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

A great location - with fantastic views and beaches.
But the Poasada del Faro seems like a hotel where the management have given up.
We stayed in this hotels 5 years ago and have just returned.
The rooms are now faded, the towels and linen old, the pool often dirty.. there seems to have been no maintenance since our last visit!
Its living on its past reputation, but there are now many other better places to stay in wondeful Jose Ignacio.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy-guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Nice small hotel where great attention to detail is given. 150 meters from beach, just walking down the small side street. Quiet. Good quality breakfast though small portions (eggs are an extra $5). The hotel has a very small pool but given the close by ocean this is sufficient for some laps and to have a drink by the pool side bar. We stayed on the first floor and had some, though obstructed view of the ocean. Ground floor I suspect is a bit dark and no view. Jose Ignacio is small and everything is within walking distance. Not many restaurants around but very acceptable quality (no need to mention them, everybody knows all of them). In April swimming was not possible since both the weather and the water was too chilly.

The hotel is kind of cottage style which adds to the comfortable feeling. We stayed during off season and the rooms where still pricey though not exaggerated.

WiFi works perfectly well (several ports ensuring fast access !).

From Jose Ignacio you can drive to several other beaches that are within a good hours drive. Punta del Este is about one hour away.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cand0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

we stayed in this hotel on the recommendaiton of a good friend, and over our 3 nnight stay were constantly deligjhted with the decision to by-pass punta del este and head to jose ignacio. the hotel is only 15 rooms, opp the beach, great pool, fab if quirky decor, staff are absurdly helpoful, and the town of jose ignacio is heaven on a stick, esp the wine store and its fabulous proprietor. select one of the "special " rooms for views straight out to sea, and a lot more privacy than other rooms. the free push-bikes were always in use, and the brekky was a total treat every day (served after 9am only!!) simply fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDorrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Jse Ignacio is quite unique. Put the Hamptons in a mixer with Sylt in Germany (for those who know that spot) and Camps Bay in South Africa. Add 30 degrees air temperature and 23 degrees for the sea. Just perfect.

The Posada is in walking distance to the sea. It is a restored old building, a quiet hotel with very few rooms. It has a hip chilled out atmosphere. The rooms have a rustic charme, they are clean & basic.
The garden and pool area are wonderful and a good alternative/ retreat to the beach (if that becomes more crowded)
You come to this place for atmosphere to spend the day at the Posada owned beach house, have lunch in neighbouring (breathtaking) La Huella and to go to bed early.

The common areas are really nice and just like a design style living room, I liked the library.

Pros:
- atmosphere, atmosphere & again atmosphere -> beautiful setting
- great responsive, friendly, discrete service
- NO TV (please never install one) or other distracting gadgets in the room
- bikes, deck chairs, umbrellas for free

Cons:
- the matrasses are either too soft or worn out, please check

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jose Ignacio
1.9 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbol Casa Loft
Arbol Casa Loft
#9 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
9 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Faro

Property: La Posada del Faro
Address: Calle de la Bahia Esq. Timonel | Faro Jose Ignacio, Jose Ignacio, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Posada del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Faro Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing