We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does not deserve its reputation”
Review of La Posada del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posada del Faro
Ranked #1 of 9 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“does not deserve its reputation”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

we came to spend a few days, and were forced to leave quickly as our room was awfully dirty, smelt so much humidity that you had a feeling to be in a cellar. the pool is awful too, the hotel urgently needs to be renovated as it does not deserve at all, as it stands, its reputation (except its bar on the beach which is cool)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fullofher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    23
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldtraveller
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

There are lots of lovely places to sit and enjoy the sunshine/sunset or avoid the sun completely. It was comfortable and in a good location for walking on the beach or into the village. The inn serves breakfast only but after the third day it lacked variety. To be offered some yoghurt, eggs, ham or cheese would be good. The management and staff were all very helpful. The lack of a restaurant at the time we stayed was a shame as there were only three other places open in the village, two of which are very expensive and quite average and we only found the third option on our last day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A very pretty posada. Not too busy when we were there.
Stayed in a standard room - the rates (even off peak) are massive, and to be honest the other rooms may have better views +/- larger in size, but the garden space, lots of seating, proximity to beach means that a standard room is fine- not sure that we missed out much by not having a more expensive room - though maybe if I saw those rooms I might feel differently! As it was, we were more than happy in our 'standard'.
Use of bikes and golf carts included in room rate.
Decently priced honesty bar.
Restaurant was not open so cannot comment on that, but great breakfasts - you can sit anywhere from inside your room, to the pool, garden, living room - the staff bring it out on trays.
Staff are really great - not all speak English, but they are all more than helpful.
Martin the manager really was fantastic - so helpful and accommodating.
Some other top tips - bring cash - the ATMs don't work.
Book in advance for La Huella.
Most restaurants will take credit card.
Jose Ignacio is lovely - enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Standards are fine if the price of the others is beyond your means
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had the room closest to the road overlooking the beach. It was completely private, huge, and so pretty. You make a short walk to a quiet beach. Everyone who works there was so helpful and friendly. I LOVED this place and the town and Uruguay. What a great way to begin our trip.

Room Tip: I wish I could remember our room number because it was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinganasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westport
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A great experience. We went in the first week of March the beginning of the off season and had wonderful weather a beautiful room for a large discount and were upgraded for free when we arrived. A very relaxing, quaint alternative to its busier neighbors in punta del este.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife and I visited on our honeymoon. The staff knew this ahead of time, and on the evening of our arrival there was a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. I thought that was a nice touch. Also, our flight in was delayed and we arrived quite late, but they kept the restaurant open so we could enjoy a late dinner. I agree with other reviews that it was a bit pricey, but it is worth it. It is a great B&B in what was the best beach town I've ever been to. I hope to return someday soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #7, which has its own cabana. Great place to eat breakfast in the morning overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed on recommendation of a friend and loved this town. I could retire there! The hotel was small, charming, but there was a knocking sound all night long in our room. We asked the staff to see about it and they came to our room and said they couldn't do anything. Clearly there was a shutter or a door in the back of the building causing the noise. I would have at the very least, given us another room or an upgrade. I just didn't get it? The bathroom needed a little TLC and the shampoo bottles were half full, also.
We had a nice view from the first floor and the dog was very cute. I would probably find another place if I returned....

Room Tip: I would try a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenflo11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
1.9 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbol Casa Loft
Arbol Casa Loft
#9 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Faro

Property: La Posada del Faro
Address: Calle de la Bahia Esq. Timonel | Faro Jose Ignacio, Jose Ignacio, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Posada del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Faro Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing