We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven”
Review of La Posada del Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Posada del Faro
Ranked #1 of 9 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This is an amazing place that is truly special. We had a wonderful time and the staff makes it that much more enjoyable! Santiago is a gracious host and made sure we were happy and satisfied at every turn. Thank you everyone at La Posada! We hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilieEpelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

We had more attention from the dogs than the almost non existant staff..

Would have appreciated being told, especially as we came with 2 smallish children (this they knew upfront), that there was no food available at the hotel & that out of season (even though we were charged 300 USD per night) there is basically nothing available at all in Jose Ignacio. On day one there was nobody around until 09:00....when after some 40 minutes some toast & fruit was rustled up......

Freebie bar with absolutely undrinkable wine - that's fine as long as there's a wine list & we can pay for a decent bottle, but no such luck. It was that or nothing.. & belive me nothing means nothing... no other local bar to fall back on.

We were lucky that La Huella beach restaurant was open on the weekend - but its a triffle boring to eat at the same place lunch & dinner every day.

Disapointing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Given other reviews and articles about this hotel , and the cost of staying, we had high expectations and booked to stay for 7 nights as part of a 6 week journey around S.America.
Unfortunately we found it to be only an average experience and, being so, hugely overpriced.
To begin with, the front desk staff are willing enough but are more akin to students than professionals. To add to this, the manager ( Santiago ) has no welcoming manner whatsoever and just doesn't seem to realise that a greeting and a smile goes a long way.
The room was adequate although the bed was quite small.
The breakfast was boringly the same with just a small bowl of fruit, juice, a few pastries and barely enough coffee for 1 cup given to you each day on an individual tray.
There is a small pool and the hotel itself is about 200 metres from a beach.
The food from the snack menu is very poor indeed. The omelette could only have been made with 1 egg, and the tuna sandwhich had almost a microscopic filling.
For those who don't have their own transport the hotel has bicycles of dubious quality which are free to use, as well as a couple of golf buggies... although these are charged at US$40 per day. To that point, I would have thought that given the cost of staying they could have provided these for free, particularly as there are no local taxis. You are only allowed to drive them on the penninsula itself so any useage could not be excessive.
For those like ourselves who had not been to Jose Igancio before you should be aware that there are no ATM's within 20 minutes of driving, and a lot of the restaurants will only take cash.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew9551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Room was quite small, kind of run down. Worn out mattress. Good Breakfast , Nice Staff. Expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This little town is SO charming & wonderful - very relaxing. Beautiful beaches, and a few really fantastic restaurants; we loved NAM, la Huella, and Isla de Flores. A few lovely shops - a bit expensive but really beautiful things. What we loved about this posada, was the peace, the beautiful room, the little porch-deck with a view of the ocean, wonderful ocean breeze at night, lovely staff, wonderful fresh breakfast on our porch as we gazed at the ocean... truly a relaxing time. Night-walks to dinner were just spectacular as we looked up to see orion the hunter - crystal-clear in the sky over us; never saw that or the southern cross before and the night skies were amazing. we were going to stay 3 nights, but stayed on a few more - we travelled a bit east and didnt find anything quite as lovely the next day so we decided to stay on here... what a wonderful spot - excellent vacation; muchas gracias, posada del faro!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realSellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in December in a Double Superior. I really liked the simple charm of the place; we really enjoyed our stay, & the location is great for walking around town & hanging out on the beach. If this were anywhere but Jose Ignacio though, I would expect better service & facilities for what we paid. On the other hand, simple charm is pretty much what Jose Ignacio is about (though this is changing, with quite a bit of construction going on).

We had a great room in all respects but the bathroom. Our room (I think #7) had its own outdoor lounge space, with a trellis, 2 slingback chairs, a table, & a large mattress with pillows, surrounded by hydrangea bushes. This was really a lovely space to hang out in, & worth requesting in advance as I think it's the only one. Inside, the decor was 100% white, relaxing & beachy. Our bed was simple but comfortable. There was bountiful closet space & a mini-bar extremely helpfully stocked with plenty of mineral water at a reasonable price. The disappointment was the bathroom - very plain, a bit dingy, with a small bath; the only amenity was a bar of Luxe soap (albeit cutely wrapped). The entire place had a simple charm to it, but luxurious is not the word. Also, the sliding door to our room did not close or lock properly; we weren't too concerned as the town was quiet when we were there, but it might be an issue during high season, as anyone can easily walk onto the hotel's grounds.

The common areas were comfortable & nicely decorated, but the main pool area is a bit small; without our own lounge area, we would have been fighting for a space had the hotel been full. That said, the "cozy" pool area is also the hotel's charm. There is a sunken honesty bar next to the pool where guests make their own drinks, fronted by a set of stools which make up a swim-up bar; DIY cocktails in this setting are actually quite fun. The pool faces the sea but has privacy due to a large fringe of plants separating the hotel from the public beach. The sunset views from the pool are gorgeous & made our stay here special. The staff makes a bonfire every evening around 9pm. There are 2 adorable house dogs which hang around as well. The whole atmosphere was charming & laid back.

The service was perhaps a bit too laid back, but mostly warm & friendly. Our breakfast orders were not taken properly or served promptly, & we had to ask whether we could have eggs. Drinks are all DIY, but then again this added to the relaxed vibe of the place. The hotel had made a booking for us at La Huella, which the restaurant apparently lost, but the staff were able to get back again. There are a few bikes available, which come in handy for running around town, which is only a few minutes walk away. In all, I would recommend this posada if you're looking for a chic but simple, low-key place, right in town, on the beach, with the few caveats mentioned above.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

After traveling around Chile and Argentina for 2 weeks with a friend, I decided to extend my trip and stay in Buenos Aires. It was January the week before heading back to the states, I decided I wanted to fit in some beach time. I did not do much research. I went to Trip Advisor, looked up Punta del Este B&B's and loved the review on La Posada. I didn't want to be in Punta because I was a single female traveling alone and felt that a quaint hotel would be more comfortable. La Posada was further than I thought, about 45 minutes from the airport. But, when I got there...it was the best uncovered gem. It was BEAUTIFUL, minamilistic, clean and did I mention BEAUTIFUL? I had a standard room on the first floor (room #5) and loved it. If you enjoy sitting by the pool or on the beach relaxing, reading a good book, and listening to music...this is your spot. The rooms do not have TVs (which I didn't even notice until I heard someone complain) but the beds were comfortable, linens fresh and clean and the lapping of the ocean waves....were amazing. I recommend dinner at La Huella on the beach. 10 minute walk. Great atmosphere and amazing food. Nam was located inland, you may need to ask Santiago how to get there as I made some friends who drove us. Nam's food was to die for, but the ambiance was even better. Nam was lit soley by candles and stars....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Make-Time-2-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
1.9 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
Estancia VIK Jose Ignacio
#3 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Paradiso
Hotel Posada Paradiso
#6 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Faro

Address: Calle de la Bahia Esq. Timonel | Faro Jose Ignacio, Jose Ignacio, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price Range: £156 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Posada del Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Faro Hotel Jose Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing