We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise found”
Review of Pacific Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacific Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“paradise found”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

the food was excellent, the staff very accommodating;every cottage has an ocean view, were clean and beautifully decorated. the physical beauty of the land is breathtaking.
we were met at the dock at Boca Chica by a water taxi driven by a very safety minded Pacific Bay Resort staff member; the ride was lovely; we were welcomed by the host Frank, and it was a relaxing and effortless four days. All our needs and requests were taken care of promptly and courteously.
This place is definitely a "two thumbs up" vacation spot.

Room Tip: The host picks the cottage location with the specific needs of the traveler in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Pacific Bay in March before heading to a stay in Boquete. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is not everyone's cup of tea. Pacific Bay is run by solar power and because of its remote location, supplies are not inexpensive so these are definitely not luxury digs but I have to say that we loved it. Frank will arrange transportation from David with a wonderful, friendly and professional lady named Toby Braxton. Our flight from Panama City was delayed more than 5 hours and Toby was standing there in the airport waiting for us, even after all that time. She offers lots of fun information as you travel to Boca Chica and she even stopped to pick cashews from a tree so we could have a taste. She stayed in communication with the Lista transport boat picking us up so that our "delivery" to Pacific Bay was seamless from Frank's end of things. (I cannot say as much for Air Panama.....whatever you do, make sure your lodging doesn't depend on a timely transfer from PC to David or vice versa....our flight was delayed with no explanation and then the airport officials tried to put me on a plane leaving my husband behind....just make sure you don't have tight connections!) After getting out of the boat (wear shoes that can be easily removed so you can climb into the water), we stayed in the blue cottage (Veraguas) overlooking North Beach with lovely views. The room was furnished very simply but we had everything we needed and it was clean. I will stress, as others have mentioned, that there is no air conditioning and it is hot but being from the South, my husband and I are used to humidity, and we knew in advance that AC is not part of the lodging here. There are ceiling fans in each room and we were comfortable each night and had no problem sleeping. The water in the shower was not hot but it was lukewarm and actually felt good....when you're in this part of the world....not a problem. Several people have mentioned the walk to the restaurant at the top of the hill.....yes, it's a walk but we didn't find it to be difficult at all and we're in our sixties. I loved the walk: the views are amazing and the flowers along the path are beautiful. We took booklights so we could read in our room and let them double as flashlights as we returned from dinner each night. The stars are glorious! (During the day, you can see hawks, frigate birds, parrots, howler monkeys, iguanas and Warrior, Frank's pet deer.) If you have a disability of some sort, the walk up could be a problem but I believe in that case, Frank would be more than happy to arrange someone to transport you to meals in a golf cart if requested and perhaps, this would still not be the best resort for you. The first 24 hours of our stay, Frank was out of town but everyone took great care of us. We especially loved Joanna: she practiced her English on us and we practiced our pitiful amount of Spanish on her but found that we were able to communicate anything we needed. It was great fun and her lovely smile and sweet demeanor are some of our fondest memories. She's a very hard worker and a jewel! We truly enjoyed our meals at Pacific Bay and found them all to be delicious: lots of tuna, fish and vegetarian dishes, which is right up our alley. (Be sure to ask Frank what his menu plans: he is more than willing to accommodate your dietary needs in any way possible.) Fresh fruit was plentiful and French toast was my favorite breakfast choice. The lime mousse we had for dessert our first evening was absolutely delightful and Frank, where's that recipe???? The view from the dining area is lovely but it can be quite warm and there are insects so be sure to wear repellant in the evenings. If you're a snacker, you need to bring your own: nuts, pretzels, granola bars will do the trick. Then, there's the matter of the beaches: North Beach, South Beach and Full Moon Lagoon: one of the first questions we heard upon arrival, was where did we want our hammocks placed? North Beach is beautiful from the hill but the beach is open and doesn't offer the shade that South Beach does. When we got to South Beach, it was so beautiful that we never made it to the third one: South Beach is a gorgeous beach with tall, shady palms (about a 10-minute walk from our cottage), and the 4 days we spent on this beach were some of the most relaxing days we've ever spent anywhere in the world. Glorious, lazy days swinging in a hammock with books to read, a dip in the water whenever we wanted, monkeys to watch as they paraded past us with a wary eye and lovely birds for sweet background music. We originally planned to go out on a boat trip with Frank but after we arrived and experienced this quiet beach, we decided that we had no reason to leave. We were the only guests for the first 3 days we were there and no one else was EVER at this beach during our entire stay so we had complete privacy. And that alone was worth the price, which I thought was unbelievably reasonable to start with........and then there's Frank....what a guy: truly one of the most interesting people we've ever met. I don't even know where to begin but he's a charmer with a great sense of humor but also a man with a sense of purpose. My husband I both fell in love with his respect for the environment and his appreciation of the indigenous peoples, not to mention his talent in a kitchen! There is no room service, no one to serve you drinks at the beach, no AC and you do have biting insects but I still thought this was a bargain lodging for the price: a beautiful beach all to yourself in your own little paradise. A rare find!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Pacific Bay Resort...well lets start with the good points. It's beautiful, the beaches are clean and deserted, sea is calm and warm staff are lovely and Frank, what can I say about Frank! He is such a charming funny interesting bloke it almost makes up for the shortcomings of the resort. He is great company and does a lot for the surrounding communities, we went on a boat trip with him and it was great, he had me in stitches all day and is a font of knowledge when it comes to travelling! Onto the bad points, (I spent a week in a sand floor bamboo hut with no lights shared bathrooms and awful food in San Blas and it was amazing and i gave it five stars, take this into account when you read the next part! I'm not someone who complains easily) the resort is spread out and the walking is tough, near vertical hills going up to the restaurant area, you might say I'm unfit, I assure you I'm slim healthy and swim/gym a lot. The heat just added to it, it was the hottest place I've ever been, even India had some respite. You were soaked by the time you got seated for your food. The staff all travel around in golf carts which guests can't rent (it's a bit annoying when you walk 20 mins to the beach only to see someone drive right past you!) the rooms were hotter than being outside, the solitary fan high up on the ceiling barely spun and made little difference..rooms are dated and could do with a revamp. Finally the food...I know the chef tries hard but it really was substandard...coleslaw for a starter one night..for 150dollars plus a night I expected something better..final night we asked what's for dinner and got told tofu..we asked for something else and they gave us fish instead but if we hadn't have asked it would have been tofu...not being vegetarian I wasn't expecting to go for two nights without meat ( eggplant the night before). Breakfast, the fruit was lovely as were the juices...french toast was a disaster...gooey not crisp at all i couldnt eat it. If Frank wasn't such a great bloke I would have rated it lower but he is, so three stars seems fair. Golfo de Chiriqui is astonishingly beautiful and well worth a visit but for the same price you could go to San Blas, have the same level of comfort and bad food but have a more stunning location and a once in a lifetime experience there isnt any comparison...if you can do both then do it! I did! All things aside two nights just to see how pretty it is, see the monkeys enjoy the beach and spend some time with Frank would be a good stop on a round panama trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonCouple01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, FL
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were the only guests for the two nights that we spent at Pacific Bay and we loved it! Our boat transfer met us right on time and we enjoyed a gorgeous 25 minute boat ride to this wonderful hideaway. Be aware that it is a wet landing, but your things will be carried ashore for you. We were met at the water's edge by the owner, Frank. He gave us a few minutes to get settled into our little pink cottage right by the water and then took us all over the property in a golf cart to show us everything. He is such an interesting person and we enjoyed many converstaions with him and left feeling like we had a new friend. All of the staff were wonderful and attentive. The reception/dining area is at the top of a steep hill, but oh, what a view! Magnificent! Frank offered to pick us up or drop us by golf cart, but we always walked. We needed the exercise after eating so much deliciious food! We loved sitting on our little porch, sipping wine and watching the howler monkeys. This may not be the place for everyone. It is not a super luxurious place. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. There is hot water if you ask for it - we never needed it. We filled water bottles every day and brought them down. There is no fancy "decor", but you will not want to be in your room much anyway.
Finally, the day came to leave. The wind was blowing at least 25 knots and the seas were rough. Our boat trip back lasted an hour and we got completely soaked. But it all added to the adventure and we will not soon forget this place.

Room Tip: The pink cottage had lovely views and a short walk to the beach, but had the longest walk to the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison ct
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We are a family of 5, kids ages 10-16 and we had a very mixed experience here. Everything people have written before us is true, the good and the bad! Yes, it is absolutely astoundingly gorgeous, where else can you be alone on a beach with palm trees, warm water and coconuts in a hammock snorkeling in your birthday suit?! That close to the USA! The wildlife is out of this world, who eats lunch with monkeys and who feeds deer out of their hands? This place is surreal!
But, we were hungry, very very hot (no fan b/c solar power broke), and climbing that hill from our house to the restaurant almost killed us every meal, and even though Frank the owner is a great guy, sometimes we didn't want to eat dinner with him (sorry family vacation). So we decided to rename the spot the Eco Lodge because It is Ecologically very earth friendly, it is also very economically run (I mean frank told us he doesn't let the chef throw out tomato cores, he has to use them in salsa!)and it is a lodge, not a resort- the little houses have 1950's bathrooms with no ventilation so the towels never dry (and the towels are thin), and resort implies luxury which is lacking, "roughing it" is the name of the game here!

Go here, try it if you are wildlife loving, extremely fit (lots of hills), don't care about food, beach loving, hiker who wants to sit in a hammock read and listen to Frank regale you with his stories of yesteryear! It is simply gorgeous scenery

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antonia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My Rating: 3.9 (but could easily be better)
Highlights: Being the only couple on a secluded beach relaxing in hammocks and enjoying a cooling breeze. Life does not get much better!
Lowlights: Decor
Arranged to get picked up at 3 in afternoon with Frank the owner. Boat was on time and Frank met us in the boat. Kind of confusing which boat is for the resort. About a 30-45 minute ride to resort. We made a beach landing out of the boat so be prepared but a lot of fun. The resort has some very steep climbs so be prepared. Our room was somewhat dated and needed a good cleaning and some repairs. I was surprised to hear that the place was built in the 90’s. Thought it seemed more like the 70’s. The resort itself is secluded and uncrowded. Only 1 or 2 other couples here the 4 days that we stayed. Frank was handy all the times. Food was excellent and varied every day. Lots of fresh fruit. Beer and wine was more expensive than we found elsewhere. No liquor price menu so keep this in mind. Frank is a very interesting person and made our stay far more enjoyable with his humor and hospitality . Think he even gave me a hug when we left and was very kind to us during our stay as we both had been fighting severe colds. Pacific Bay resort is good if you are interested in off grid vacation or into an holistic lifestyle. Some small things could make this resort exceptional. Rooms\decor need to be modernized. Some minor maintenance issues. Could use drinking water in the rooms every day.
We spent a few days on a beautiful beach in a private cove reading and swinging in hammocks with no one else in sight, ever. Not many places that you can do this.
Probably the best deal\value in Panama. Could easily be a 5 rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

At the end of December 2012 we stayed a couple of days at the PBR. It is the 3th time we visited Panama and we have visited several places in the last 5 years. The Pacific Bay Resort has become our favourite place to be. The beautiful nature, space, quitness, and very friendly staff made that we felled in love with this little place of beauty in the Pacific.
We certainly will come back!

Jolanda
The Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 353Jolanda353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Bejuco
0.0 mi away
Cala Mia Island Resort
Cala Mia Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
308 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Bay Resort

Property: Pacific Bay Resort
Address: Punta Bejuco, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Punta Bejuco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Bay Hotel Punta Bejuco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing