We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, comfort and freindly - Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Flottemanville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flottemanville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2007

We stayed at the Chateau for 1 night while travelling from Cherbourg to Spain.

We really wished we could have stayed longer, the building is facinating, while a comfortable family home.

We stayed in the Chateau itself, the bedroom was enormous with antiques and a lovely big comfy bed. The bathroom had a spa bath.

For breakfast we were shown into a beautiful drawing room, again we surrounded by antiques. The breakfast of several different breads and homemade jams was laid out for us to sit with our backs to an enormous log fire. The price for this 80E.

We ate a really good evening meal down the road at a small auberge.

I would recommend this chateau to anyone visiting the area, check out the website for different prices in other areas of the building.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sunsetmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2007

We were staying in Brittany with family, but wanted to stop off somewhere on the way and on the way back. I came across the Chateau searching for hotels in the Cherbourg region. What a find! A beautiful Chateau, set in a peaceful area. Francoise was a perfect host. We had a small apartment in the outbuildings which suited us as we had two children with us - they also fell in love with the place and were quite upset that we weren't spending the whole 2 weeks there! It was an easy drive to Omaha and Utah beaches and a quick commute to Cherbourg. We highly recommend a stay at Chateau Flottemanville.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshgirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2006

We spent 3 wonderful nights at the Chateau de Flottemanville and we would highly recommend this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the B&B in the out building, 2 adults and 2 preteens and we were thrilled with the space and setting of the Chateau. The location is perfect for exploration of the Normandy region. Nearly all of the major sites are only an hour away including Mont St Michel, Cherbourg and so many of the WW2 battlefields and museums. The location is not easy to find as you must turn just prior to entering the town of Valognes, but we arrived for our first evening after dark and luckily were given directions by several very helpful people in town. After we knew our way we were fine in coming and going after hours. Breakast was wonderful, we were able to set the time we wanted to eat each day, the couple that operates the Chateau were so friendly and helpful. Each day they asked where we were heading and provided local maps or advice on where to stop for a quick bite of lunch. The outbuilding is upstairs so if you do not want to drag your suitcases up a set of stairs keep that in mind. However, the view of the countryside was very pretty and the rooms were huge! As you enter the suite there is a large entry area with a buffet and a coffee and teapot with different kinds of tea to choose from, if you wish to make a pot while in your room. This area is perfect for shoes,coats, suitcases etc. The bathroom had both a shower and a tub so more than one person could use it at a time. The kids stayed in a room with 2 twin beds that was about 12' by 15' with a large armoire to place clothing and suitcases in. Our room was easily 15' by 30' and had a fireplace, couch, desk, armoire and bed. The linens were luxurious and we had fresh towels daily. This was truly a wonderful place to stay and when we return to this area we will stay again.

3  Thank dlmerril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2005

After arriving at the chateau and showed to our 2 double rooms in the 'out building' we were very much left to our own devices.
The rooms were outstandingly clean, very bright and the bathroom was very large. This is more than a Bed and Breakfast, this is a home from home, the only fault i could pick was that the tea and coffee facilities really needed a small fridge if we were to stay any longer than a weekend.
Breakfast in the main part of the chateau was set in an incredible room inside the main building and was very nice, but for those used to a 'full english breakfast', dont expect too much.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak good english.
Overall, if you are wanting to stay in Normandy, this chateau is very romantic, and is a very nice place to stay.
Dont judge the rooms from the photos on the website.. trust me, they are very large and bright. The photos do not do them justice.

7  Thank Daniel204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjaminberthou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flottemanville, Propriétaire at Chateau de Flottemanville, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sylvain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flottemanville, Propriétaire at Chateau de Flottemanville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flottemanville
8.5 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Bricquebec
220 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
290 reviews
11.3 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#3 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
274 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel des Ormes
Hotel des Ormes
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
196 reviews
7.5 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Flottemanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Flottemanville

Address: le Chateau, 50700 Flottemanville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Flottemanville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flottemanville
Price Range: £58 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In between Cherbourg and Caen in beautiful Normandy close to the landing beaches, Château de Flottemanville and its family welcomes you with warmth and hospitality to a peaceful environment and with interesting architectural decor. Built in the middle of the 13 century, it saw some changes during the XV century with the construction of the chapel, the octagonal gothic towers and the Renaissance Italian-style "Loggia." The place is also the home of 15 horses that can be used for horse carriage rides and one big friendly dog! As did the famous "Chevalier Bayard" and come and enjoy! In the park 4 independent charming country houses cottage, lodging each from 2 to 10, can be rented for your holidays. 5 spacious B&B rooms in the chateau are available to rent including healthy breakfast with homemade jam and fresh pastries. Flottemanville is accessible by train from the close by Valognes train station. Directions from Valognes D2 for St Sauveur le Vicompte, left onto D24, 3km, auberge Pont Cochon left before bridge. Dirveway on left opp. Church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Flottemanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing