We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place to Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctuary in the Cove
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Place to Stay!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Sanctuary in the Cove our first was in 2009, its just a magical magnet for us both, the accommodation is exceptional and Bruce has thought of everything you would need as if you were at home, the scenery is just amazing! waking up to the sound of the ocean was just beautiful and by night looking up at the stars which we NEVER see at home. We bought our boat along with us for the first time which was great as the fishing was just too good! and no we wont let you know where we fished but lets just say you would be able to see the boat from the Sanctuary wink, wink.....we are already dreaming about our next visit....thank you once again Bruce for being so accommodating, we would definitely recommend the Sanctuary to anyone!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We found the accomodation very well appointed and exceptionally clean. The setting was stunning and serene.Our host was very accommodating and met all our needs. It was very private and secluded with wonderful native bird life and gracious 400 year old Pohutukawa trees embracing the waters edge. A must do again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOIHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Sanctuary was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Bruce was generous enough to put us up after we cycled from Bluff to Cape Reinga. We were quite exhausted, but this was the best place we could possibly imagine to bring us back on our feet. The comfortable cottage and the beautiful view were complimented by the perfect host, as Bruce treated us like royalty! I would recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Found this place by accident going through various websites to find accommodation near Coopers Beach. Soon after you drive through the entrance gates you know you are somewhere special. The property owner, Bruce, is friendly, helpful and is very knowledgeable about the area.
We stayed in the Cove Cottage for 5 nights from 14/1/2012 and were blown away by its location and the view. On a sunny afternoon with the tide fully in the view from the cottage is fantastic. A large portion of the cove is rocky and uncovered at low tide but is fascinating and fun to wander over and simply look at. There are rocky outcrops and clumps of mangroves to help decorate the view.
We saw some nice sunsets, sunrises and whether the day is sunny or cloudy, it is always interesting. I love photography and had a good time.
I tried some fishing from the rocks in front of the cottage at low tide (200 metre easy walk from the cottage) and it took me just 60 seconds to have a legal sized snapper in the bucket!
If you want peace and quiet, well, you won't get much better than this. We saw nobody walk in front of our section during the whole 5 days. There are only 5 houses directly on this cove and Bruce owns three of them (the 2 cottages and his house).
There is a spectacular water garden on the property which includes a magnificent waterfall and stream and two areas to sit and relax. This blew me away and apparently cost megabucks. The owner has planted over 3000 trees and shrubs on the property since acquiring it.
You can simply just relax here with a book and enjoy the changing view or indulge in many other activities in the area - hiking, golf, beaches galore, cafe's, fishing, drives etc.

We will be back in early 2013 and probably for a few days every year after that - this place has touched us that much!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Wonderful accommodation set in a private, secure garden paradise with amazing sea views. We stayed in the Pohutukawa Cottage over Christmas and it was truly special. Bruce was a welcoming and friendly host and the bottle of champagne upon arrival a lovely touch. The cottage was clean, well appointed with full kitchen facilities if needed. A BBQ was also available.

It was wonderful to have breakfast outside in the garden and enjoy the incredible view, later on grabbing one of the cottage's own kayaks to explore the cove!

It was also a great place to explore the area from - we went right up to Cape Reinga and Te Paki sand dunes.

We left the Pohutukawa Cottage with a heavy heart but will definitely book it again when visiting this beautiful part of NZ. Thanks Bruce for sharing your spot of paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in the main house as the Bach's were fully booked. Bruce is an excellent host, very accommodating. The accommodation is set in beautiful grounds, a type of botanical gardens. Breakfast was great. Bruce's girlfirend prepared a wonderful continental breakfast. On the down side for $275 per night the accommodation was a bit pricey compared to other B&B's and the room weren't serviced. I would have expected that for the price we were paying. The house is great with fantastic views.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

From the friendly pre-arrival correspondence to a very warm welcome Bruce (owner) was a very gracious host. Sanctuary in the Cove is in a very secure and peaceful location with a stunning view. Set amongst lovely gardens with a wonderful water garden too this place is like staying in your very own holiday home right on the water. It is a great place to explore. We enjoyed using the kayaks and also exploring the rock pools when the tide was out. My husband even went out fishing. The weather was unseasonally warm. It is also a wonderful place to explore the Far North from. It was our first time in Northland so we had a good look around. Going to Kaitaia and Cape Reinga, the Karikari peninsula and quaint Mangonui. We stayed in the Pohutakawa Cottage which is well appointed with great kitchen facilities if you want to stay at home for dinner. If not, there are several cafes and restaurants within a few minutes driving distance. We highly recommend this spot for your Far North holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
11.3 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
2.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary in the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary in the Cove

Property: Sanctuary in the Cove
Address: 283 State Hwy 10, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary in the Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained accommodation in a choice of two waterfront modern cottages. Your secluded hideaway is set within a large property of natural bush and sub-tropical landscaped gardens. Relax in peace and privacy with a stunning outlook onto a hidden cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Sanctuary in the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing