We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem in Coopers Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary in the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanctuary in the Cove
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Coopers Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Bruce was very welcoming and made us feel at home in his very special slice of Coopers Beach.
The two private beaches are either side of his private home and both overlook the cove. Each are extremely private and are fully self contained with kitchen, laundery etc. ... A home away from home!
We were there for too shorter time to use the kayaks and fishing dinghy but will hopefully be back to enjoy during another stay.

Room Tip: Each Bach is very private and have specatcular views but I think The Cove would have better swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling81271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Our experience of Sanctuary in the Cove was a joy from start to finish. After a busy and hectic time on the road, to be able to drop in to a small piece of paradise and step away from the world was a wondrous blessing. Bruce has done the most wonderful job in setting this place up as just that-century. We cannot speak highly enough of his service, of providing all we needed and more, and for his attention to detail. From the moment we arrived we felt more as if we were arriving at our own holiday home than at paid accommodation. There is a wonderfully homely feeling to the place, a sense of time out of time and the ability to absolutely relax and be at home.
The beds were divine, and the ability to go to sleep with the sound of the ocean in our ears meant we had a wonderful night's rest.
We cannot fault this place and anyway, and should we be back this way, there is no question that this would be our first and only choice.
Many thanks, Bruce. You have done a wonderful job, and this place is worth every cent we paid for it.
We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBridge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

It is definitely a sanctuary. We had our own bit of bay, a river, a gorgeous cottage, canoes. And such a peaceful spot. Thanks heaps Bruce. We loved every minute. Surprisingly, the drive up from Auckland was also delightful. Then there was the great restaurants a few minutes away - although you think you're miles from anyone.
Bruce took us out in his boat, we trawled a line, caught a fish, ate it for breakfast. We squeezed oranges from the trees in the garden and sat in the water garden to write poetry - didn't happen but the water garden is inspiring. Actually the whole garden was a surprise, with labelled trees you pass on the different strolls through the grounds.
All up, a lovely experience

Room Tip: There's 2 cottages, so it's not too difficult a choice. And each cottage has two sunlounges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Our three night stay at Sanctuary in the Cove's Cove Cottage was a complete delight. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed and the scenery is superb. We enjoyed using the supplied kayaks to tootle around the bay and the walk over the headland to stunning Coopers Beach is worth the effort. Squeezing fresh citrus from the property's gardens provided a zingy start to each day. Would thoroughly recommend this venue.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view from the bedroom, then Cove Cottage is your best bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a fabulous location we’d love to hug selfishly to ourselves. From the moment we drove through the electronic gates into four acres of beautiful subtropical gardens, we were in another world. Our roomy waterfront cottage was exceptionally well equipped and clean, the beds blissfully comfortable, and on site owner, Bruce, had added extra touches like fluffy white bath robes and well chosen CDs. “The cottage is private and you won’t see me unless you want to,” said Bruce.
Our holiday bucket list was scarcely dented because Sanctuary in the Cove was simply too beautiful to leave - we enjoyed paddling around the cove in the kayaks, scrambling around the rocks to Cable Bay, or reading while soaking up the warm Northland sun.
In the evenings, over a glass of red, we watched the prolific birdlife - dominated by melodic tui bossily claiming sole rights to ancient pohutakawa on the water’s edge. Later the spectacular sunsets were reflected in the waters of ‘our’ cove - a magical place.
Four nights in Pohutakawa Cottage just wasn’t long enough. Thanks Bruce, for sharing your unique piece of paradise – we look forward to revisiting.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whangarei
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I have just spent 3 wonderful nights at the Sanctuary. We stayed in Cove Cottage which was on the waterfront. The cottage itself was immaculate and was fully self contained. For 3 days we had great weather which allowed us to take advantage of the kayaks. Bruce, our host has done a wonderful job in establishing the sub tropical garden which is spread out over a couple of acres.
The Sanctuary is a great place to relax and unwind and enjoy the lovely sunsets. There is nothing more enjoyable than having a glass of wine on the balcony enjoying Bruce's sanctuary. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmersDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was just one of many trip to the Sanctuary, a place to be still and recharge the batteries. I always come away feeling rested, relaxed, and content from all the good food the region has.

Room Tip: Both cottages have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
11.3 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
1.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.2 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
1.0 mi away
Doubtless Bay Villas
Doubtless Bay Villas
#1 of 3 in Cable Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary in the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary in the Cove

Property: Sanctuary in the Cove
Address: 283 State Hwy 10, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary in the Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained accommodation in a choice of two waterfront modern cottages. Your secluded hideaway is set within a large property of natural bush and sub-tropical landscaped gardens. Relax in peace and privacy with a stunning outlook onto a hidden cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanctuary in the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing