We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views and peaceful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctuary in the Cove
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning views and peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in Pohutukawa Cottage for three nights to help celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary, and what a wonderful relaxing location we picked. The weather was outstanding so we were able to make the most of the beautiful gardens and views out over to Karikari peninsula. Sanctuary in the Cove is the perfect location for exploring Doubtless Bay and up to Cape Reinga, lots of stunning quiet beaches to explore, particularly Matai Bay at the top of Karikari peninsula. Bruce has done a fantastic job of keeping the two cottages private yet within the grounds of his house. Highly recommended as a place to stay, very well equipped and comfortable cottage so self catering was easy, though restaurants only 5 minutes away in Mangonui. Would love to come back and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were fortunate that due to a cancellation we could spend 2 nights in 'Cove Cottage' between Christmas and New Year. The setting is breathtaking, and accommodation just lovely - very well equipped and comfortable including wifi. We were unlucky with the weather but what better place to relax and read on a rainy day than this private waterfront paradise. Host Bruce was friendly and obliging. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My partner and I had the good fortune to stay in The Cove Cottage at this appropriately named boutique resort in October 2013. It was a magical experience.
Magnificent grounds,the sea, the well appointed cottage, and the the most helpful and friendly owner all contributed to our enjoyment.
Good retaurants, and for those afflicted with the addiction, two golf courses,all close by.
We unreservedly recommend Sanctury In The Cove - especially to those wanting to experience tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely secluded spot right on the beach.

We stayed in the Cove Cottage. Very private.

Nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. All you need to self cater, plus close to Mangonui for restaurants if you want to eat out.

We didn't use the kayaks, but great that they're available as part of the cottage rental. The gardens are amazing too. Lots of options for beach walks and other activities in the local area.

Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had our wedding and reception at Sanctuary during February 2013. Despite getting the only rain in the middle of a drought it was a perfect day. Bruce was helpful at all times and even had a good supply of nice white umbrellas just in case.

The venue couldn't have been better and easily accommodated the 110 people present. We hired an 18m X 15m stretch marquee that fit perfectly in front of Cove Cottage. The cottages were great for the Bridal and Groom parties to get ready in and were useful accommodation for selected members of the wedding party.

The garage was suitable for the excellent catering we received through Food at Wharepuke who came out from Kerikeri.

Overall it was everything we could have wanted in a venue for the type of wedding we had planned. We got many positive comments from our friends and family who attended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcg_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our second visit to Pohutakawa cottage was as perfect as the first. The cottage is extremely well equipped right down to fluffy white bathrobes and the important husband essential - SKY sport channels! The private water front situation, accessed via a long drive through beautiful grounds, makes self catering a pleasure. We brought most supplies with us and bought the remainder at the smallish well laid out supermarket in Cooper's Beach (the staff here are friendly and helpful), only 15 minutes walk from the property. Historic Mangonui and its famous wharf fish shop, old hotel and good cafes are ten minutes drive or an hour's walk away - the walk along beautiful Cooper's beach and over the hill to Mill Bay is rewarding. If you like deserted beaches take a picnic up to Matai Bay (Karikari peninsula) on a fine winters day. Thanks again to our friendly, helpful but unobtrusive host, Bruce. We are already planning a return to launch those kayaks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Four nights in February were not enough. Delightful cottages - both are good - and really well equipped. Relaxed and welcoming host. Good location for exploring the north of Northland - don't miss the Karikari peninsula if you like beaches to yourself.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.7 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
11.3 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
2.1 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary in the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary in the Cove

Property: Sanctuary in the Cove
Address: 283 State Hwy 10, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary in the Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained accommodation in a choice of two waterfront modern cottages. Your secluded hideaway is set within a large property of natural bush and sub-tropical landscaped gardens. Relax in peace and privacy with a stunning outlook onto a hidden cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Sanctuary in the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing