We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B and wonderful host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coopers Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Famous Blue Chair B & B
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B & B and wonderful host”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Jenny and Andy were so supportive and friendly. They told us everything we needed to know about the area and about NZ as we are from California. They were extremely generous with their time and were happy to help us with everything we needed. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and again very generous with everything you would ever want for breakfast.
The room was very comfortable and clean and had many extra touches, even chocolate!
I highly recommend this quaint and beautiful retreat to anyone traveling to Coopers Beach area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Thank you so much Jennie and Andy for your hospitality during our stay. We were very impressed with the breakfasts and found the room to be comfortable.. One of us has arthritis and found the spa very relaxing, and the mattress very supportive. The view of the stars overhead from the spa was magic! We will definitely come back on our next visit to the Far North.

Room Tip: If you want friendly hosts who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent two days here and enjoyed our stay, the owners are very friendly and like to have a chat and can tell you all about the area. The breakfasts were very good and the complimentary bottle of bubbly on arrival was a nice touch. We didn't find it particularly private as the accommodation is very close to the owners living quarters so wouldn't recommend this if you are looking for a private and romantic stay.
It's surprising to read that everyone found the bed comfortable, because we didn't. It was like a temporary put-me-up bed and was quite lumpy and we felt it let down the quality of the place as everything else in the room was well thought out and presented. Overall though, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We spent a few nights here and found it to be a fabulous relaxing sanctuary. The owners are so friendly and helpful and really cannot do enough to make your stay special and there are so many nice little touches.
The SPA is fabulous and we enjoyed sharing a bottle of wine whilst gazing at the stars in the clear sky!
The beach is lovely and there is a gorgeous fish and chip shop down at the little harbour bay.
We would thoroughly recommend this B&B whether you are a family or a couple.
We will definitely go back on our next trip to NZ.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollyius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation and its hosts, they are knowledgeable in the local area and the accommodation is superb. The breakfast was delicious. Would defiantly go back. Highly recommend the famous fish and chip shop over the wharf at Mangonui.The beach at Cable Bay and the ice cream shop is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The owners are lovely and bent over backwards to provide us with information. Can't speak highly enough of them - so helpful and friendly, salt of the earth. The room was super clean and comfortable - also nice to have access to the deck and hot tub. It proved an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding area - the bays, beaches and little settlements. It's definitely worth a weekend, to explore that part further north of the Bay of Island often missed.

The location is quiet but not amazing. There is no swimming pool or fitness centre - this is a small, friendly B&B! But who needs a pool when you have the Pacific a stone's throw away.

On the B&B point, this is comfortable accommodation, family run, and has a lot going for it. Like a lot of B&Bs, it's not hugely private - part of a house but self-sealed etc etc. If you are after a weekend purely of romance this is probably not the place for you ;) .

Enjoy!
Owain and Nela

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osmo150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My bf and i had never been this far north, but both of us fell in love with coopers beach. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. The room was adorable and i loved the interior, the bed was very comfy! My bf was impressed there was a TV. The complimentary dessert was delicious! The spa was nice and warm. I enjoyed the walk the beach and the weather was perfect for us! The hosts were also very helpful and gave us lots of ideas for activities, one was to drive up to the viewing point to watch the sunset and the view of coopers beach which was gorgeous. Breakfast was yummy, no shortage of variety of food that's for sure. I had troubles with the coffee, by the time i worked out how to open it, it was cold. Also the tap in the bathroom needed a little clean. But besides that i couldn't of thought of a better place to enjoy my weekend. Thank you very much and i will recommend you to all of my friends and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blayne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coopers Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
0.0 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary in the Cove
Sanctuary in the Cove
#4 of 4 in Coopers Beach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Famous Blue Chair B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famous Blue Chair B & B

Property: Famous Blue Chair B & B
Address: | Mangonui Northland, Coopers Beach, Mangonui, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coopers Beach
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind come sit on the Blue Chair! Have your own private entrance - SKY movie channels, Spa pool and double hammock. Set in a relaxed sea-side community with cafes, restaurants and arts and crafts. A boat-ramp, vineyards and golf courses are in close proximity. A great all season base for exploring the beautiful Far North. Enjoy a day trip to Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach , visit historic sites and the ancient Kauri kingdom; charter a boat or fish from the beach, wharf or rocks. Gather shellfish from the beach at low tide, watch the dolphins, stroll along the 2km long beach. It has a "get-away from it all feel" and both national and international visitors have enjoyed their holidays at this coastal paradise. There are two airports within 45mins drive which link to Auckland International Airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing