We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website pics do no justics... Breath taking, beautiful, family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Website pics do no justics... Breath taking, beautiful, family friendly”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at By the Bay in the Willawong apartment, which we were upgraded to because no other rooms were free.

I think it's the best room, we saw two of the others. It was impeccably clean, beds were comfortable and warm, games, books, an abundance of towels for bathroom and beach. There was an abundance of everything, plates, cutlery, pots and pans. All very good quality, they even provided paper towels, glad wrap and tin foil, Apartment was literally home away from home, as others have said, you want for nothing. We had a balcony off our room and also one off the living area. Outdoor furniture was useful for eating with a beach view, just thinking of brings back fond feelings.

The view is breath taking, the ocean, the sound of the waves, it was magic.

On top of all of that, the manager is a lovely lady who is very friendly.

The beach access makes you feel like royalty and my kids loved the use of the boards and gear in the large shed full of things to use in the water.

The waves at the beach were fun for the kids and the water was very shallow and warm.

A perfect spot to get away from Auckland and the drive up was a lovely look at the rustic-ness of the Far North.

The decks aren't private, but we had lovely people around us so that didn't matter to us.

I miss this place and have rebooked for Xmas!!!

p.s. I do NOT recommend the Monganui Fish and Chips - totally over rated, seafood was not fresh. Go to the Fish and Chip shop by the 4 square and get battered scallops and mussles. A lot better value for money.

Room Tip: Willawong great for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFDJ UP FAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
91
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We booked 4 x nights at By the Bay and everything exceeded expectations. Every little detail was carefully thought out and we didn't want for anything. The location was stunning and just a short drive up to Karikari Peninsula - the beaches at which were exceptional.
The place was quiet, private, out of the way and everything you could need (shops/petrol station etc) was just a short drive away. Thanks so much for a great time :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I booked a weekend stay at By the Bay using a Groupon voucher - great value for money! We stayed in the Malindi apartment just before Christmas so no crowds and usual summertime buzz - the self contained unit had stunning views of the sea from the balcony with the beach/sea only metres from the apartment. A perfect way to relax at the end of the year!
Cheers Fiona for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zigzagzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

With white sand beaches just a few steps from your door this place is a perfect summer get away. This place has it all, outdoor equipment to hit the beach with, outdoor spa over looking the ocean, bright clean tidy rooms and a fantastic host. Only down side is the noise from the other rooms but the builder was there addressing the problem so we will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezandsuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed four glorious nights in the Willawong room - our family of four and another family of four (all kids < 4). The apartment was beautifully clean and well suited to young kids: all decks fully enclosed and all on one level bar a couple of steps up into the lounge.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the apartment was super well equipped, with everything you'd need on a summer holiday, and other comfort items like ground coffee and a decent coffee machine - vital for those of us with young kids.

The views from the deck are breath-taking, and the opportunity to have a spa overlooking the beach at night was just brilliant. There's a communal BBQ too.

We didn't get a chance to use it, but there is a shed full of watersports gear (kayaks etc) for guests to use which I thought was great.

The service was excellent, and when we inevitably left a couple of clothing items behind, Fiona posted them on to us immediately.

All in all, a fantastic place to stay on a stunning beach. I'd go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Fantastic location and amazing apartment. the most beautiful and breathtaking views. Everything you need at your doorstep! All topped off with a lovely friendly welcome from Fiona and Cleo the Jack Russell. My family really enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: Spurway - This Corner apartment is large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We spent 4 days at By The Bay. Guests are made to feel very welcome, with nothing being too much trouble. The apartment was impeccably clean and very well presented. The kitchen is well equipped, and even freshly ground coffee was supplied. There were little touches all over the apartment which really makes a difference. Fresh flowers, the coffee, skincare samples. I had a facial with Fiona, which was lovely and very relaxing. All in all a wonderful break in a very pretty spot. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beausun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Property: By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Address: 16 Braemar Avenue, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing