We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place”
Review of Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coopers Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Lodge
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We were up in Coopers Beach for Christmas and were lucky enough stay at Beach Lodge - a recommendation from a Kiwi cousin who knew the owner. The place is lovely - a great location overlooking the beach, really well appointed cottages and in Margaret Morrison one of the best hostesses in New Zealand. Despite not brilliant weather we had a wonderful time - the highlight of which was a long and jolly Christmas lunch with Margaret and her nephew.
Moss - you gave us a Christmas we won't forget in a hurry and which now sets the benchmark for our family - many many thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

A lovely welcome, lovely room, with amazing views of the sea, right outside the window. Very good value.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Margaret, your host will be very helpful without being in your space, she helped us by showing us to our room and where to park on arrival, I particually like this because we have been places before where people give you little or no information and expect you to know what to do, I found this really welcoming and felt at ease instantly, like you were coming to stay with a close relative!

The View is stunning, walking on the beach at low tide was relaxing and waking up to the crashing of the waves....Just Bliss! Not to mention the Fantastic "cloud" bed, I thought mine was comfortable!

We enjoyed fish and chips from Mangonui Fish and Chip shop and then Thai Chef Resturant by the water for an Amazing "tickle your taste buds" dinner!!

I cant say enough, you'll have to go and see for yourself, it really is a home away from home, we stayed one night but could have happily stayed a week, we are definatly coming back!

Room Tip: Full view of the bay in room 5 ( last one on the line, we felt it was more private) Didnt get room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asheka Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The perfect end to a wonderful vacation! The room, view, and Margaret were just what we needed after two weeks traveling around New Zealand. Margaret was a great host who made us feel very comfortable. She gave us ideas of where to go, what to see and where to eat in nearby towns/communities. Her knowledge of the area was a great help in seeing all the sights we could during our stay. Coming back to our rooms each night to relax on our private deck was delightful. The view was spectacular and the sound of the waves on the beach was soothing. The on-site laundry facility was important to us. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlantis_514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

What a wonderful stay! The apartments were beautiful, tastefully furnished and very clean. It was an incredible place to relax and unwind, the beach is beautiful for walks and lovely for swimming. Margaret was such an amazing host, we felt welcomed from the minute we arrived and didn't want to leave. I would say this is one of the top places I have ever stayed, I hope we will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

It was so good and Margaret so wonderful (she admitted to being drunk on our arrival), that if too many people go there it will be too busy for us to go back. My wife christened it 'paradise' and that was before Margaret knocked on our door with a plate of smoked local fish.

Stunning!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a beautiful place to put your bags down for a day, a week, a month! This is our 6th visit and we keep coming back to Beach Lodge. Margaret is a fabulous host and has thought of absolutely everything. The fully contained suites are serviced daily so everything is kept beautifully clean - the condition of our suite has hardly changed since our first visit in 1996 which says a lot about the people who stay here and the hard work that goes into keeping Beach Lodge looking like it had just opened for business! Whatever it is you're looking for, Margaret will point you in the right direction - a nice restaurant, a cafe or the best road trips around the area. If you want to "do your own thing" and stay in, all the facilities are here, right down to a BBQ which you can fire up on the deck and enjoy the stunning views over Doubtless Bay. The sunrises and sunsets are unbelievable in this part of the world! What more can we say - this place lives up to its name - "Paradise" and Margaret's that truly special person behind it all!

Room Tip: Unit 4 for the open uninterrupted views, Sunset Suite for a bit more privacy, Unit 2 for the lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.5 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge

Property: Beach Lodge
Address: PO Box 190, Mangonui | Far North 0557, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coopers Beach
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing