We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal, relaxing and visully stunning environment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal, relaxing and visully stunning environment.”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

From the wonderful hosts to the comfort of the apartment to the beautiful beach just steps away, this place is hard to beat. And then top it off with some of the best fish and chips at Managonui Fish and Chips and you will be back like us again and again. We just competed our fourth stay and already are thinking about a return trip!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosco09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Beautiful tranquil setting with great views and away from the main highway.
We loved wverything about this place, the only downside is there is only a continental bfst available.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirrus2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

This was our first port of call on our 2 month holiday in New Zealand a combination of visiting family in Auckland and tours of both North and South Islands, it is also our first holiday in New Zealand, so we were not quite sure what to expect.

We chose Coopers Beach as our first location as it is a well situated for tours to Cape Reinga and 90 mile beach which were a must on our itinerary. Our first impression on arrival both from the point of view of the quality of the apartment and the outlook was, if all our accommodation was like this we were in for a wonderful holiday!

Our hosts, Janet and George were welcoming and very helpful. The apartment, (we were in the ground floor one), is exceptionally well equipped. We chose to eat in on both the evenings we were there and with the use of the BBQ and an excellent chioce of fresh fish from local shops is an ideal way to enjoy the benefits of the beach side location. Imagine an intimate dinner for two on your own deck, the sound of waves breaking and birdsong at dusk, I can almost imagine I am back there as I write this some 2 months later!

Cooper's Beach itself is a fairly modern development either side of SH10, and the Beachfront Suites are located in a quiet corner of a new development. Mangonui, an old fishing port, is about 5 k away and well worth a visit and walk round the heritage trail. Also a trip to Cape Reinga and 90m Beach is a must, we went with Paradice Connexions, a local firm with smaller, (12 seater), coaches than the larger operators that do these tours. We found this company very good, our driver was exceptionally well informed and kept us amused with his commentary, jokes and songs for most of the journey. We also set out earlier than the larger operators so we had the places almost to ourselves as we were leaving as the others were arriving.

Altogether a great start to our holiday.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dandjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Our family of four stayed in both units (upstairs and downstairs) for three nights in December 2007. The suites are two, separate units apart from the main residence of the owners who live right next door. Each unit has a queen bedroom, ensuite bathroom with a small living room/kitchenette/dinette area. Coopers Beach is in Doubltess Bay near the small community of Mangonui. It's a great getaway spot! The units sit on a bluff with great views of the two kilometer, crescent shaped beach and it's less than 50 steps down to the sand shaded by glorious pohutukawa trees that erupt in spectacular red flowers (think bottlebrush) in December and January. The owners, George Van Valkenburg and Janet Brennan are terrific and go out of their way to make sure you have a good time in their piece of paradise. (The refrigerator was stocked with breakfast supplies for your first morning's meal and the newspaper was delivered to your front door !) The beach is flat and sandy with gentle waves. George has a clipping of a newspaper article that featured a picture of him swimming with dolphins! There are stores, shops and restaurants nearby but the beauty of this spot is its isolation. The property sits in an interesting enclave of unique and distinctive homes designed with daring modern architecture. You drive through those homes to the Coopers Beach Suites which has its own private parking area and faces directly out through the trees to the ocean. There is a view point up on a nearby hill that gives incredible 360-degree views which is an ideal spot for sunset. There's a world class winery and golf course nearby. We tried our luck at kite surfing one day (an extremely challenging sport) but the wind wasn't exactly strong enough to be able to use the boards. There's a lot to see and do in the area which is advertised as the gateway to 90-mile beach just up the road. But the Coopers Beach area itself is so pretty and so mellow that we were happy just staying close by and enjoying where we were. We were delighted with these accomodations and glad we found this cozy hideaway in the Far North of New Zealand's wonderful Northland!

  • Liked — The terrific view and wonderful beach
  • Disliked — A nearby community alert siren started blaring at 2AM which shocked us awake. The siren is used to alert volunteer firefighters/rescue units etc that they are needed but we thought it might be an earthquake or tsunami! The siren was mentioned in the suite's
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.3 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
131 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
1.6 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopers Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Beachfront Suites

Property: Coopers Beachfront Suites
Address: 18 Bayside Drive, Coopers Beach, Mangonui, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coopers Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxury Beachfront self-contained apartments on un-crowded, un-spoiled Doubtless Bay in Northern New Zealand. American owners maintain international standards. Great base for exploring Cape Reinga, Kauri forests and beautiful beaches. Free Wi-Fi, provisions for continental breakfast first morning. Excellent local restaurants, gift shops and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coopers Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing