We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Late arrival but very well looked after” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fawkham
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Late Late arrival but very well looked after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I arrived from a delayed flight and the reception were extremely helpful, the room was fab and comfy and breakfast in the morning was all good - I saw some negative reports written, but could not fault my stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Martin, thank you for taking the time to post your commnets on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you you found the reception team extremely helpful and I only hope that next time your flight is not delayed so you can enjoy a more leisurely stay with us at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    161
    67
    40
    26
See reviews for
81
214
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We got married at a Hand Picked Hotel- Rhinefield House and I've stayed in another two since then. This was a birthday present from my husband. Well I'm sooooo disappointed. I did leave a comment card with my complaints but at the time of writing have heard nothing from the hotel.

We both work in the public service domain (myself in health and my husband in retail) and we're appalled at our welcome to the hotel.

The receptionist was swapping over and her replacement (fair hair) was surly and dismissive verging on rude! We were given a corner room which was large and spacious and clean. However the carpet was disgustingly stained and sticky. I do not expect to have to re hang the curtains myself which would not close when I stay in any hotel! I have photos I can attach here!!

The room we were given over looked the court yard in the bar area and there was a really noisy female group seated out there with music blasting. Given the time of day we were not so bothered but did approached the receptionist (fair hair) to ask if the level of noise continued until later could we possibly move rooms.

Her reply was a curt "what noise?" my reply was "that noise you can hear from here!" - she actually tutted at me then snapped that there was no functions booked that day! I was mortified! So I repeated myself... Her response was "well they aren't staying here". No apology, no deflecting my embarrassment and no reply to my room change request. We retreated to the bar!

The bar manager Andy is a quiet guy and is lovely once you get chatting and the northern Irish chap is attentive and endearing. They more than made up for the receptionist! Even the domestics were lovely!

We went to make use of the spa facilities and were pleasantly surprised at how clean everything was initially, however the lining in the children's pool was peeling away from the bottom. As a health and safety officer I was astonished this was left in such a condition given the risk to the company. Aside from that I enjoyed the pool facilities. The used and discarded cups weren't so appealing in the sauna and steam rooms!

We had booked a package deal so our evening meal was included. I have to say it was truely lovely. We even had wine choice advice from Andy and throughly enjoyed the evening. Our waitress was so professional and a very lovely young woman (we sound so old!), Likewise was true for the lady who served our breakfast which was also delicious!

Overall mixed feelings about the Brandshatch Hotel & Spa and if I'm honest I feel let down and short changed. I'm not sure I'd ever return and would,at this moment in time, not recommend it to my friends, clients or family. It could have been so much better!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CbPiggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Clare, thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, but even more so for taking the time to speak with me first following your recent stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor customer service you received from the receptionist, and I assure you that I have personally dealt with the matter to prevent this from happening again in the future. We do pride ourselves on great customer service such as you experienced in the bar and restaurant during your stay, and I am truely sorry that this was not the case at reception.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the pool liner maintenance fault, and our maintenance team addressed this immediately, Health & Safety is of paramount importance to our guests and employees.

I was pleased to hear that after speaking with you, you will be returning to us where I am confident that you will enjoy a wholly positive level of service throughout your stay during your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel as a treat from my husband. Needing a well earned rest hubby booked me into one of the more expensive rooms as a real treat. The bedroom number 18 was nice and big, the bed was fantastic and so comfy but it was incredibly hot. Luckily a fan was in the room as there were no air conditioning and I had this on all night. The room although big was a little uncared for with paint on the wall paper, areas of peeling and the bathroom was not as clean as it should be. Although a nice room it was not worth the £200 paid for it and a fairer price would have been around the £145 mark including breakfast (this was very nice). I would not stay in this room again but would go for a standard cheaper room. The staff were lovely both in the hotel and the spa and the spa treatments were fab, I have stayed at several spas and the treatments here were the best I have had. Dinner that evening was very nice although I had a little grumble about the pudding as it was far too small lol.
The next morning i was very upset to be woken at 7.30 by an alarm I did not ask for. For someone who had booked into a very expensive room for a REST this was the worst thing to happen, to be woken up was horrible. I did mention this when I booked out and the receptionist apologised but the damage was done. An offer of a discount for a further stay would have been nice as I fully intend to return on a regular basis to gain respite from my hectic lifestyle. Hats off the to staff they really made my stay very pleasant and on the whole relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor following your overnight stay with us, and I was pleased that you had a very pleasant stay. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the bedroom and we will review this within our ongoing refurbishment programme to improve this for the future.

The spa team will be really happy to know that you found the treatments you received were the best you have ever had, and I will ensure your kind words are passed on to them.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the alarm call you received that disturbed you, however I was pleased to read that you fully intend to return to Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa. When you do next stay with us, please contact me direct so I can personally assure you the best of attention, and I will also speak with chef to ensure you get a larger pudding!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidcup
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I needed a quick escape where I would be looked after and definitely found the right place, Brandshatch Place to be precise. I was alone but felt very welcomed upon my arrival by reception staff. I was happy with my room and used the spa and, because I had arrived later than expected asked to changed the booking time for my table in the restaurent. There was no problem with this and the meal, which began with superb canapes, was excellent. the waiting staff, particularly Ernest, made sure I was attended to swiftly throughout the evening. I told him how good the food was and was later rewarded with a visit from the head chef, carl and jimmy who had provided the meal. They were both equally friendly and I promised that I would write this review to share my overall view of the hotel. Thank you all and I look forward to seeing you again soon. Irene from hackneyxxx

Room Tip: Was aware of a humming noise at night, ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ireneh965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Irene, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and put your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa.

It was nice to read that you were felt very welcome when you arrived and that the service you received during your stay was excellent. The team will also be really pleased with your feedback and I will ensure that they are shared with the team, in particular Ernest in the restaurant, and Carl & Jimmy the Head and Sous Chef.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I booked an overnight stay for my friend and I. We chose this hotel as it has a Spa so pre-booked a Spa Day with treatments ahead of our visit. We arrived slightly earlier than the check in time of 3pm but our room was ready. We stayed on the top floor (3rd floor) and had a very nice room although no view. The window had a film on it so we were unable to see outside, however on looking out of the open window all I could see was a roof below. A member of staff brought us an electric fan as there was no aircon. The room was clean and beds very comfortable. There was a flat screen TV, DVD player, hairdryer, iron, trouser press, kettle with tea/coffee so everything we needed for our overnight stay. Bathroom was very clean, good shower and bath with plenty of towels and complimentary products. We decided to book for dinner in the evening and went for the 3 course menu costing £36 per head. There was a wedding function at the hotel who were using one of the rooms and bar so we had a pre-dinner drink in the small bar off the dining room. The meal was very good quality and the service excellent. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice again served in the dining room. After checking out we then went to the Spa and were shown around before being given our robes and slippers. The therapists were very good and the treatments excellent. We were very lucky as were the only ones in the relaxation room, pool, steam room and jacuzzi. The only downside was we tried to book for afternoon tea in the morning and was told there was no availability but was told the bar in the Spa served food all day. When we tried to purchase a snack around 3pm they were only serving drinks. All in all we had an excellent time and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena1962_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review following your overnight spa break with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent time and in particular the food and service in the hotel, and that you also thought your treatments were excellent. I was pleased to read that you would recommend the hotel to family and friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I booked the Boardroom for private dining for 19 guests for my mums 80th birthday meal.Lovely Danielle was the events coordinator and nothing was too much trouble for her,she was brilliant.Any questions or concerns i had,i only had to email her and she got straight back to me.

The room was lovely and spacious and the large oval table was set out lovely with 3 big candelabras on mirrors and all white linen,you couldnt fault it.They allowed us in earlier in the morning to decorate the room with balloons and decorate the table with 80 confetti etc... We were also allowed to take our music in with us to play,which added to the atmosphere.

The 3 course sunday lunch menu was lovely and the service was excellent,it was all overseen by David and his team,who all did a brilliant job.And it was all finished off with coffee and mints.

The only thing that i could find fault with,that the hotel can improve on,is that when my guests arrived they were supposed to be shown into the lounge to wait where someone would be there to offer them a complimentary glass of wine or orange juice.But by the time we arrived with my mum,some of the guests had been there 40 minutes and all they had been asked is if they wanted to purchase drinks from the bar,which i was dissapointed with as it had all been arranged prior,that they would all get complimentary drinks.(I did even check with the reception that morning that this would still happen and she checked her paperwork and confirmed it would,so i'm not sure how it went wrong!)

But as soon as we arrived,they then came round with the drinks and David arrived to start his shift taking charge and everything was brilliant from then on,just a pity David couldnt have been there from the start.But this was only a small hiccup in an otherwise perfect day.

Everyone of the guests said how lovely it all was,so please if you are thinking of booking,please do,it was fab.The hotel is situated in beautiful well kept grounds,so it looks beautiful as you drive in.Really would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kentbird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your mum's 80th Birthday celebrations at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa. I was pleased to read that your experience was wonderful and that the team made a real effort during your celebrations and in particular David & Danielle.

Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa in the very near future when we can assure you of our very best attention again.

Best wishes
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed for one night as attending a wedding at the hotel. Arrived around lunchtime but unable to check in as our room was not ready, which was fair enough as we were rather early. Wedding was great, food was excellent although service was patchy, especially at the bar where the barman seemed keen to let us know he didn't normally work the bar but was covering for someone else.
Rather disappointed with our room (room 35 I think), when we first went in there was an unattractive smell of disinfectant and the room was dark and cold. There was one window but it was covered with opaque plastic, on closer inspection I could see that this was because there was a child's play area about a metre from the window!
The bathroom was modern but chilly and the hot water was inconsistent - this wasn't an issue when using the bath, but when showering it was constantly too hot then too cold to enjoy properly.
There was a tiny wardrobe just inside the door which due to an ill-placed shelf unit we couldn't use to hang our wedding outfits as there was no room!
Slept OK, despite the constant hum of what sounded like a tumble dryer stopping and starting much of the night. Woke up early and decided to leave as soon as possible and not sample the spa or facilities as we had quite a long journey home.
Breakfast was excellent, hot and fresh with lots of choice. When we returned after breakfast (about 9.30) we found that the children's play area (as mentioned above) was in full swing, with numerous screams and shouts to go with it. Fortunately we hadn't been attempting a romantic lie-in as it would have been well and truly scuppered.
Checked out about 10am, no-one at reception and a queue waiting to check out. Eventually 3 staff arrived, 2 of which swiftly left, leaving one person who confessed it was only their second day and then apologised for struggling with the check-outs!
Was looking forward to our stay here as viewed it as a romantic get-away in conjunction with attending a wedding, but wasn't to be. Paid £100 but didn't think it was value for money, stayed in a nearby Premier Inn the night before for a third of the price and had a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us to attend a wedding at the hotel. I am pleased that you thought the wedding was great and the food was excellent. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and we will take your feedback forward to see where we can make improvements to the room.

It was nice to read that you also found that the breakfast was excellent, however I am sorry for the delay in time that it took to check out of the hotel. I am suprised by your experience as our reception team have all been with us for over a year and are not new team members. We will however be reviewing this with the team and carry out any retraining that may be required along with the bar staff as you also mention.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fawkham
5.3 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
0.8 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
21.4 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
19.6 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa

Property: Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Address: Brands Hatch Road, Fawkham DA3 8NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Fawkham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fawkham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated Georgian mansion, built in 1806, is the perfect venue for weddings as well as meetings, events and private dining. Thirty eight beautifully furnished rooms offer all the latest modern amenities - and when you have finished resting, you are welcome to drop in at the Health Club and Spa, a great place to work out, relax or unwind. Despite its rural location, it is within easy reach of major motorways and London, as well as Gatwick and Heathrow airports, the south coast and the Channel Tunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandshatch Place Fawkham
Hotel Brandshatch Place
Brand Hatch Hotel Place
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa Kent/Fawkham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing