We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Race day for my son”
Review of Brands Hatch

Brands Hatch
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Fawkham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's most iconic sporting venues, Brands Hatch plays host to a multitude of prestigious motorsport events on both two and four wheels. Brands Hatch is visited by a multitude of top class national championships including the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship and Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, both of which will hold their 2014 opening and closing rounds here. Other big events including British F3/GT, the Masters and Historic Superprix nostalgic meetings, the British Truck Championship and many club car and bike meetings. In 2014 The circuit will welcome a new International event in the Blancpain Sprint Series, bringing top draw sportscar racing back to the venue for the first time since 1996. Brands Hatch will again host festivals for the Mini and Lotus marques in 2014, with the NASCAR-headlined American SpeedFest II also set to star, promising to be bigger and better than the inaugural event! A natural amphitheatre offering unrivalled views of the action from various vantage points, Brands Hatch is known as Britain's best loved motor racing circuit. And you can experience it for yourself with a renowned programme of driving experiences and trackdays on offer.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Race day for my son”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a race experience for my son BMW M3 and single seater, he loved it, all instructors very good and a well run event, and as guests we could walk round the pits n had good view of the track. Plenty of track time and good value for money, clean facility's and not overpriced food and drink I would recommend this to all fun day out.

Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    48
    13
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Barmy English Spring Day Out at Brands Hatch”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Wow, Sunday 30th March 2014, 20 degrees heat, t-shirt weather on a 'barmy spring day' at Brands Hatch watching the BTCC championship. What a great day out !! If you have never seen motor racing live then come along and watch the BTCC championship, you will love the experience. Expect to pay £20-£30 for a ticket.
Weather permitting you can drive your car inside the Brands Hatch circuit and watch the racing from the comfort of your car for an extra £5 payable at the entrance gate. Cars are parked on a grass bank called 'South Bank'. However if it has been raining or the ground is soggy this area will not be open.
I parked on the 'South Bank' and had a great view of the back end of the circuit. I also bought grandstand tickets for the 'Paddock Stand' (£16 per person). This stand gives you a great view of the whole of the circuit and is situated beside the first bend in the track.
There is the usual burger caravans and ice cream vans (£4-£5 a burger, £3 for a Magnum ice cream). My advice is take your own food and drink. The BTCC race days start at 8am in the morning and don't finish until approx 6pm at night.
Good weather, great circuit, good facilities (clean toilets) and a fantastic days entertainment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jazzcat203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“BTCC Sunday 31st March 2014”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've heard it all before, " F1 on TV is great, why should I go to see motor racing live".

Well, if all you want is the glitz and glamour you are not a real motor racing fan. Brands Hatch on a dry summers day is tremendous fun. To just stand near the Start line as they are revving up for GO, is exciting. 25 laps with professional drivers all doing their utmost to win is enthralling. On TV you just don't get the atmosphere, the smell of fuel and burnt rubber, the crashes live and especially the overtakes !. (F1 never !).

We got there on Sunday at 10am fully expecting nothing to be happening. How wrong were we. The place was buzzing, cars racing round, Big Breakfasts being served, souvenir shops and stalls vying for our money as well as the team stalls and freebies etc. I agree with the previous review by PhilR, it is great value for money ( compared especially to F!).

Parking is on grass and is easy, it is the leaving that is the problem; but only if you leave with the herd directly after the last race. Advance booking is easy and cheaper and avoids the queues. Plenty of food and drink outlets, but not too much cover from the sun.

If you like motor racing it's a great day out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Comsi167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“British Superbikes Final Round at Brands Hatch”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As you can see I've not awarded 5 stars, so obviously everything isn't perfect here, BUT firstly I must emphasize the tremendous value for money received. £26.00 was all I paid for admission for all 3 days of entertainment, try getting into a Premier League football match for that sum of money! Yes, I admit that's the advance on-line booking price and to pay on the day is more, but the on-line booking itself was very straightforward and easy to follow - many aren't. I also believe that Motor Sports Vision ( the owners of Brands as well as Snetterton, Cadwell Park & Oulton Park have also frozen prices for BSB rounds at all those circuits for 2014 ( that may be subject to conditions such as booking before certain dates etc. ) Big congratulations to MSV for that.

Brands is a good flowing circuit that promotes good exciting racing, and there are many places that offer good viewing of the action on the track. Also facilities such as toilets, shops food outlets etc. are also of a good standard, provided however that you stay within the Indy circuit area. If you wish to venture out into the "country" Grand Prix circuit area you enter into a zone that "time forgot!" The paths are all unmade and as the weather was "unkind" they very soon turned into quagmires. There is also absolutely NO tannoy system away from the Indy circuit, so although some of the viewing points are superb it's very difficult to follow what's happening. Somebody has also decided to remove one of my favourite viewing places - the outside of Hawthorn Bend as the trees have been allowed to encroach right up to the fence and access is very difficult, shame as it's a great spot with great memories for me - I viewed here on my very first visit to Brands to watch Carlos Reutemann win the 1978 British F1 Grand Prix.

I believe somebody else has mentioned this, the car parking is a complete joke. I also attended this event last year and took nearly 2 hours to leave the car-park. It took me far less time to leave events such as the Italian Moto GP at Mugello or the Moto GP at Motorland Aragon. Are MSV really saying the Italians and Spaniards ( 2 nations known for poor organisation ) are better organised than them? Resolved the problem this year by parking a 10 minute walk from the circuit on an open road.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2013 Truck Racing”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great weekend away, great racing and fireworks to finish off, we opted for an upgrade to the Stirling Suite, which is indoors, with fantastic views of the track, 3 course breakfast, buffet lunch, chocolate fountain, then 5.00pm hot chocolate and cake, toffee apples, mulled wine & cider, pork rolls, and tea and coffee all throughout the day, Wheeww!! we were stuffed and had to refuse food. The lady who ran the suite was fantastic. A great day out. The only fault was they could have had mugs instead of cups and saucers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brands Hatch also viewed

 

Been to Brands Hatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing